We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell in Love with Casa Amarilla”
Review of La Casa Amarilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Casa Amarilla
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fell in Love with Casa Amarilla”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This place is fabulous!!! We traveled all over Ecuador and stayed in some really nice boutique places but we really enjoyed this place. We had no idea what to expect because they asked us if we wanted horses to meet us at the trail or if we wanted to walk up ourselves. Considering that this was our last place to stay in Ecuador and we had accumulated significant quantities of goods we opted for the horses. We had a short rest at the trail head then our horses arrived, and we ventured up the side of the mountain for a quick 10 minute ride. Mayra met us at the gate, welcomed us to our room, greeted us with fresh squeezed lemonade, and quickly knew we had stumbled on a wonderful, beautiful place. This 4 to 6 room villa is nestled into the side of the mountain, surrounded by lush vegetation, beautifully colored birds, and overlooks the quaint adventurous town of Baños. We walked back and forth from the place to the town (yeah walking back uphill is a little strenuous, but they do it everyday). The hosts were the most wonderful people on the planet. We were there over New Years and Mayra's parents and sister came for the holidays. They welcomed us into their family like they had known us for decades. George had me help with the effigy for the New Year's event, Mayra's mother & father coached from the sideline, and in the end we had one fine stuffed resemblance of, well, of me. At midnight George struck a match and we celebrated the the New Year. In addition, the location of Casa Amarilla provided a spectacular view of Baños ringing in the new year. George and Mayra make fantastic breakfasts. Mayra was incredibly helpful in booking trips and giving us recommendations for activities. We really encourage you to consider Casa Amarilla for a stay in Baños.

Room Tip: Take the horses up if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

La Casa Amarilla is a special find. It is simple and sweet, and has beautiful vistas overlooking the town of Baños. The 20 minute climb up to it is a little tough with bags, but well worth the trek. Mayra is a lovely hostess who cooked us great meals and took us through her gardens, naming the flowers and introducing us to her finches and other birds. Mayra told us that the original owners from Denmark built up there because it was the one place on that mountain with such fabulous energy, and I can see why. It's tranquil and relaxing - the perfect answer to an adventure-packed day in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FancyFreeRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I visited Quito, Cuenca and Baños in Ecuador and I stayed in many hotels, but The Casa Amarilla has a unique and perfect view. A walk up to Runtún with my friends and saw this place in the trail, what a sorprise!!You can see many kinds on birds, inlcudes hummingbirds, quin quin, azulejos, and a beautiful flowers. The arepas prepared with Mayra are exellent and the rooms very confortable with cable, hot water, and very quiet.
I LOVE CASA AMARILLA; AND SOON I WILL BACK!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

When I visited Ecuador for two months ens of 2010 I stopped for few weeks in Banos. Banos is great for all kinds of things. But the Casa Amarilla is a secret tip. Run by a very friendly family its located on the hill side from where you overlook the town. You hike up there so maybe store heavy things somewhere in town or you take horses -- which I did. There are so many great things about this place. The nice friendly owners where you feel like a family member, the food, the waterfall trips and for me as photographer the beautiful garden full of hummingbirds and the rare kinkin... Don't miss it!

Room Tip: I took the room where you can observe the kinkin behind the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicaBandita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roznov pod Radhostem, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The best place I stayed in all Ecuador. Wonderful place with nice people close to nature. Mayra thanks for your hospitality. Your garden is wonderful ! I took there a lot of nice pictures of Colibris. I believe it was not my last visit of this place. Radek

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jirsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2011

From its garden with floral arrangements to it's romantic rooms and view of the city, with the sound of different birds. It's a perfect symphony for a romantic moment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Tne enviroment of La Casa Amarilla is unique. Uncontalbe plantas and animal make this plase incomparable, each room has a beautiful see of the city and arounds.
Each night $20 including a delicious breakfast, from the zone or international. Peoplo who work here are kind. I recomend this magical place

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisa2489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
1.6 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.6 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
366 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Donde Ivan
Hotel Donde Ivan
#17 of 28 in Banos
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Amarilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Amarilla

Property: La Casa Amarilla
Address: Barrio Chutan | Near the End of Juan Leon Mera Street, Banos 593, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa Amarilla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house La Casa Amarilla is a litte paradis e in the mountain which offers you the unique opportunity to be in th e middle of nature. However, you get all the comfort you need to relax. Enjoy the gorgeous view on Banos and its surroundings with your partne r, your familiy or your friends. The guest house is situated above Ban os and can be reached - by foot (15 minutes) - on horseback (10 minutes) We offer: - Double room, twin room and family room, each featu ring private bathroom with hot water shower - cable TV, free Wi-Fi - especially quietness which makes us unique in Bano s! The restaurant offers regional and international di shes. The price includes breakfast, the access on horseba ck and a parking space in Banos. Extra activities: - hydro-massage tub - free karaoke session in the restaurant - garden with BBQ facilities and a variety of flower s - birding (mainly hummingbirds) - short walk to the Virgins Scenic Outlook - nocturnal excursions Moreover, rafting, sand buggies, horse riding, cany oning, and excursions to the rain forest can be arranged. Guests need to contact the hotel to tell their wish es regarding the access to the guest house. We are looking forward to welcome you in the Casa A marilla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Casa Amarilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing