We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Donde Marcelo Me Too
Ranked #33 of 48 Banos B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Private parking, helpful staff, good breakfast, clean rooms. My only wish was the wi-fi signal was better but that could be just me! The hotel is also only 2 blocks away from the central plaza + church making for a very painless stay. Reasonable prices of $25 per person (breakfast included).

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the parking lot so you avoid noise at night from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simplydt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    13
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
12
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Miami Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The ground trip to Banos was unplanned, as was the 10 day stay at, Donde Marcelo Me Too!
On our first night in Banos, we stayed at another hotel that was recommended and for safety and assurance of quality we stayed there one night, of which I will also be writing a review.
Donde Marcelo’s was the fifth place we had decided to check. The others were disappointing and we were getting a little discouraged at finding that perfect place. But as we past the Basilica, I saw the Four Star Donde Marcelo Hotel Bar & Restaurant sign attached to this beautiful 3+ story building with a sort of Greek, Roman, and Latin flavor architecture. From the moment I stepped onto the polished hardwood floors throughout the Main Lobby, dining area, bar section and reception area, all lit up by sunlight during the day and huge hanging lamps by night I knew right then this was a unique and special place. Here are only some of the reasons why we stayed 10 days and are already making plans to go back. First the price was 27% less then where we were and 100% better. The rooms were Huge and our bed was bigger than BIG. It was built into the headboard framed wall and solidly attached and framed onto the hardwood floors. There were 2 large 3-drawer night stands, a small table covered with a table cloth, a leather cushioned chair, plus a very nice sofa chair, TV w/cable and a wall unit consisting of a full length mirrored closet with 2 deep/wide drawers, 2 smaller wide drawers with a covered shelf for loose items and things. The restroom was also very modern, roomy shower, comfortable, exceptionally clean with all the hot water you need. The bedding, pillows, and towels not only looked clean but also had that fresh clean smell. My wife noticed that Donde Marcelo’s was the only hotel that had top sheets on the bed. She appreciated having something fresh between us and the comforter bed cover. Our room had very large window views on two sides. From the bed we could look out this wall to wall window, facing out to a panoramic view of a mountain range (and we did not have the most expensive room in the house) .The moving clouds and weather conditions caused the view to constantly change. There’s a steam room and sauna room enhanced by eucalyptus leaves plucked from the wild trees growing in the area. I remember the young male and female staff being eager to help carry the full set of heavy luggage for both my wife and I the 2 ½ sets of stairs to our room and had I not insisted, they would have left without a tip. The owners Marcelo and Rosita were so friendly, made us feel like family. They invited us to dinner in the mountains where you fish your trout from the streams nearby before they prepare a full course meal with it for you all in a very rustic setting. Then we invited them to dinner at the best restaurant they knew in town. It turned out to be Cedro Restaurant; great place but that’s another review. Speaking of food, the free breakfast is beyond good, it is excellent. Some of the herbs, fruits, veggies and the roses that decorate the dining area come from there garden that we see Rosita and Marcelo tending to every morning just before daylight. Marcelo, Rosita and their two young daughters live in the hotels penthouse. So, in this Four Star Hotel you’ll experience hospitality professionalism, combined with the feeling of a big loving, happy you’re here, family affair. There is so much more to tell but bottom line is you need to book a room for yourself and discover the comfort and mystique of Donde Marcelo …Me Too!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank el lazaro p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Banos and enjoyed it a lot. We stayed in Donde Marcelo and we liked it very much. The hotel is located just a block from the city center and the main church but is on the quiet side of the street - so it is very peaceful. We had a big room, very comfortable king bed, and wonderful view from two directions. Breakfast was included and was excellent - every day another fresh fruit juice, eggs, fruit plate, bread, butter and jam (and coffee, of course). The price was 50 USD per day including everything. The hosts were very nice and friendly and suggested different activities including hike, bike trip to El-Diablo and taxi trip to the Antennas and Patate. Just don't ask them for restaurant recommendation as they don't really know the restaurants in the area. I highly recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upper store in room 12. It had beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zipikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiego
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Banos is looking a little over-hoteled to me. There are plenty of places in town that are cheaper (probably under $16/night for one), but I would spend the extra $8-$10 to stay here. I loved it. King bed, chubby towels, wood floors, great view, central location, bomb-proof internet. Plus they have cable with a nice selection of english channels. (OK, I know I should not care, but I was traveling alone and sometimes enjoy the entertainment.) The staff is very welcoming, with cute little family members running around. It is clean, very clean, breakfast is good, and the location does not feel crowded like other hostals downtown. For the management if they are listening, this is slightly annoying...the exhaust fans in the shower run anytime you turn on the bathroom lights. Loved it!

Room Tip: Pick a window view you like, and you can probably pick the floor you prefer. (No elevator I think, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJFromSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenas Aires
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

This wonderful hotel is run by a very welcoming and helpful family. It is situated one block from the main plaza and cathedral, and two blocks from the Banos de Santa . The area is safe and well frequented by locals either going to church or to shop. It was a pleasure to stay there. The beds are very large and comfortable in rooms that are huge, with TV and spacious showers supplying endless hot water. The breafast was ample and tasty, with fresh juice of your choice, fruit salad, fresh rolls, eggs and coffee with milk. I would highly recomment this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justmovingthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#14 of 27 in Banos
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Donde Ivan
Hotel Donde Ivan
#19 of 27 in Banos
39 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 27 in Banos
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Carolina
Hostal Carolina
#3 of 48 in Banos
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donde Marcelo Me Too? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donde Marcelo Me Too

Property: Donde Marcelo Me Too
Address: Calle Ambato Y Pasaje Herrrera | Tungurahua, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Donde Marcelo Me Too 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Donde Marcelo Me Too reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing