We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD BUT COULD BE BETTER” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Transilvania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Transilvania
Ranked #11 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GOOD BUT COULD BE BETTER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

the people was nice. the otavalo deecoration didn t make sense but is good for tourist to check ecuadorian handycrafts. the rooms were nice,small , clean enough, i didnt use the wifi so i don t know jaja. the best of this visit was going with the person i love.

Room Tip: third floor AMAZING view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndresGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    57
    22
    6
    11
See reviews for
6
53
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I spend 4 night in the hostel and liked a lot. Best place to tacke a tours. They works with companies that have good guies, and record of a least 5 years. The hostel has kitchen and nice garden, friendly people.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maximzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My boyfriend and I loved this place, we meant to only stay for one night but ended up staying almost a week (we're leaving tomorrow! haha!). Family run with a home from home atmosphere they're doing everything right. 3 breakfast choices (yoghurt, fruit & granola, eggs, or pancakes) comfy beds, clean rooms, hot showers, great internet, but the jewel in their crown is the people themselves, from the friendly, helpful staff, their hilarious, adorable children, and the people who stay there, we laughed, played, and came away with new friends. I didn't want to leave...

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 different rooms, the top floor had great views but we decided to stay on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 000Lauren000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

A beautiful little hostel in Banos that provides a great deal for your money - very good rooms, a delicious breakfast, very-well working computers & Wifi, hot water in the shower (!!!) and above all the best service in south America. Janet and Itay, the owners of the place, give a warming & loving feeling to all the travelers that stay there. They helped us book different attractions and hostels in other cities and gave more than 100% to help us organize and schedule a lot of things for our trip. They gave us great offers and prices and just made us feel that there is always someone that will be willing to help us. About the hostel itself: there´s a comfortable kitchen if you want to cook meals yourself, a restaurant of the hostel, a pool table, books for exchange and a very big variety of movies. The rooms were awesome with big & comfortable beds, a private bathroom and TV cables. My friend and I slept very well at night. We really appreciated their unbelievable effort and we recommend this hostel without any hesitation!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nimrod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The dorm rooms are ok, sometimes no hot water, but comfortable, big beds and internet with good connection in every floor.
Didn't use the kitchen, but ate breakfasts there and they were really good!
Pool table, movies, dogs, home like feeling... And the best feature is Janet and Itai who helped a lot with attractions, maps, information etc.
We had a room for 7.5$ with breakfast.
Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asaf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World Traveler
Level Contributor
209 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed at Transilvania Hostel three nights (Saturday - Monday nights). The staff is friendly and helpful. I paid just $8/night for a private room with a double bed which included an excellent breakfast, your choice of coffee/tea and either 1) eggs, 2)pancake and fruit, or 3) fruit, yogurt, granola. The breakfast alone is worth $3-4, so I figured I was paying $4/night for the room, a good thing because the room is not worth more than $4/night. Room #2 where I lodged had several significant shortcomings:

Room #2 is located just off the TV viewing area, a popular place for guests to congregate. Since my room door did not fit its frame well -- there are significant gaps between the door and the jamb on its bottom and sides -- all the noise from the TV, DVDs and those watching it or hanging out dumped into my room. It was very noisy. I have good wax earplugs which helped. But the noise went on past midnight on the weekends. (There was also a barking dog outside my door one evening; I think the dog belonged to the hostel.)

The room’s plumbing was bizarre. One day there was no cold water to the shower, so that the scalding hot water made it impossible to take a shower. At other times the pressure would kick up high or drop down to a trickle.

My room #2‘s double bed’s slats were too short and the bed’s frame warped. Twice I sat down on the edge of the bed near its middle (there is no chair in the room, just a small round table), and the bed collapsed: four slats popped out the first time, two slats the second time, and I had to tear the bed apart and put it back together again. (I am not heavy guy; the slats were cut too short.)

Finally, the WiFi sucked. It was entirely down for one 18-hour stretch one night and into the next day, a couple hours another day. When it was up, it sometimes ran fine, but more often than not no content would load, or page loads ran slow or often timed out. I found it impossible to upload photos to Facebook. Very frustrating.

But if you have good earplugs, don’t mind slow or non-existent WiFi, and don’t mind plumbing ‘with a personality’, Transilvania Hostel is a good deal for $8/night with its excellent ‘included’ breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal T, Owner at Hostal Transilvania, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
thank you for your review.

- at the time you stayed they cut the water out for a few hours, when the water comes back it comes back with air and high pressure, nothing weird about the plumbing.

- wifi usually works great, router needs a reset every once in a while like everywhere else.

- we instructed our employees to check and fix the bed you used if necessary.

- we close all common areas at midnight, in order to keep it quite during the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Targu Mures, Romania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at Hostal Transilvania for 5 nights, it was a very relaxed stay, great because we needed just that after all the adventures in Banos (rafting, canyioning, bridge jumping and so on). The staff is very friendly and helpful including with tours. It's true there are many Israelis but we didn't feel excluded at all, if you're open and friendly they will talk jn English with you, fitting in is not a problem. The breakfast was very good, you can choose between granola with yoghurt and a bug fruit salad, eggs with bread and butter or pancake with fruits and coffee. There was always hot water, good shower pressure, the room was quite big with a private bathroom and we had a TV with American channels in English! And we only payed 8 USD per person per night. Definately recommended! There are pets though, a dog and a cat, always around so if you din't like them, you shoukd know you can only escape them in your room :) 

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Erupcion
Hostel Erupcion
#3 of 42 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
0.2 mi away
Hostal D' Mathias
Hostal D' Mathias
#2 of 66 in Banos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Cruz Backpacker's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Transilvania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Transilvania

Property: Hostal Transilvania
Address: 16 de Diciembre y Oriente, Banos, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best value in Banos guaranteed, 3 good options for breakfast, internet service (3 computers and wi-fi), pool table, cable TV with English speaking channels, private bathroom, hot water 24 hours, more than 500 DVD movies, book exchange, cosy common areas, tourist information, BBQ area, balconies with good view to the waterfall and the mountains around banos, central location, luggage room, and more perks are all included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Transilvania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing