We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious cheese fondue!”
Review of Swiss Bistro Banos

Swiss Bistro Banos
Ranked #6 of 135 Restaurants in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Swiss, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Swiss Bistro Banos, your gastronomic meeting point at the entrance of the amazonian rain forest. Since 2008 we offer Swiss & European specialties in a unique and authentic atmosphere. This year we added a terrasse lounge to enjoy the same dishes in a peacefull and relaxing garden in the center of Banos. Our professional Team will welcome you like at home to enjoy: - Swiss cheese fondue - Meat fondue - Selection of roestis - Meat & fish specialties - Deserts, hot chocolates and delicious coffees - Quality wines & spirits Bon appetit!
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious cheese fondue!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I was craving some decent cheese after travelling in South America for 7 weeks. This restaurant had a varied menu, with a specialty offer of cheese, meat, and chocolate fondue. The cheese fondue, while pricy for Ecuadorian standards ($16.50), was worth every penny. Along with delicious cheesy fondue, they served French bread, baby boiled potatoes, and freshly sliced tomatoes. As an added bonus, the service was great and the wifi worked perfectly!

Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickSB, Propietario at Swiss Bistro Banos, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed our cheese fondue and wish you a nice stay in Baños.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    192
    56
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent fondue”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

the staff is very friendly and the food is delicious . it was our local cantine during our stay. The desert with the 2 chocolate mousse is delicious. Of course the meat is fantastic
Thank you
Régine , Stéphane and Patrick

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Regine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickSB, Propietario at Swiss Bistro Banos, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Google Translation
Merci Régine, Stéphane et Patrick pour avoir pris le temps de commenter votre expérience Swiss Bistro, nous vous souhaitons un excellent séjour en Equateur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“A Nice Change of Pace!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I were in Banos for 4 weeks taking Spanish Immersion lessons. Although we felt that the prices were a bit on the high at side at first, the portion sizes were generous and the food was wonderful! The wait staff was very friendly and amenable to our needs. We loved the ambiance and wine choices as well. We learned after our first visit that it was an excellent idea to share the single size cheese, meat and chocolate fondues between two people. And this also allowed us to go back a couple more times! So much fun!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deb-terr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickSB, Propietario at Swiss Bistro Banos, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su simpático comentario, esperamos que disfrutó de su estadía en Baños.
Saludos de parte de todo nuestro Equipo y hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Some of the best food I had in my three months traveling in S.America. Highly recommend to anyone in Banos who fancies something a little different.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickSB, Propietario at Swiss Bistro Banos, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you Jon for your nice comment, we hope you enjoyed your stay in Ecuador.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banks, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a must try while in the area”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place was a pretty tasty change of pace from the standard food in the area. Although a little on the pricy side I knew what i was getting into before we entered so i was ok with that. I ended up getting a beef stroganoff and it was better than some of the stuff i had eaten in the states. Would i go there again heck yeah but on my budget i wouldn't be able to go there on a regular basis. Food was great service was good and the environment was nice eating outdoors. My friends had the steaks and they were tasty as well better than most beef that i get in restaurants in the states but i guess all meat out here is grass fed i suppose. a must try while in the area

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schrekenboof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickSB, Propietario at Swiss Bistro Banos, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your comment, we wish you a nice stay in Ecuador.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swiss Bistro Banos also viewed

Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 

Been to Swiss Bistro Banos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing