We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Retreat in Banos”
Review of Samari Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samari Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Orem, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Retreat in Banos”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We recently visited Ecuador with our daughter and son in law who is Ecuadorian. We arrived in Banos without making a prior hotel reservation. We found this place late at night and our SIL negotiated a very good rate. We stayed for two days, enjoying the pool, spa, and the free breakfast. As a garden enthusiast, I found the entire setting absolutely enchanting. I felt like I had been transported into an island paradise! The staff was very friendly and helpful.
There is free internet. It seemed a little slow, but that was the case everywhere we stayed in Ecuador, so that may be the way it is. There is a breakfast offered with the hotel. They offer eggs and such, but much of it is authentic Ecuadorian food - ceviche, tamales, etc. Banos is a very humid place -- so beautiful with all of the falls. We noticed that our beds and sheets seemed a little clammy with all that moisture in the air. I did find the bathroom to be very poorly lit -- luckily there was a mirror in the entry I could use to put on my makeup. The pool is very beautiful at night -- you can see the stars overhead while you swim in blue/green/red water. The view from our room was very beautiful. It was really a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denée T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristianGarcia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Samari Spa Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Mr. Denée

Thank you so much for choosing us, we remember you and your family, we are glad to hear that you enjoy our gardens, we designed them based on feng shui philosophy so they transmit calm to our guest.

We look forward to hear from you again since your son in law is Ecuadorian, we hope to have you and your family again here at Samari.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    96
    36
    7
    11
See reviews for
318
226
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

From the moment you walk into Samari Spa Resort you know you have arrived at an absolutely fabulous spa resort. Total attention to detail in the resort from well established gardens, interior decor, layout of all the spas wonderful facilities - treatment rooms, pool, 2 spas, cold plunge pool, steam box all located together so all facilities can be easily used- one after the other if you so desire. What I also loved were the fresh roses everywhere. Staff were very helpful & attentive. You will do yourself a huge disservice if you are in Banos & don't stay here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristianGarcia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Samari Spa Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Michelle

Thank your for your great review, we appreciate your recommendation about our service, Samari is one of a Kind in Baños thats for sure.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The good:

- Very friendly staff. Special thanks to Mario.
- Great location and facilities. You can walk to downtown. It takes 10 to 15min.
- Nice conference rooms. Flowers and decorations everywhere.
- All what I needed for breakfast. You get the usual stuff like eggs, omelette,etc, plus local dishes as shrimp ceviche, bolon and humitas.
- Nice spa at very good prices.
- Had lunch at the restaurant. Ask for parrillada a la piedra. Very nice and fresh.
- Spacious rooms. You get complimentary fresh fruits every day. Nice touch.

The bad:
- Watch your head. Some lamps are so low that you can even hit them with your head.
- Don't drink tap water. It has a very bad taste. Use the complimentary bottles of water instead.
- Internet connection works only when hotel is empty. Once weekenders arrive internet could be very slow.
- TV. Almost non existing in my room. It didn't matter to me since a am not a big TV fan while traveling. It could have been an issue only in my room since other friends didn't have the same problem.
- No heater or A/C.

Tip 1: stay away from rooms that have a window facing the main road. Ask for rooms on the second floor.

Tip 2: It took me 4 hours to drive from Quito airport to Banos. And it took me 5 hours to drive from Banos to Guayaquil. Very nice scenery in both routes. Don't trust Google maps on driving time. This reference that I am giving is correct.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms that have a window facing the main road. Ask for rooms on the second floor. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristianGarcia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Samari Spa Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Alerf

Thanks for your great comments, we will take a look on your recommendations, our guest opinions are the engine that makes us try harder every day.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

After 4 days at the remote and rustic Suchpakari Lodge in the Amazon, we were ready for a relaxing 2 days in Banos. Samari Spa was perfect. Got there in time to relaxing while watching the USA play in the World Cup, then walked downtown for a nice dinner at Cafe Marianne. The next day we enjoyed the pool, they set up bungee jumping, got a massage, and strolled the beautiful gardens. The 350 year old monastery is quite the building and the food, staff, and rooms don't disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristianGarcia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Samari Spa Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kindly comment, the history of Samari Spa can be appreciated in every corner of the hotel, we are glad to hear that you note this. Thanks again for visiting us

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Samari is one of the most beautiful Spa I have visited. Its luxurious facilities and beautiful gardens make this place one of the most exclusive Spa in the region with an affordable price for the American /Asian/ European tourists. Breakfast is delightful, this consists of a wide range of typical Ecuadorian dishes like their exquisite cassava bread.
The restaurant offers also a delicious menu for lunch and dinner, a combination of typical cuisine and fusion.
The spa is very complete, comfortable and stylish. Massages and treatments offer relaxation at 100%.
It is a place to visit alone or in company. A place you must visit!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maria Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We traveled here for our honeymoon and had a great stay! Everything was cleaned and well maintained. The gardens on the property were beautiful! Close enough to the city to walk but far enough that you felt secluded. The staff was great-especially Silivia! The hotel arranged excursions for us. We recommend this place to anyone looking for both adventure and relaxation!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timetotravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I've been in this resort twice and would totally be back on my next visit to Baños. The accommodations are extremely comfortable and clean. The staff was always attentive and kind during our stay!
The SPA and the assortment of massages are remarkable.
The food was another big big plus! We ordered the steak in a stone..... AMAZING!!!!
I highly recommend this place!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pavik20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.7 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 27 in Banos
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#5 of 27 in Banos
311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#14 of 27 in Banos
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Finca Chamanapamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samari Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samari Spa Resort

Property: Samari Spa Resort
Address: Av. de las Amazonas | Km 1 via al Puyo, Banos, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banos
#2 Spa Hotel in Banos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Samari Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Samari Spa Resort - Where Luxury & Serenity Meet! An oasis of luxury & tranquility amidst the vibrant energy of Banos, Ecuador. A true marvel and jewel among Ecuador's luxury hotels. In Quechua Samari means "relax and feel at home". Samari Spa Resort is the result of 10 years of hard work with a vision and purpose: taking into consideration thousands of details to offer to every single guest an exceptional destination, with a unique style and outstanding experiences of relaxation, well-being and amazement. Our mission statement is to embody a new point of reference for Ecuador's luxury hotels & Tourism, offering high-quality products & services with an outstanding level of care. We are the first 5 stars luxury hotel in central Ecuador, and together with our 40 partners we share and live by these 5 values: • Professionalism • Responsibility • Honesty • Transparency • Creativity We are stronger together and we all strive to reach a common purpose: To be the best luxury hotet, Spa & Resort in the Ecuador. And we succeeded as we reached our milestone: we have been awarded the "Travelers' Choice™ 2017" by TripAdvisor! Welcome to Samari Spa Resort, the new and best way to enjoy the pleasures of life in Banos de Agua Santa, in beautiful Ecuador! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Samari Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samari Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing