We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hostel for People Who Prefer Private Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

On a friend’s recommendation, we booked four nights at Casa Verde. We ended up loving it so much that we added an extra day and wished we could have stayed another month.

Casa Verde is like a hostel for those people who feel they’ve moved past the hostel stage. Every room is private (no dorms) and clean with its own bathroom, including a hot shower with water pressure (a rarity in Ecuador). However, the downstairs area is set up perfectly to encourage guests to hang out and talk, which is exactly what I loved about hostels when I was traveling during my college days. There is an honor system for grabbing beers out of the fridge or snacks, which were all moderately priced. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruits and vegetables, breads, jams and coffee. They also offered as much free drinking water as you needed, which was a nice touch in a country without a lot of access to potable water outside of buying bottles. We met a lot of great people at breakfasts and spending time on the hammock swings surrounding the large deck.

The location itself, as some people have mentioned, is about 1.5km outside of town. However, we had no trouble getting to and from town by taxi for $2 each way, and we frequently walked, which was about 15 minutes. Personally, I think the location made this place even better. It was very peaceful, tucked away on an unpaved side street. It overlooks a river and is surrounded by the Andes. Completely picturesque.

Additionally, the friendly owners and volunteers were great about helping us book activities. We ended up rafting, canyoning and taking a day-trip into the rainforest. Each of those activities was outstanding (especially the canyoning), and all were booked for us. There is also a masseuse who will come to Casa Verde with an hour notice. If she were available near home and still only charged $25 for an hour, I might get daily massages.

Casa Verde is the one hotel in Ecuador that I would love to return to. And if I do, it may be a very long stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in back are spacious and overlook the river. They also have a balcony right outside the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank phogdog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasaverde, Owner at La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

thanks for your great review and perfect summary of la casa verde. we'd love to have you (and appreciative people like you) back here again!

*** posted by guest relations manager and all-round good guy...again! ;-) ***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Pros: The rooms in this hostel are spacious and the beds are comfy. The breakfast with cheese and plenty of vegetables and brewed coffee is delicious. Doug, the owner, is a very relax and helpful host.

Cons: It's not in the city center and that means that it'll cost you a $1.50 - $2 to get to the city center from the hostel (you could also walk of course).

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

La Casa Verde is a B&B located about 10min (by car) outside the town of Banos. Although its surrounding is picturesque, it wasn't worth the hassle of getting there. Even with a car, staying at La Casa Verde was inconvenient, as we had to find our way back to the B&B in the dark every night. Banos is a sleepy little town, and there are plenty of little inns that provide comfortable and quiet accommodation in town, where you have a convenient access to all the facilities and restaurants.

Also, aside from being an English speaker, which probably is the reason why most English-speaking tourists stay there, we didn't find the owners of the B&B to be particularly hospitable or helpful. Every time we had a question about the area, he was vague and indifferent, and acted as if we were bothering him. It definitely was not a comfortable or enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank gl0betrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasaverde, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thanks for your sufficiently negative critique of la casa verde.

For anyone who finds it challenging to read a map (which we provide on our website and in our emails prior to arrival) and follow basic instructions (also provided), this is a useful warning for them to find alternate accommodation. As are these warnings…

- you want tranquility and beautiful surroundings but don’t understand why the place isn’t in the middle of a bustling tourist town....

- you have your own vehicle…driving in a foreign country… to a place you have never been... then wonder why it could take time to find the place (which normally only happens when arriving for the first time and not thereafter – you’re definitely unique there!)....

- you assume that guest house owners are mind readers, running a tourist information bureau to give you info, which you never requested in the first place.

- your motto is “been there, done that" - then it would be best to just stay home, you seem to already know everything anyway....

If you fit the above description, this person’s review is just for you.

If you don’t fit any of the above, you are more than welcome at la casa verde, and we will do our best to provide you with a comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable stay (as 95% of our reviewers who have given us an ‘excellent’ or ‘very good’ rating can attest).

‘Happy’ travels gl0betrotter!


**** posted by the guest relations manager and all-round good guy! ;-) ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

House was great - really nice place to stay. Customer service was exceptional. Doug helped us out with a number of things - I was really impressed. Clean house, comfortable beds, hot showers. Breakfast was great and we bought a supper meal one night that was great - nice to relax and eat it at "home".

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank ykcofc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasaverde, Owner at La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

thanks for your great review. it's great to hear you were impressed with the service we provided here - we try our best! ;-) it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were warmly welcomed and helped in our questioning about Banos by Rebecca and Doug the owners of this lovely location. Great king size bed, hot shower, and a view of the beautiful green area with the sound of the water running by the outside of the window. Living in Quito this was a great retreat for 4 nights. Fresh continental breakfasts with good coffee . Glad this was out of town a bit..but easy to get to town by taxi or local bus. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Love the rooms at the back ...superior matrimonial. Lots of room for a comfortable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank esshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasaverde, Owner at La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

thanks for the great review and for choosing to stay with us. if you ever need a break from Quito again, we'd be more than happy to see you again also! take care, Rebecca and Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Besides having clean and comfortable living standards, the owner/manager (Doug) of this establishment is committed to helping clients BIG TIME.

Let me explain, I used an ATM at Banos to withdraw some money. Much to my shock, I discovered when I tried to use the money at a local restaurant the bank had given me $120 of "fake" money. When I told this story to Doug, he spent an entire morning helping me go back to the bank, and two other financial offices in an effort to rectify this wrong.

How about that for customer service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 426Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasaverde, Owner at La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

thanks for your review. we try our best to make our guest's stay as pleasant as possible. even if something happens outside of la casa verde, we always try and help make it right for our guests. the police investigation (which is now on a national level) still continues. hopefully, one day, we'll have a positive response from them for you. cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

La Casa Verde was amazing! The owners are really lovely, the rooms are so comfortable - probably the best room/comfiest bed i have stayed in for my whole trip (im on my 8th week in south america), and it was very inexpensive. You can hear the river fron the hostel, its about a 25 minute walk into town (good exercise) or 1.50 for a 5 minute taxi. The included breakfast is healthy and fresh, all in all i was really sad to leave!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joey I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasaverde, Owner at La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

thanks for your glowing review! we're glad you had a great time here and enjoyed all la casa verde has to offer. happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 27 in Banos
322 reviews
1 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 27 in Banos
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 27 in Banos
235 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#13 of 27 in Banos
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House

Address: Camino Real, Santa Ana, Banos, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banos
#2 Family Hotel in Banos
Price Range: £38 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Eco-friendly Haven In Beautiful And Tranquil Baños. La Casa Verde Offers The Perfect Place To Rest, Relax And Enjoy Baños, In The Safe Area Of Town And In A Sustainable And Comfortable Environment With Amazing Views From Every Room. Included Is: Free Drinking Water, Tea, Coffee And Chocolate, Use Of The Fully Equipped Kitchen And An Organic, Buffet Breakfast With Fresh Homemade Sourdough Bread, Granola, Fruit, Juice And Organic Fair Trade Arabica Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Verde- Eco Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing