We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view - don't miss it.”
Review of Cafe del Cielo

Cafe del Cielo
Ranked #14 of 146 Restaurants in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$7
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe del Cielo is a unique attraction in Banos and surrounding areas. This enchanted spot offers 34 varieties of coffee and tea accompanied by delicious all-natural sandwiches, crepes and desserts. Enjoy the spectacular view of the Tungurahua volcano, the charming town of Banos and the Llanganates National Park, while sipping a coctail or a glass of hot spiced wine. Open to the public all year round. 13 a 21:30 Prices from $2 - 7 Capacity: 35 people / interior; Terrace: 15 personas.
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This place is not cheap and popular early in the evening. We made sure to arrive at 5:30 when it was still light. Nobody was there yet and we had the best view available. We stayed until it became dark and could also see Banos by night. by that time the place was pretty full and patrons were eying our choice table. The taxi ride is about 15 mins and $5-6 from the Centro.

Thank Efrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cafe del Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Your recommendations of how to get to Café del Cielo and the best time to go are always valuable for our new and returning visitors.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back to Luna Runtun soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Must try the banana/chocolate crepes!! To die for.
Breakfast was fantastic.
STUNNING views. I highly recommend this place.

Thank krispy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cafe del Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Café del Cielo in Baños.

It is wonderful to read that overall you had a very enjoyable breakfast and that you would recommend the banana crepe with chocolate ice-cream to others.

I hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I wouldn't make a special trip here, but if you're passing by anyway, you might as well stop in. I stopped on my way down from Casa de Arbol. The view of Banos is nice, it's easy to pick out landmarks, and the drinks aren't overpriced given the location.

Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cafe del Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thanks for your recommendation about the stop in Café del Cielo during the way down from Casa del Árbol.

The Runtun route (10km) have become a major tourist attraction in Baños and having a coffee while overlooking Baños is a postcard for landmarks.

I send you my warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We mostly stopped at the Cafe del Cielo for the breathtaking view of Baños. We ordered some coffee, which was good but nothing special. Worth the trip for the view alone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank palindrome16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cafe del Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your visit to Café del Cielo in Baños.

We appreciate your comments about the breathtaking view of Baños. Remember that our other services are open to the public too, such as the SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and the Shop located in the 8 living rooms in the reception.

I send you my best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Café del Cielo is an excellent place to end your day in Baños. It is a full 400m above the rest of the town and the view is simply spectacular. Come here around sunset to see the city light up and the occasional cloud waft in. The overall design of the place couldn't be better. Attention to detail is very professional. Tasteful furniture, art, statues and the huge window all create a lovely atmosphere. Food was delicious I think I tried some Quinoa and we didn't have to wait too long, just enough to witness sunset. One word of warning, some of the taxi drivers drive quite crazily up the road leading to the restaurant and a couple in my group were quite nervous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cafe del Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your visit to Café del Cielo.

We look forward to attend you in the future, SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and our new shop in the lobby with ecuadorian products such as clothes, chocolates and organic marmalades; are open to the public all year round.

And if you are looking for accommodation, now you can book online in our newly redesigned web page.
Welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe del Cielo also viewed

Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 

Been to Cafe del Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing