We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
Ranked #7 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you are a backpacker this is the place you want to stay at Baños. Very nice and clean rooms, wifi around all the place, food, drinks, bar, and breakfast included on the price.

People is very nice and kind, definitively a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estebandido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great Backpackers is the place to be in Banos. The rooms are lovely, clean and warm, and the staff are fantastic. The common area (bar/reception all in one) creates the optimal social atmosphere for backpackers. There's a pool table, which everyone seemed to be involved in at one point or another, with a bar just beside it. It's walking distance from everything in town, as well as the hot springs. Best part was probably the free dinner THREE nights a week! How good's that? Free breakfast every day as well, so it was easy to save a bit here. There's also a kitchen if you don't want to eat food from the bar, which is a huge perk. Most hostels lock you into their overpriced bar food. I'd go back any day. Just loved this spot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderlustingEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

One of the best hostels we stayed in in Ecuador. Cheap, clean and decent rooms and showers and basic but okay breakfast. Nice bar with good beer, cheap food, good wifi and nice company! I would recommend it for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bieke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, very cheap. It includes breakfast, but its rather simple. Monday through wednesday it also includes dinner. Good drinks and food in the bar. Close to everything but outside of the party area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank noraegeb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Dont expect a smile or help from the guys and you will not feel welcome! They don't know sorry, thanks or hello. When u wanna give back your still frozen food they just say it is not frozen...the workers just come into the room without knocking and don't listen to you if you tell him that the bed is taken...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxi4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I called this place before leaving Tena to ask about availability and let them know that I was traveling with my family via bus. I was assured there was space. Upon arriving to the city I called asking for a taxi and the manager replied "this is not a taxi service", to which I said I am trying to stay at the hostel, to which she responded "the taxis are not answering their phone". I caught a taxi with my 4 children and upon arriving was told that this place was for "young people" that the only rooms they have are the $50 per night rooms and after probing the manager said "we don't have staff to clean rooms" unless you want to wait 2 hours. This place is so unprofessional and absolutely rude. DO NOT GO ! We left, having to take our luggage and pay taxi again.....sad but true

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Latrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The rooms and infrastructure were pretty average here. They were good value for money for how cheap it is. The best thing about this hostel is the common/ bar area at the front of the hostel. There is good wifi and two working computers. There are lots of sofas and the hostel often did movie nights with free popcorn. Also once a week there is a free sign up dinner. We had a lovely pesto pasta dish. The bar is cheap and this hostel definitely attracts a friendly, well traveled, international crowd. The only issue we had here was that the staff had very bad English, some spoke none at all, also there were a few occasions when there was no one at the reception for ages.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annacombe70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 27 in Banos
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.3 mi away
Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel
0.6 mi away
La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos

Address: Ricardo Zurita Carrillo y Ambato | Barrio Los Pinos 150 mts from the Church, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Price Range: £12 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Great Hostels you will experience great moments. Meet other travelers, get involved in social activities, relax in the gardens and hammocks. Enjoy Pizza party on fridays.Free cocktails on wednesday and saturdays. Movie Nights on sundays with free popcorn!!!!!!!have fun at the meeting point, in were you will find a collection of movies (more than 300 dvd`s), books for book change, cosy lounge & living rooms , lots of table games pool table, internet, wi-fi , social activities.You will enjoy good music, cocktails, tasty food, homemade cakes and jams - not to be missed ! Rest in the spacious and comfortable rooms.For those who like to make their own food we have a fully equipped kitchen open all day.You will always find the staff ready to help you. We are onsite to help you with any issues and to enjoy the great atmosphere together.Our Hostel provides infomation and many recommendations about restaurants, regional markets, main attractions and truistic activities.We will help you finding the best tours in the region such as Jungle , Raffting, Canyioning, Canopy, Climbing, Parapenting, Biking, Trekkings. You can choose... to stay at a regular hostel or at a Great Hostelstay in a normal dorm or in a large dorm with murals and mountain views.stay in the dormitory or at cool designed common area.be close to buildings and noise or be close to mountains, waterfalls & hotsprings.enjoy congestion and griminess of the city itself or enjoy silence,good music, gardens & hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing