We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in December. The place is very nice and really clean. Our room's view was the river in front of la casa verde. There is balcony that the guests can use to sit outside and contemplate the great view. The best thing is the breakfast. Homemade jelly, yoghurt, granola, and bread. It is all delicious.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MFGC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    56
    6
    9
    1
See reviews for
76
186
47
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Clean, nice big rooms, friendly and helpful staff,great breakfast, it is a perfect place to relax and recharge. Ask for a room at the back to listen to the river at night. The dog next door can be a bit loud at times.The owners filter their own water. There is a small kitchen to use should you want to cook. Large eating area where the guest gather and share their experience. It was truly a nice experience. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone.

And for $25 I got one of the best massage I've ever had.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the river and listen to its relaxing sound! large private balconies, super com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmenOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Was turned on to this place by our friend Alberto in Cuenca at Casa Ordonez. Did the drive from cuenca the back way thru Rio Bamba and Penida. (Last part a dirt track along the river). This hostel is highly recommended - i can see why it is popular amongst TA reviewers. The owners are Kiwis, and strive to make a difference in their town. They practice what they preach - no rainforest woods used in the well-planned property they built on the Rio Pastaza about 1 km out of the centro - (an easy walk or $2 taxi ride). They strive to eliminate the omnipresent plastic bottles by offering/loaning their own refillable water bottles, filled from their purified rainwater catchment system. The rooms are spacious, the beds good, the bathrooms clean, and the beer is cold. Large, covered patio is a great place to chat with folks over the rumble of the river below - although the view of the river is pretty obstructed from this patio (view is better on the upstairs patios). What more does one need? The owners are great, friendly, and informative. The proprietor recommended a hike that was just 1/10th a mile from their front door, which took us UP and UP, then up along a ridgeline over town to Punta Mirador then we went to Cafe de Cielo at Runtun. After this grind of a hike (we are pretty out-of-shape, and it was about 2-3 miles pretty much straight up hill) we felt we earned the cold beer on top, and the $5 taxi ride down.

This place is popular, so book ahead if it is a weekend. We would for sure stay here again, and we will!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk, Belarus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed here , because I care about the environment. Some rooms have private balconies, but the common deck area with chairs outside was enough for me. I had trouble sleeping, because the curtains did not block out the light.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Ostat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We found this hotel at the last minute and couldn't have been more pleased. The rooms were quaint and comfortable with a great view of the surrounding hills. The hotel is very eco-friendly with genuine and helpful staff. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

..probably because it's owned by an aussie and a kiwi..:-) the atmopshere is very chilled out.
- Owners are very friendly and helpfull when it comes to giving advice about the local activities. We've been asking too much information but (owner) Doug has been very patience and helpful with sharing any information and booking trips for us.
- As we're both very tall, the bed in the room we were in, was too small so please make sure if you're tall or you like king size beds, book a room with a big bed as they'll have it...unf.it was fully booked when we were there.
- Even though the bed wasnt the best (45,- p/night) the view definitely was! This made it very easy to accept the smaller bed. And to be honoust, nearly everywhere in Ecuador the guesthouses have these smaller (1,5 person) beds, think we're just spoiled overhere.
- The food was amazing and had the best breakfast during our 3 weeks trip in Ecuador for sure.
Conclusion: perfect place for couples or (little bit) olders travellers(30+), when single and/or beginnning 20's, i'd rather go to the centre to socialize and to roll into a pub if i'd wanted...For now, personally, this isn't necessary (anymore)...:-) thnx again Doug and wife (sorry, forgot your name) for the great time we've had, greetz from Amsterdam, Frans & Lian

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FandL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Everything is allready said about this beautiful place in Banos, with the best breakfast ever! However we want to add one more thing. They don't use booking.com anymore, you will allways find them ' fully booked' on this website, even if they are not. So just give them a call or use their own website to book.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingriddutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
370 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#5 of 28 in Banos
302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House

Property: La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Address: Camino Real, Santa Ana, Banos, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banos
#2 Family Hotel in Banos
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
your eco-friendly haven in beautiful and tranquil baños. la casa verde offers the perfect place to rest, relax and enjoy baños, in the safe area of town and in a sustainable and comfortable environment with amazing views from every room. included is: free drinking water, tea, coffee and chocolate, use of the fully equipped kitchen and an organic, buffet breakfast with fresh homemade sourdough bread, granola, fruit, juice and organic fair trade arabica coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Verde- Eco Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing