We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buena Vista!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe del Cielo

Cafe del Cielo
Ranked #13 of 133 Restaurants in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$7
Cuisines: Ecuadorean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe del Cielo is a unique attraction in Banos and surrounding areas. This enchanted spot offers 34 varieties of coffee and tea accompanied by delicious all-natural sandwiches, crepes and desserts. Enjoy the spectacular view of the Tungurahua volcano, the charming town of Banos and the Llanganates National Park, while sipping a coctail or a glass of hot spiced wine. Open to the public all year round. 13 a 21:30 Prices from $2 - 7 Capacity: 35 people / interior; Terrace: 15 personas.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Buena Vista!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The view here is one of the most breathtaking in all of Ecuador...a country that is loaded with beautiful views. Go at dusk and watch the lights in Banos below you come on while you drink the wonderful Vino Hervido!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank elconejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cafe del Cielo, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thanks for your visit to Café del Cielo.

It's great to hear that you've been impressed with the view so much and I hope that you'll be back again in the future. Your suggestion on the time to go is noted and appropriate for everybody reading your review, and I hope that you'll consider returning to stay in Luna Runtun the next time you're in Baños.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    104
    39
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a view - don't miss it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This place is not cheap and popular early in the evening. We made sure to arrive at 5:30 when it was still light. Nobody was there yet and we had the best view available. We stayed until it became dark and could also see Banos by night. by that time the place was pretty full and patrons were eying our choice table. The taxi ride is about 15 mins and $5-6 from the Centro.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Efrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cafe del Cielo, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Your recommendations of how to get to Café del Cielo and the best time to go are always valuable for our new and returning visitors.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back to Luna Runtun soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Must try the banana/chocolate crepes!! To die for.
Breakfast was fantastic.
STUNNING views. I highly recommend this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank krispy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cafe del Cielo, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Café del Cielo in Baños.

It is wonderful to read that overall you had a very enjoyable breakfast and that you would recommend the banana crepe with chocolate ice-cream to others.

I hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Touristy...but it's a tourist town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I wouldn't make a special trip here, but if you're passing by anyway, you might as well stop in. I stopped on my way down from Casa de Arbol. The view of Banos is nice, it's easy to pick out landmarks, and the drinks aren't overpriced given the location.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cafe del Cielo, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for your recommendation about the stop in Café del Cielo during the way down from Casa del Árbol.

The Runtun route (10km) have become a major tourist attraction in Baños and having a coffee while overlooking Baños is a postcard for landmarks.

I send you my warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We mostly stopped at the Cafe del Cielo for the breathtaking view of Baños. We ordered some coffee, which was good but nothing special. Worth the trip for the view alone!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palindrome16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cafe del Cielo, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your visit to Café del Cielo in Baños.

We appreciate your comments about the breathtaking view of Baños. Remember that our other services are open to the public too, such as the SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and the Shop located in the 8 living rooms in the reception.

I send you my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe del Cielo also viewed

Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 

Been to Cafe del Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing