We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good place to stay”
Review of Hostal Chimenea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Chimenea
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our time here. The rooms were clean, the staff were friendly and it only took a couple of minutes to walk anywhere in town from it.
The communal area upstairs was good with cheap beer and a nice atmosphere. We made a lot of friends here and got a lot of tips on where to go next as well.
Even though you have to pay for the breakfast, not only was it pretty cheap but it was soo tasty with huge portions. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

Good - very clean, friendly staff, always someone at reception which is great security, amazing price, close to hot springs, only a couple blocks to main square, includes towels, nice pool (though cold), lovely breakfast area

Bad - might have to ask for soap

Notes:
One of the nicest hostels I have stayed at!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cballarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I found the Hostal Chimenea to be clean and quiet. It is well located within 2 blocks of the center of the commercial and artisan district as well as less than a block from the famous thermal baths of Baños. Internet service is available for those who want to stay connected to home. The staff is courteous and several of them are passable with English. The Hostal offers laundry services and a breakfast for a small additional charge as well as a steam bath, a pool and a on site massouse. Room rates are extremely reasonable, especially compared to US and Canadian prices. As of this writing, a single room with bathroom facilities is $10 per night US. (Hot water is plentiful in the showers) American money is widely used here so prices are easily comparable with home.
I recommend this establishment for visitors to Baños.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second and third floor are recommended because they offer more light, a view, and are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliffinmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This hostel had a roof terrace breakfast restaurant with amazing views. Breakfast is extra. The bedrooms were clean, roomy and had hot water. We even had a small balcony. It was great value for money. The jacuzzi was not working while we were there but the small swimming pool was. There is no real garden as shown in the photos as it is more of a car park. The photos on the web site are OK but the photos they send you with your booking are not of this hostel (or at least many are not). I have no complaints and would stay there again. The hostel is situated at the edge of town so it is not a noisy hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephineSalvador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We spent our 1st night in another hostal and had an awful night. I had picked up the flyer for this hostal while in Quito and decided to check them out. We got a room with 2 beds en suite for 8.50 USD per person. Worked for me! The room turned out to be quite lovely with a little balcony and a view of some of the mountains. It is practically across the street from the large public swimming pool (2 USD for adults, 1 for kids) and close to the thermal springs and waterfall. It is a close walk to the center of town and numerous restaurants. Hosts were very friendly. Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace is quite good for the price. After 12 the kitchen becomes the community kitchen so you're able to prepare your own meals the rest of the day, although with local restaurants serving 2- to 3-course meals for $2 you may not want to.

Plenty of HOT water with good pressure. Beds were very comfortable, and we had plenty of blankets to deal with the chilly evenings.

Cons: WiFI was intermittent. Some times you'd have good speed and then it would die. It can get a little loud. There is a lot of activity that happens across the street very early in the morning, and if you're near the stairs you'll hear people talking as they go up or down, esp if you're on the 3rd floor near the kitchen area. Our bathroom sink leaked, so the bathroom floor was always wet and slippery. The curtains that cover the windows are super thin, so the room doesn't get very dark (which won't bother everyone). Because they serve breakfast (not included) there is no community kitchen to make your own meals until after 12 PM. A minor bother, though.

Note: They do have a swimming pool which is free to use but it is COLD. Just be ready for that. We ended up paying to use the public pool across the street because it wasn't as cold. Also, like many places they do not accept credit cards so you will need to pay in cash to checkout.

All in all we were VERY happy with our stay there and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms by the 3rd floor staircase. You get a lot of extra noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Dad1Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Just spend a few days in Banos coming from Quito and had a great time here! Owner Carlos was very friendly and I loved the breakfast on the rooftop!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahDJQuito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is definitely my favorite place to stay in Banos - lovely room with private bathroom and balcony, always hot water in the shower, great terrace at the top, close to the hot springs, friendly and helpful owners...everything at an unbeatable price! I just love La Chimenea - try the steam bath in the morning...it´s a wonderful start of a new day :-)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin_Quito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.1 mi away
La Petite Auberge
La Petite Auberge
#11 of 27 in Banos
104 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#21 of 27 in Banos
71 reviews
1 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 27 in Banos
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 27 in Banos
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flor de Oriente
Hotel Flor de Oriente
#18 of 27 in Banos
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Chimenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Chimenea

Address: Luis A. Martinez y Rafael Vieira, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banos
#4 Spa Hotel in Banos
#4 Family Hotel in Banos
Price Range: £14 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Chimenea is a comfortable, safe and modern hostel: we offer dorms and private rooms with ensuite bathrooms, balconies, hot water and excellent views of the surroundings. Our prices are 8.50 and 10.00 per person include internet and tax. Our hostel offers a panoramic terrace, private parking, restaurant/cafe, guest kitchen, book exchange, board games, luggage storage, free internet and Wi-Fi, steam health bath, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Chimenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Chimenea Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing