We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a perfect world, all hostals would be like this!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“In a perfect world, all hostals would be like this!”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at La Casa Verde for 5 wonderful nights. The owners of the property, Doug and Rebecca couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

We had a very comfortable king bedded room with a stunning view of the river. We were a bit initially concerned about the distance to town, but our fears were unfounded. The taxi ride was cheap ($1.50) and Doug was always on hand to call one up for you . Rebecca would have called one also, but she was probably busy baking her wonderful brownies!

We did eat dinner in town a couple of nights, but there were a variety of homemade frozen foods you could heat up and voila, a reason to have a lazy night in.

Although they don't offer laundry service, Doug was able to tell us exactly where the best one in town was. Even if one couldn't find it, there was laundry service on practically every other block so one would have to be a real blockhead not to find one:)

Another review I had read expressed concern over no railings on the stairs. The couple does have a 4 year old child who regularly uses the stairs and I suppose if you were "helicopter" parents, you could have concerns. However, the monkey bars in most playgrounds are far more dangerous than these stairs. I would have no concerns recommending this place for families with children.

I would recommend a 4 or 5 night in Banos, it's great and this is a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Born2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    55
    6
    9
    1
See reviews for
74
184
47
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mariehamn, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Arriving and departing in the middle of the night and early morning we were still greeted by the lovely hosts. We enjoyed our stay very much and had a great time in Baños, much thanks to advice from Rebecca. Amazing breakfast and nice facilities overlooking the canyon! Location wise a bit outside the town, but so worth the walk/bus ride!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrknCs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was the best place we stayed in Ecuador. Absolutely beautiful, incredibly clean, friendly and helpful, and the food was great.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My girlfriend and I travelled around South America for 10 weeks and spent a week in La Casa Verde in June. Amazing place. Doug and Rebecca couldn't have been more helpful. The accommodation is amazing. Proper beds just like home and amazing food too. We moved on and even cut short our trip just to go back for a few days. I couldn't recommend it more highly. A definite stop in Ecuador. We miss it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The place to stay in Baños, if you don't want to stay in the center with close to everything. A 2k walk uphill (15 minutes) to the centre, but la Casa Verde provides you with all the peace, friendlyness, safety and beauty you'll need. Stayed two nights with my wife and my three children, loved every second of it. Good hot showers, decent breakfast, large rooms, friendly service and the sound of the river makes it good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Havardw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

June 28- July 2, 2011 My family, my wife and I and 5 children (ages 24-16) stayed in Banos at Casa Verde . The accommodations were very good. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the whole hostel was very well kept. The surrounds were beautiful and relaxing. We loved the complementary breakfasts, there was more than enough delicious food (fresh fruit and juice, healthy cereal, amazing breads, and more). The kitchen which we were able to access at almost anytime was well stocked with tasty foods, and meals we could prepare ourselves that were available and very reasonably priced. The owners, Doug and Rebecca were so accommodating. Thank you Doug and Rebecca and John. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryLacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Located about 1km from the town center, this eco-friendly home is perfect for a romantic getaway or for relaxation and exploration. The decor and creativity are wonderful, and the Aussie/Kiwi family are as welcoming as any hosts I've ever encountered. The breakfast is all-natural and worth setting your alarm for, and the sounds of the river at night (or during the day while you enjoy the hammock on the terrace outside your room) help you unwind after a long day of exploring Banos. There's also a thermal bath nearby that is much less crowded than the one in town. If you need anything at all during your stay, the hosts are more than glad to help. Just a perfect stay. Thanks again for the hospitality, hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: If you can get one of the corner rooms upstairs with the queen bed, facing the river, it's just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10kJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#14 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.3 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House

Property: La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Address: Camino Real, Santa Ana, Banos, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banos
#2 Family Hotel in Banos
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
your eco-friendly haven in beautiful and tranquil baños. la casa verde offers the perfect place to rest, relax and enjoy baños, in the safe area of town and in a sustainable and comfortable environment with amazing views from every room. included is: free drinking water, tea, coffee and chocolate, use of the fully equipped kitchen and an organic, buffet breakfast with fresh homemade sourdough bread, granola, fruit, juice and organic fair trade arabica coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Verde- Eco Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing