We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite hostal anywhere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Princesa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Princesa Maria
Ranked #1 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite hostal anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I have stayed at dozens of hostals, but Princesa Maria is my favorite. It is in a great location, clean, affordable and has the best owners/staff. It is a small hostal located on a hill just blocks from the city center. Located next to Princesa Maria is a farmer's market that has almost any type of produce you will ever need and all extremely fresh. Also, only a few blocks away in the center of town is a well stocked grocery store. There is always friendly staff there to assist \with any questions and give directions to all points of interests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    65
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
180
53
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
181 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

There are soooooo many hostels in Banos it was hard to know where to start. But heaps of the hostels have horrible reviews so we made a beeline for Princesa when we arrived in Banos. We managed to get a room without a reservation but plenty of people we met weren't so lucky so bookahead if you can.

This place is right on the money for Banos... appropriately priced with a great location just a couple of blocks away from the bars. Banos is so tiny you can walk anywhere but we appreciated getting a bit of quiet at night.

Kitchen was good... a few more bowls would have been nice but otherwise decently equipped... easily possible to self cater here. We did lose a few items out of the fridge but that is hostel life i guess!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarleeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Brilliant hostel. Cannot reccommend it enough. The rooms are warm, comfortable and spacious and we've had the hottest showers since arriving in Ecuador. The hostel is located a two minute walk, if that, from the centre of town meaning that you can easily go out at night if you want to or have a quiet nights sleep instead. The atmosphere is great, there are lots of other travellers around and the staff are very friendly. Two of them also speak perfect English making it a lot easier for people like us who speak very little Spanish. We also had our laundry done and it arrived back within a few hours. Was brilliant! Without a doubt stay here when visiting Banos.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matilda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The hostal is more like a home stay with a large family. Victor and his wife ensure that your stay is comfortable and relaxing. There is a strict rule about no noise after 11pm so if your expecting a party hostal do not come here. If you want a safe, happy and relaxing place to recharge the batteries then go no further. The beds are comfortable; there is a good kitchen; and Victor and his wife are excellent hosts. I have stayed here twice and I have enjoyed the experience immensely.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had such a good experience here! I was staying with 5 other girls and we felt completely safe the whole time. The owner is fantastic and friendly, and his daughter spends excellent English. They are around all the time, and gave us very honest advice for things to do with very legitimate companies, even at a discount. It was extremely clean and the rooms were nicely decorated and large enough. We loved this place, definitely would go back 10/10 times if we return to Banos.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was by far one of the best hostels that I've ever stayed at. Victor is incredible helpful with regards to just about everything in Banos. The rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable, bathrooms are great. Everything you could ask for in a hostel and more! Keep it up Victor and co!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at the Princesa Maria! The rooms are beautiful, the owner (Victor) is so friendly and lovely, and we met so many wonderful people during our stay. The hostel has a very friendly and warm atmosphere, and it's really easy to just hang out with the other guests. Victor gives all guests a map when they arrive and points out where things are around town, very helpful! Would definitely stay here if we go to Banos again :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.0 mi away
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.0 mi away
La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Hostal D' Mathias
Hostal D' Mathias
#2 of 66 in Banos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Princesa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Princesa Maria

Property: Hostal Princesa Maria
Address: Rocafuerte and Mera (up the hill at the corner), Banos 010151, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Maria is a 3 floor building, with wooden floors, well equiped kitchen, large spacious rooms, hot water private bathroom and much more...The adress of our hostel is Rocafuerte y Mera (esquina)To find us you have to walk 3 blocks straight to the park and 3 blocks to the right following rocafuerte street Up The Hill, we are a blue building right on the upper corner of Rocafuerte street.If by any reason you cant manage to see where are we located you can call us and we will be ready to tell you an accurate description of our address.Princesa Maria is not a party hostal, we are a small and cozy business, we offer the basic services for you to enjoy your stay in Banos/Tungurahua, Nothing Luxurious, we just give you enough things to feel at home within an environment of respect and happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Princesa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Princesa Maria Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing