We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place on the way to Puyo” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miramelindo Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Miramelindo Spa Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice place on the way to Puyo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Hotel Spa Miramelindo is a nice spot spot in Rio Verde, on the way from Baños to Puyo. The have a view really nice rooms on the back where I stayed. Don't know the other rooms but I assume they are a bit smaller. The food is good, service could be a bit better but it's all clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boyd_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    23
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We spent 2 nights here in October, which must be an off month for travel in Ecuador. The first night, we were the only people in the place, and it was pretty clear that they were using the down time for maintenance. As a result, the pool was closed, as were the spa offerings. But we weren't there for those, so their absence wasn't a problem for us.

In spite of the lack of other guests, we were treated extremely well and were given the largest room in the place. Fortunately, the restaurant on the ground floor was open, and we thought the food was very good.

When we arrived, we first thought that the location, about 30 minutes from Banos, would be a problem. But there was plenty to do in the area, and the bus to Banos was 50 cents and ran frequently. In the end, it was nice staying away from Banos in the country, rather than in the town.

We loved the creative spirit behind this place. Everywhere you turn, there are paintings, sculptures and carvings. The courtyard is beautiful, with lots of trees and plants and birds nicely arranged in a very tranquil setting.

I'd give this place 5 stars if all of the amenities had been open, but even without those would still recommend it whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frost05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

First room3 cockroaches. Next room
No hot water and humidity smell, next room without asking for a change or any complain a cloud of bugs on the ceiling. Dirty kitchen and impolite owner. I was trying to tell the owner the bad experience but he interrupted me trying to hush me.
Do not stay here

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MFGC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

First of all, the spa (turkish bath/sauna) was not functioning and it looks like it hasn't in awhile, and it won't be anytime soon. Second, stuff was stolen out of our room (iPod and clothes), which was also disappointing. We didn't notice that our items were missing until we were gone so we called to ask if by chance we left the items in the room and the owner blew us off and didn't call us back- weak effort. Also, if you don't like bugs you might want to avoid this place (no screens on windows). On a positive note, the breakfast was good and the hotel is located in a beautiful valley (15 minute taxi ride from Banos) and is walking/hiking distance to one of the best waterfalls- Pailon del Diablo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJpocaspalabras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

If you are looking for a place that is away from the hustle and bustle of Banos, Miramelindo Spa Hotel is the place for you. The courtyard is full of very unique tropical plants. A live parrot will greet you in the morning. The pool is small and clean. The whirlpool is a wonderful place to relax after a day of hiking. Our hosts were very helpful to point us in the right direction when we were ready to venture out. The bus to Banos is less than a block away and we never waited more than 5 minutes for it to come.
Our room had a lovely fireplace with wood provided for the cool damp evening. One suggestion I would make would be for the lightbulbs to be a higher wattage. I'm not sure if the electricity was running low or the bulbs were low wattage but I wasn't able to read in bed without the flashlight from my phone.
The breakfast was good and the other meals we had in the dinning room. Thank you for a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: We were next to the pool and were very content.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joschef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a wonderful lunch at the Miramelindo after we had visited the Pailon de Diablo ! The food was lovely and the staff so friendly. Unfortunately we were'nt staying there as we were going on to Cuenca but it looked like a stunning place to have a break from travelling. Very close to lots of attractions too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DympnaBrayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecuador
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

A colorful parrot, soft pillows, and the lush garden are a sight for the weary traveler. Fresh fruit drinks and a pretty yummy restaurant offering that has unusual painted furniture. There is a guitar by the fireplace. The manager is quite helpful and he speaks English. The hot tub was okay, not too hot but the river sweeps past as the rain sprinkled on the roof. The hotel participated in a community gathering on the side street with tables and chairs that was fun and unexpectedly music filled the streets.

Room Tip: We visited most of the rooms of which were well painted with birds and orchids in that fun Ecuador w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sisterdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
9.1 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
2.9 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hosteria Finca Chamanapamba
4.0 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramelindo Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramelindo Spa Hotel

Property: Miramelindo Spa Hotel
Address: Parroquia Rio Verde, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Miramelindo Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing