We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and amazing management”
Review of Hostal Timara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Timara
Ranked #19 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hostal timara is way nicer than most other affordable hostals we'vebeen to in ecuador. The garden's wind chimes and waterfall and hammacs make it the ultimate spot to relax. Also there is a rescued Tortuga and two parrots. The owner is very friendly and works non stop to keep the place impeccably clean. With the kitchen , free bottled water, WiFi and never ending hot water {we did learn though to turn the water pressure up to get the hot water } it is best value in Baños hands down

Room Tip: Splurge for the private bathroom. Rooms are really nice
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Karounosofsparta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Timara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect location near plaza but quiet. Great communal kitchen w much coveted blender. Wifi. Free water. Hot showers. Private bathroom. Attentive staff. All for $10 ($7 for shared bathroom), really what more could u want? :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raya d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I tried three hostels in Banos, and this was the best one I could wish for!
Prices are regular for here (10 USD for a single room, 7 for shared bathroom), but the manager of the hostel is a young man, who is very friendly, helpful and professional.
He even provides useful infos about the activities you can do in Banos.
You have a wide shared kitchen with basic objects to cook and a huge fridge, good wi-fi connection and a nice garden.
The things I liked the most here are 1the panorama: all rooms have a nice view to the montain and 2 the street is very quiet and in the morning there are no cars waking you up.
I can just recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: The wi-fi is at the first floor. If you need a very good wi fi connection you may require rooms at t...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fabrizio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

That last review sounded very harsh and personal.

I just wanted to say that we both had a great time during our 8 day stay.

Kitchen was well equipped and clean with free drinking water.

Rooms are spacious, quiet and bed is very comfy. Shower has really good pressure too.

They only clean room when you ask but they clean everything and are always freindly. Only slight critisism is that after about 8pm there is none around if you need anything so better to ask in the mornings.

Have two noisy parrots (only during the day but quiet at night) both are hilarious to listen to and also a rescued tortoise.

( if you stay and have spare bit of lettuce or cucumber feed her a little. I don't think she's been fed anything but banana her entire life and seems to live anything else )

Both Paul and Susanna are really nice and i would definitely come back here if I returned to banjos.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and really enjoyed it. They have two lovely parrots and a tortoise in the little courtyard which is pretty and regularly has a hummingbird visit to feed from the flowers. Good kitchen with large fridge and ample stuff to cook with. Clean, light room with tv, wifi (hit and miss) and sometimes a hot shower but not always. Not always someone around if you need anything, but overall a great quiet hostal that is good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wigster5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I've been here a couple times. It's got a great location but still very quiet at night. There's no TVs which is awesome. I've been to many cheap places in Ecuador and people like to just turn on TVs really loud and keep them on all night. The kitchen is fine and has fresh bottled water. We stayed in the $7 per night, shared bathroom. It's $10 for a private. We had hot water both times. They give you a towel, but bring your own soap. There's a tortoise named Laura, I think, that lives in a small garden. It's safe. The friendly owner told me he's been there for 45 years and hasn't had a problem with security. It has a nice view of the lush hillside. For this price, I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Baños.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuitoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

great place. impeccably clean. very friendly and helpful owner. hot showers. good kitchen with everything you would need to cook. nice atmosphere to relax in courtyard hammock. convenient but tucked away so not too loud.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriWynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
0.2 mi away
Hostal D' Mathias
Hostal D' Mathias
#2 of 71 in Banos
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Transilvania
Hostal Transilvania
#10 of 71 in Banos
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Timara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Timara

Address: Maldonado y Martinez, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Price Range: £10 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal timara are waiting for you with central ubication, where from the hotspring to discotecs are close, with touristic info about you can do, famliar ambient and comfortable rooms with bathroom private or shared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Timara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing