We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Princesa Maria
Ranked #1 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Lempaala, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good value!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hostal is very good value for your money. We also liked that its peaceful and not a party place. One minus point comes from the fact that downstairs opens very late (7:30 - 8:00 a.m) which means that you can´t use the kitchen before that. If you are leaving for a early hike or tour that´s way too late from our opinion.

Just to let you know... Our room was little pit worn out but clean and spacious with good beds. There was no cabinets to unback our bags. Remember to ask for the cleaning and for new towels. The little kitchen downstairs is very well organized. It would have been nice to have porcelain cups and plates instead of the plastic ones but who cares about that... The frying pans were also really worn out. Electric kettle would been useful when there are many people using the kitchen.

Location is good and not that far away from the center you might think looking the map. There is still noises from the streets but probably a lot less than in the center.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hekivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    69
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
27
187
53
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Princess Maria

Solid hostel. Very very reasonably priced rooms. A double for just US$18, perfect for any couple on a budget.

The host, Victor, is a friendly gregarious bloke who was waiting up for us when we arrived at 10pm.

The kitchen is open until late, Victor sells beers at a not to be missed price and he doesn't allow guests to run a mock, having strict rules on noise after 12am. Is right!

Victor has immersed himself in the World Cup, gets very very excited watching exciting footy. Lad!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewB1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very friendly Spanish speaking staff. Our room (double bed with private bath on top floor) was clean and comfortable. The price was super cheap for what we got. I would highly recommend staying here. Plus, it's a five minute walk from the center of town and is therefore a bit quieter at night.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at Princesa Maria for two nights and found it an outstanding value at $18 for a private room (for two people). We were on the 3rd floor and had two full-size beds and private bath. Location is great - just far enough from the center of things to be quiet, but within a 10-minute walk of everywhere. Baños felt incredibly safe to us at night, even after dark (Victor, the owner, assured us that's the norm - it's just a pretty safe small town).

It's a hostel, to be sure - communal kitchen, lots of backpackers, thin walls (through which you can easily hear backpackers...you know), minimal amenities. It's vehemently "not a party hostel", though, and offers friendly service and a clean bed. Our window didn't have a screen so beware of bugs if you leave it open. Wi-fi was pretty spotty but hot water was good and the TV in our room actually had a ton of international channels. Again, for the price it's really hard to beat, and we'd definitely stay there again for such good value.

Room Tip: Definitely the higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgetahun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Accidentally came across this place whilst tagging along with another couple who had a booking here and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

Cheap, comfortable and welcoming. Although victor doesn't speak English, he makes an effort to be clear and concise when speaking to you in spanish, especially for those who are beginning to learn. His charismatic son is usually around and speaks fluent English if necessary anyway.

Victor also gives a great little intro on what to see and do in this beautiful town which is exactly what you're after when passing through here with little-to-no expectations or research on banos.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ifartfires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The best budget accommodation we've had in Ecuador. Clean comfortable room. Hot water. A small but adequate kitchen. A modest stroll from the town centre but with a great little bakery round the corner. The hosts were friendly and welcoming. What more could you ask for.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

A clean and welcoming hostel just a short leg stretching walk to the town plaza. We didn't pre book and we're made welcome by the non English speaking manager, a lovely man. Breakfast not provided but kitchen available.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank johny2crisps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#24 of 27 in Banos
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Hostal D' Mathias
Hostal D' Mathias
#2 of 70 in Banos
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Princesa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Princesa Maria

Property: Hostal Princesa Maria
Address: Rocafuerte and Mera (up the hill at the corner), Banos 010151, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Maria is a 3 floor building, with wooden floors, well equiped kitchen, large spacious rooms, hot water private bathroom and much more...The adress of our hostel is Rocafuerte y Mera (esquina)To find us you have to walk 3 blocks straight to the park and 3 blocks to the right following rocafuerte street Up The Hill, we are a blue building right on the upper corner of Rocafuerte street.If by any reason you cant manage to see where are we located you can call us and we will be ready to tell you an accurate description of our address.Princesa Maria is not a party hostal, we are a small and cozy business, we offer the basic services for you to enjoy your stay in Banos/Tungurahua, Nothing Luxurious, we just give you enough things to feel at home within an environment of respect and happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Princesa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Princesa Maria Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing