We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, thanks for everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great stay, thanks for everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in two separate rooms and had a great experience. The facilities were all very modern and clean and staff were helpful and friendly. The Eco aspect of the lodge is a focus but not pushy or limiting. The food on offer for breakfast and dinner were tasty and reasonably priced. Rooms were spacious and well-kept. Massages offered through the hotel were great and probably among the best valued in town.

Only issues were:

1. Location is a bit far from town. We had a car so it wasn't a big inconvenience for us but I could imagine some inconvenience for travelers having to wait for taxis or walk the 20 mins to downtown (esp if it was raining).

2. No safe/lock box in the room. We had no issues with valuables going missing but it would have provided peace of mind to have passports and cash locked up when not in the room.

3. Internet signal was weak in the back rooms nearest the river. Worked fine when wifi signal was strong enough but connection kept dropping. Much better when staying in a room closer to the router.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5577149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    55
    6
    9
    1
See reviews for
74
183
46
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The owners, the couple Doug and Rebecca, are very friendly, and makes you fell home. They prepare the breakfast with homemade bread, marmelade, and cheese. The rooms are confortable with private bathrooms, with hot water. The hostel is very clean and quite. It is a little bit far from the city center of Baños, but the taxi until there is US$ 2,00. Totally worthy!

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the second floor, to don't be disturb with the noise of breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuluBraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
1,122 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wonderful location just past the noisy small town. Taxi ride for $1.50 from town. Beautiful build home. Large rooms. Very quiet. Next to raging waters. All wood flooring. Great interiors. 12 foot bay Window overlooking river and mountain. Lots of greenery. The place to be, away from all the busy city without the bus station noise starting prior to 4 a.m.! Wake up and smell real good coffee and all the special delights for breakfast. This place is wonderful and should be compared with a 3.5 to 4 star hotel. Must do: professional massage in private small building $25 per hour. The pictures show it all. All Highly recommended MeuterMedia

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This place was beautiful. Situated right on the river and about a 20 minute walk to town. Doug suggested a hike close by and it was amazing! Our rooms were very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was awesome. I am still thinking of the tomato and basil soup we had for dinner and the garlic bread was to die for. Thank you Doug and Rebecca for your helpfulness. You have a beautiful family. Also Aude thankyou for finding our bike rental place again for us. There was a masseuse onsite and she managed to give a massage to 5 of the 6 of us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacque52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pine mountain, ga
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

It was so good, we extended our stay to 4 nights! Yes, the breakfast is fantastic and healthful! The first floor room with river view was very large, full of light, and the beds were comfortable! The couple who are running the place for the owners are fun, helpful, and available at all times.(Cyril and Aude) Yes, it is a 20 - 25 minute hike into town, but it is only $1.50 for the taxi, and you avoid the noise of town by staying in this peaceful and welcoming environment. There is an amazing library of dvds to watch at night, so we spent two nights watching movies with Cyril and Aude .... great fun! They can arrange for a fabulous $25 massage right on the premise, and if you wish, you can arrange for a very delicious dinner there as well. At under $50 per night, one could not ask for more!!! Be sure to arrange for Adolfo, the taxi driver, to take you to Luna Runtun for the "bath and lunch" package .... it was fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodmigrations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I spent three nights at La Casa Verde and agree with the majority of reviewers that it is a fantastic place to stay in Banos. Doug and Rebecca, the owners, are delightful and helpful. As for the property, there are many positives....the free breakfast is to die for, my room was beautiful, clean and comfortable, the hot shower excellent, wifi adequate and the constant hum of the river intoxicating. I stayed in the ground floor room facing the river, and although I didn't see any other rooms, would imagine that the river facing rooms are the best ones. The only thing to be aware of is that La Casa Verde is a good 25 minute walk (uphill) to Banos town. Such is the trade off for peace and quiet. This is not a party place in the center of the action. My only minor suggestion would be this....the appeal of the location is the view of the river and across the valley to the mountains, yet from the beautiful indoor and outdoor common areas the view is blocked by vegetation. I'd love to see the vegetation trimmed so you can enjoy the views while eating breakfast or relaxing outside. Overall though, La Casa Verde is a top notch guesthouse and highly recommended!

Room Tip: A river facing room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertioga Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We recently stayed 6 nights at La Casa Verde. We had a wonder room with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was wonderful! Everything was homemade and fresh. The French couple who managed the hotel because the owners had just had a baby were a delight to talk to. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return. We booked based on trip advisor recommendations and we were not disappointed. I highly recommend La Casa Verde!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelerBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#10 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#15 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.3 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House

Property: La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Address: Camino Real, Santa Ana, Banos, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banos
#2 Family Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
your eco-friendly haven in beautiful and tranquil baños. la casa verde offers the perfect place to rest, relax and enjoy baños, in the safe area of town and in a sustainable and comfortable environment with amazing views from every room. included is: free drinking water, tea, coffee and chocolate, use of the fully equipped kitchen and an organic, buffet breakfast with fresh homemade sourdough bread, granola, fruit, juice and organic fair trade arabica coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Verde- Eco Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing