We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it a lot”
Review of El Paisano

El Paisano
Ranked #93 of 134 Restaurants in Banos
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Rio Verde, Ecuador
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We liked it a lot”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We were wlecomed by the staff and felt right at home. The service was great as was the food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good for vegetarians”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I guess this little restaurant is good for vegetarians looking for a place with more options. I found the ambiance non-existing, the food a tad too experiential, and the experience a bit blah. Disclaimer: I'm an unrepentant carnivore and there are better places for meats in Banos than this one.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank SojourningMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food for everyone.”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

A few of my friends are vegetarian so it was hard to find a resturant in Banos where we could all order something. El Paisano had a large selection of vegetarian food and meat dishes to choose from. There were a few small problems such as random opening times, but in all my friends and I were very pleased. It was not like most resturants in Banos, nothing is fried, only cooked. It had a nice environment and friendly service, next time I come back to Banos I will be sure to go to El Paisano again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for Vegetarian and anti cancer people”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Dont´ try to order french fries, you´ll get an anti fried food speach. EXCELLENT food and atmosphere, covered by the owners art work. Good food, if a little tiny bit slow service, but the atmosphere makes up for that. VIVA PAISANO!!!!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keelan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Banos. Interesting decor and friendly owner.”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Went here one of our evenings on Banos after reading positive reviews. It was in close proximity to our hostel. Similar to the other reviews the ambiance and decor doesn't really give it a typical restaurant feel, but this makes it interesting.

As for the food I can only speak for the pizza because that's what we ordered. It was awesome and probably the best homemade pizza I have had in Ecuador.

What makes the experience even better is that the owner marcello is also a local artist and quite talented. Be sure to look at his work and ask about his art which is tastefully arranged in the dining area. We ended up buying two small pieces to take home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 788murrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Paisano also viewed

Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 

Been to El Paisano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing