We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to paradise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hosteria Pequeno Paraiso
Ranked #16 of 48 Banos B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back to paradise!”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

It's been 6 years since I last stayed at Pequeno Paraiso and I was super excited to get back to this stunning lodge and camp site. We stayed for three nights which gave us time to explore the two lovely waterfalls which are walking distance from the lodge and to raft the local river which was an exhilarating day out navigating Grade 5 rapids! Town is interesting for a wander and the bus ride is a stunning drive along the edge of the gorge at a cost of US$0.50 each way and took about 15-20 minutes. Sue and Marc looked after us so well and everyone we travelled with raved about the lodge and amazing barbeque. We are already looking forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OdysseyOverland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meaford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I recomend this hostel to anyone traveling through South America. The owners were amazing people and very accommodating. Myself and two friends camped in the yard of their hostel, but were still able to use everything they offered. Sue, one of the owners, gave us lots of options for hiking in the area and pointed us in the direction of an amazing Empanada lady, who we visited three times in our short stay. They also whipped up a great breakfast for us and from the smell of everyone else's dinner it seemed just as great. Whether you are looking for a place to meet amazing people or somewhere to relax and unwind for a couple of days this is the place. I highly recommend it to anyone in the Banos area!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

This has got to be the worst place to stay in the whole of South America. The most inhospitable and selfish hosts that you can ever meet. They made our stay a complete hell.

They have 2 dogs which jump up at you endlessly and are constantly running around, they will literally hound (no pun intended) and ruin your stay. They go into the pool and do what doggies do, and will even chase you down the main road.

Plus if that wasn´t worse enough, the place is riduculously far from town, It´s a 25 minute fast bus ride to town and then you have to get back again.

Do yourself a favour and give this nightmare from hell a wide berth and stay in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaysrock2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I brought my family in August to Paraiso. What a great find! It is perfect for families and is situated in a small paradise. Sue and Mark made us feel so welcome. They would discuss with us what we wanted for dinner, served a marvelous breakfast, and suggested many wonderful excursions. They truly tried to get a sense of what we really wanted and often offered ideas. There was beer and drinks for the taking using an honesty policy. We had been driving for a week, which can be difficult in Ecuador, and they made everything so welcoming for us. They are not looking for lots of roudy customers; it has a warm, accomodating feel.

John, Lisa, Soli, and Cali

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank personNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Sue and Mark have made Pequeno Paraiso one of the most friendly and comfortable places we have visited so far on our travels driving around South America.
Their knowledge of the area is superb. The setting is beautiful and whatever activity you wish to do can be arranged, from canyoning, going on waterfall trails or just chilling by the pool.
Highly recommended
For other overlanders there are electric hook ups, water, use of a kitchen, a rest area and a BBQ

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Excellent place for campers and camper vans. Tons of space for large groups so much so that you do not feel cramped and can have a little slice of paradise to relax in.

There are rooms available, a awesome common room with a kitchen and fire place. A great grill (BBQ) and HOT showers!

A huge thank you to Sue and Marc for their hospitality and expert advice on what to do in the area!

Room Tip: Perfect for overlanding groups,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LifeRemotely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2012

"Sustainable tourism is tourism attempting to make as low impact on the environment and local culture as possible, while helping to generate future employment for local people. The aim of sustainable tourism is to ensure that development brings a positive experience for local people, tourism companies and the tourists themselves." Sue and Marc have done an incredible job at this with Hosteria Pequeno Paraiso. I have not met anyone more passionate about the local environment, people or local culture than these two in all of my travels in South America. Not to mention, the beds are SOOOOOOO comfortable and Sue's cooking SOOOOOOO GOOD! (You must try her brownies!!) They know the town, restaurants, shops, spas, hikes, & expeditions better than anyone and have a passion for supporting the local businesses.
Whether you are in Banos to relax in the hot springs, local spas in town,(ask Sue for spa recomendations!! She will not steer you wrong. If you are there with someone special go for the couple's massage!) or for adventure, (Marc can take you on a canyoning expedition that will blow any other operator's out of the water!) this is the place to be!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.0 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.0 mi away
Samari Spa Resort
Samari Spa Resort
#2 of 27 in Banos
754 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#24 of 27 in Banos
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 27 in Banos
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal El Recreo
Hostal El Recreo
#9 of 48 in Banos
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Napolitano Apart & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Pequeno Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Pequeno Paraiso

Property: Hosteria Pequeno Paraiso
Address: Km 17 ruta de Banos a Puyo, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation is situated amongst beautiful gardens that teem with bird life and native flowering plants. We have a soft grass area for campers, parking for campervans, en-suite rooms with 24 hour hot water and a fully equipped kitchen and bar area. We are located 17km from Banos de Agua Santa going towards Puyo, between two major Ecuadorian waterfalls, that of Machay and Paillon del Diablo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing