We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended for solo travellers” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not recommended for solo travellers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Traveled solo. Only saw Rebecca when checking in and then for the rest of the stay she was mia. I had questions about the town and no one was around to help me. Given a lousy room. A couple checked in as I was leaving and Rebecca was much friendlier to them.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
30 Thank bluebirdmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasaverde, Owner at La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
We endeavour to provide the same level of service to everyone, whether you’re a solo traveller, a couple, friends or a family. Guests know that we are ALWAYS available to help out or answer questions when needed. There is always someone in the building to help any time of the day, even if there isn’t someone sitting at reception 24/7. If you were a previous guest, you would have known this and known where the bell is to contact us if we weren’t in the common areas at the exact moment you wanted us.

I’m sorry you felt so abandoned during your stay at la casa verde. I urge you to contact us personally with your grievances, especially about the lousy room (I would like you to elaborate exactly why it was so ‘lousy’), as we value our offering very highly. We listen to all our customer feedback in order to keep offering one of the best quality guest houses around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    54
    6
    9
    1
See reviews for
72
183
46
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This hostel was a great place to stay. Owners were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable and had a view of the river. Breakfast was healthy and we had homemade bread which was a refreshing change from the sweet Ecuadorian bread. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Having travelled widely and stayed in many hostels, I was expecting much the same. I couldn't have been more wrong! This is an exceptional place to stay - more than a hostel, more than a hotel. It's nothing less than staying with friends. Rebecca and Doug are without doubt the friendliest hosts/owners I've ever met, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms and especially the beds are comfortable and the views are beautiful. The breakfasts and DIY dinners are just gorgeous.
Ecuador is stunning, you should go, la casa verde is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernadetteMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I arrived at La Casa Verde without any real plans for my time in Banos. As a solo traveller it is sometimes hard to find activities to do on your own. The people at La Casa Verde were amazing - helped me work out the best things to do, gave me great tips and organized things for me. The food was fabulous (they even had Vegemite for all those Aussies out there) and the room was clean and really nicely done. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canoetori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We have been there for 3 days and have totally enjoyed our stay. The hosts Doug and Rebecca are really nice and very helpful. They gave us some good tips what to do in and around Banos. Their house is big, the rooms are nice and big enough (we had one room upstairs with river view - very good). Downstairs is a kitchen and a living room for the guests, where we got to know nice people. It is a kind of social area where you can talk to others and where they serve a wonderful breakfast. So we can absolutely recommend this place for a stay in Banos, where there are so many things to do.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinzessinKnopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

La Casa Verde was the perfect place t stay in Banos. We loved the location and surroundings. Being that little distance from town meant you could really tuen off and relax. Dou and Rebecca couldn't do enough to help during the stay and listening to their stories and vision for the Hostel is added value in itself.

They helped organise a fantastic day trip for us out of Banos towards the jungle which included swimming in waterfalls, taking to thresher on a dug out, spectacular views over the jungle and the monkey refuge.

Wuld certainly recommend a stay here...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We had a wonderful time at La Casa Verde, and were very sad that we were not able to stay longer! Out room (number six) was perfect. It had a private door out to the balcony which has amazing views of the Mountains and river. The room itself was was simple, clean and charming. The bed was very comfortable and absolutely enormous, I think it was a California King.

The breakfast at La Casa Verde was simple but perfect. Fresh fruit to mix with yogurt and granola, along with wonderful fresh breads and jams.

As others have mentioned, I was at first worried about not being in the center of town. We found it much nicer to be away from town and situated on the peaceful river. During the day, we always walked to and from town--it takes 15-20 minutes--and at night we took a quick taxi ride which cost only $1.50.

I highly recommend this bed and breakfast for anyone who is looking a welcoming, charming and peaceful place to stay in Banos.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmb1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
7.6 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
7.1 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hosteria Finca Chamanapamba
6.7 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#14 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House

Property: La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Address: Camino Real, Santa Ana, Banos, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banos
#2 Family Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
your eco-friendly haven in beautiful and tranquil baños. la casa verde offers the perfect place to rest, relax and enjoy baños, in the safe area of town and in a sustainable and comfortable environment with amazing views from every room. included is: free drinking water, tea, coffee and chocolate, use of the fully equipped kitchen and an organic, buffet breakfast with fresh homemade sourdough bread, granola, fruit, juice and organic fair trade arabica coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Verde- Eco Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing