We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
Ranked #6 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Bogota, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I had a lovely time at los pinos, it has a great social area with a bar and lounge and computers and everything. Mon- Wed they offer free dinner which are generous servings and great vaue for the price of the rooms. Breakfast is also included everyday. Rooms are clean and generally speaking there was always a laid back , friendly vibe from both staff and other travellers. Great as a solo traveller to meet people here to do activities withso easily. Also an easy walk to most places in town.
Definitely recommend this one :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    74
    24
    15
    10
See reviews for
8
57
86
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was a very good hostel for meeting other travellers. It´s easy to organize rafting and other stuff to do in Baños through the hostel (and at cheap prices.) Most of the staff was really friendly, with only one who was...not the most polite. One guy on the staff was so nice that he helped me to fix my shoe after a hike :) Overall, I loved it. (Free dinners are very good!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elik43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I loved this hostel! The staff were helpful with info on buses, tours etc, the bar area is super sociable and it's really close to one of the two hot baths in Baños. Free dinner at the start of the week, when the town tends to be quiet anyway, is a nice touch and a great way of getting everyone in the same place. The breakfast is good too, and the chocolate-dulce de leche cake to die for.

My only complaint would be the cats that live in the bar area - if you're allergic come prepared with tons of antihistamines because they spend all their time on the sofas.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Maija S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

What's great about this hostel is that the common room is a big area with bar, tv space, pool table, pc's and tables so it's easy to meet people and have a good time. However, from the looks of it, the hostel is mainly living off reputation atm because the dorm prices have increased by 3 dollars, staff are unfriendly but they still have a good service for backpackers - meeting people and enjoying

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank samy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Ok, hostel itself is nice but geez what do you have to do to get service with a smile. The check in was unwelcoming - especially after the horrible bus ride to Banos - and although check out is at 11am dont expect your room before 3pm. They are helpful to book tours but probably due to the $5 cut they get when you book through them. The bar staff and especially one guy is very rude and un accommodating, I was asked to pay an extra 25cts to have milk in my tea...what a joke!!
Overhall hostel is pleasant but staff and the many many rules lets it down. I will definitely try another hostel next time I am in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chloe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had an awesome vibe--chill at some moments and party the next. The rooms were clean and the hot shower was wonderful. The food was pretty good. They had a lot of resources that were connected to the local tourist attraction agencies. You could schedule zip lining, canyoning or what have you through the hostel and that company would pick you right up at the hostel. Laundry cost $3 but it was worth it because it was conveniently at the hostel. Staff could be a little more friendlier and act less nonchalant. Other than that, great hostel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bethany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great hostel with a great common area to meet people. It's structure and reputation obv make it the no 1 choice in banos but the reviews regarding the miserable staff are unfortunately true! One member of staff in particular was rude and ignorant and unpleasant to deal with. The others were friendly enough but lack the spark and enthusiasm we come to expect from hostel workers

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickymullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 27 in Banos
213 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.3 mi away
Hostel Erupcion
Hostel Erupcion
#2 of 48 in Banos
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal D' Mathias
Hostal D' Mathias
#2 of 70 in Banos
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos

Property: Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
Address: Ricardo Zurita Carrillo y Ambato | Barrio Los Pinos 150 mts from the Church, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Great Hostels you will experience great moments. Meet other travelers, get involved in social activities, relax in the gardens and hammocks. Enjoy Pizza party on fridays.Free cocktails on wednesday and saturdays. Movie Nights on sundays with free popcorn!!!!!!!have fun at the meeting point, in were you will find a collection of movies (more than 300 dvd`s), books for book change, cosy lounge & living rooms , lots of table games pool table, internet, wi-fi , social activities.You will enjoy good music, cocktails, tasty food, homemade cakes and jams - not to be missed ! Rest in the spacious and comfortable rooms.For those who like to make their own food we have a fully equipped kitchen open all day.You will always find the staff ready to help you. We are onsite to help you with any issues and to enjoy the great atmosphere together.Our Hostel provides infomation and many recommendations about restaurants, regional markets, main attractions and truistic activities.We will help you finding the best tours in the region such as Jungle , Raffting, Canyioning, Canopy, Climbing, Parapenting, Biking, Trekkings. You can choose... to stay at a regular hostel or at a Great Hostelstay in a normal dorm or in a large dorm with murals and mountain views.stay in the dormitory or at cool designed common area.be close to buildings and noise or be close to mountains, waterfalls & hotsprings.enjoy congestion and griminess of the city itself or enjoy silence,good music, gardens & hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing