We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Macas, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel doesn't have the charisma of some of the more expensive hotel in Banos, but it was in a quiet part of town not far from the cathedral and baths. The buffet breakfast was good. The rooms clean and good. The staff were very helpful. I would recommend it for value for money.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Musketeers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    22
    8
    9
    2
See reviews for
17
23
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very comfortable, not in the main traffic area of hustle and bustle, and a free breakfast to boot. My kind of room. Not sure how the other rooms were, but my room needed a new shower head (sprayed water on everything but me...LOL). Overall, it was fantastic. The staff was courteous and accommodating, the beds were very comfortable and had clean sheets, and the WiFi worked. Recommend this place if you are going to stay in Banos.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have been living in this hotel for the better part of a month. The monthly rate is great and breakfast (a good one) is included. The staff is friendly and courteous. The hotel is clean, the beds are very comfortable, the views are good and the location is handy for walking into the central part of town. Now comes the hitch. The guests in this hotel are among the loudest and rudest I have ever encountered anywhere. At any hour you may be brought rudely awake by yelling adults and screaming laughing children and the hotel staff exerts no effort to control the situation. When Cathy, the manager is present, things are a bit better but when the fellows are left to their own devices, things get sloppy. They will do your laundry. Do not expect it back in a timely fashion and folding your clothes isn't something they excel at. You articles will be more like wadded up. I really hated writing the downside about this hotel but travelers need to know.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from other guest as possible and stress QUIET !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bobinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grassy Key, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have traveled to Banos several times this year and this hotel is in my top 2! The beds are very comfortable, they service is very good. I will be staying here again. I marked pool as terrible, that was a mistake that I was unable to fix. There is no pool!

Room Tip: There are only a couple of rooms that have a good view, just ask when you make your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The best about this Hostel is the low price!!! I can recommend it for low-budgets but if you have high demands on the interior of the rooms or the service, it might be the wrong place. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. The curtains are somehow ugly and the view too, but I would even recommend it to my best freinds!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banos Ec.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed 2 days in Banos before deciding to move here on a permanent basis. I actually stayed here for over a month before locating a permanent apartment. I hated to leave because I felt I was a part of the family. Katy, Jorge and Danielo are amazingly wonderful people..They all work hard to make your stay a pleasent one. I really looked forward to the great breakfast. The place is clean, quiet and priced right. I have referred my friends and they enjoyed as well.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 209.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garlandBanosEc_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

We went to Banos on a good Friday and could not find any other hotel for just one night. we were kind of afraid about this hotel, but honestly it is a little modest hotel, but very clean and offers good breakfast and the staff is very nice. The only thing is that is a little noisy.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Donde Ivan
Hotel Donde Ivan
#17 of 28 in Banos
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Petite Auberge
La Petite Auberge
#15 of 28 in Banos
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Flor de Oriente
Hotel Flor de Oriente
#22 of 28 in Banos
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#18 of 28 in Banos
37 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hosteria Agoyan Spa
Hosteria Agoyan Spa
#19 of 28 in Banos
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Sol

Property: Hotel Puerta del Sol
Address: Ambato y Arrayanes (esquina), Banos, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puerta del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing