We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem, we loved it here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Magic Stone

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magic Stone
Ranked #5 of 42 Banos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An absolute gem, we loved it here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

From the moment we arrived the owners Aase and Ove made us feel very welcome and they are very warm and lovely people. The room was great, very spacious and comfortable and good value for money. Breakfast was also nice with lovely home made bread and the best eggs we have had in 6 weeks travelling. We were also given some yummy homemade banana cake one afternoon with coffee which was a nice touch. We really enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend Magic stone. The setting is amazing and it really is Magic, made more so by the lovely hosts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anj_Ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
96
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Magic Stone and loved it! We had some rainy weather while we were in Banos and didn't get to do what we had planned to see/do, but we know we want to come for another trip to stay in the oasis of calm that Aase and Ove have created here. Banos centre is quite a compact, busy little place on the weekends and walking 5 mins back to this quiet haven tucked away was perfect. The breakfast is delicious, just try the home-baked bread! Aase and Ove are really kind, friendly, and warm people, we will be booking again very soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue room-it is prefect for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbinbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weinheim, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the Magic Stone and we felt like being at home. Aase and Ove did everything for us, we talked a lot about travelling and they gave us tips what to do during our stay. The breakfast was the best we had after 7 month of travelling!!! I wish to meet such nice people more often!!! Thank you, Ari and Benny

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The rooms are much better than what they seem, which is great!!! The room we had had two beds and it was very very comfortable. For 50 dollars approximately you'll have your room in one of the best places in banos. You'll have a quiet, pleasant stay that will make you feel at home. You'll can walk few blocks to the city if you want to go to the city.

The owners, Aase and Ove were great. They are a lovely couple who made our experience amazing. Breakfast was the best part of the experience. For around 7 dollars you can have the best breakfast ever. We even bough extra bread rolls to bring home. I would love to have the recipe to make bread as good as theirs. Definitely, breakfast is a must.

For the price, its one of the most comfortable places in banos, the owners are the best and their breakfast is amazing. Come here for the best rest experience in the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdriatSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
268 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

It is such a delight to encounter a gem of a Danish place in the heart of Banos.. the hosts have created a wonderful, comfortable, functional, and high standard accommodation. I love the small Danish details from the bed to the fixtures in the bathroom. The location is actually an advantage since it is quiet and away from the craziness of the town... Do take advantage of a wonderful break from it all..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel2findoneself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

In my opinion,others reviewing this lovely spot have said it so well that all I can do is say that I totally agree. All I can add is my favorite three really outstanding things about this place:
1. the graciousness of Aase and Ove as host and hostess, their helpfulness, knowledge of the area and sincere warmth of personality. .
2. Location at one end of "Church" street making it an ideal and very safe walk to town and impossible to get lost.
3. For a very small charge a most delicious breakfast highlighted by the best baked breakfast breads and pastries you will find anywhere.

Room Tip: We were two couples traveling together so we stayed in both the red and blue rooms. Both equally nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdchaserLouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

As with all the other reviews, Ove and Aase are the consummate hosts. Their location is perfect. On the edge of the town but still within five minutes walking distance of the city centre. I could have easily stayed a couple weeks enjoying their wonderful Danish breakfasts. Both Ove and Aase have lived in the area for years and have an extensive knowledge of the surrounding areas. My room was clean, roomy, and had everything I needed for my four day stay. For all they offer, Magic Stone is a bargain.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.9 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.2 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Donde Ivan
Hotel Donde Ivan
#17 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#16 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Erupcion
Hostel Erupcion
#3 of 42 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Stone

Property: Magic Stone
Address: Calle Ambato | El Campamento de los Pinos, Banos 0059, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place is located in the far end of the main street, towards the waterfall. Ask for: "Campamento Los Pinos" Magic Stone is a great place to relax, with hammocks in the garden and amazing views. If you need information about tours in the area etc, we are here to help and you can order our famous breakfast with homemade bread and jam, fresh pressed orange-juice,crepes, fresh ground coffee/tea,scrambled egg ect. everything in best quality.Magic stone make day-trips only for our guests to a special place in the highland jungle where nobody else are coming, and to a very low price.We look forward to see you here in Magic Stone. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing