We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastically Fresh Vegetarian/Vegan Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sativa Studio Cafe

Sativa Studio Cafe
Ranked #23 of 132 Restaurants in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Sativa Studio Cafe is a pottery studio and vegan cafe located in the heart of Banos city. Its a space where you can relax, enjoy a healthy and beautiful meal on handmade ceramic plates, drink organic homemade fruit wines, organic Ecuadorian coffee, or just hang out by the fireplace while sipping a hot cup of our organic herbal teas. The food is all vegan and delicious.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
“Fantastically Fresh Vegetarian/Vegan Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I ate here twice in my last two days in Baños and it was an amazing experience. I came here to relax, journal and draw in the laid-back atmosphere and enjoy some vegetarian food of the highest quality ingredients. I was delighted to have both the veggie burger and tamales over the two days and the salads were some of the freshest and tastiest I've ever had. The ingredients were picked immediately before placed on the plate! I tasted the care and love put into each dish! The Kombucha, Herbal Elixers, and Melomels were all amazing fermented, probiotic drinks that were exactly what I was missing from home. If you want to eat somewhere that is truly looking to care for our planet, and being mindful about our food and the healing power of good ingredients, than you should definitely come here! The owners are beautiful people and the Sativa Studio Cafe is the place to eat and relax in Baños!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnDRUID-ona-QUEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    16
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best and only true vegetarian/vegan restaurant in Banos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed in Banos for a week and were lucky to stumble upon this place after four days of eating at restaurants which had "vegetarian options available". Everything served at Sativa Studio Cafe is 100% vegetarian and it is fantastic. They only have 3 food items on the menu and the veggie burger goes quick so be sure to get there early! We ate here twice and enjoyed all three items immensely, the patacones being my favourite. Aside from the food they have delicious drinks including home made fruit wines. The ambience is great and the whole look and feel of the restaurant is incredible. The owners are wonderful, speak English perfectly and were outgoing in their hospitality. I would recommend this place to everyone, vegetarian or not. Forget the others and their trappings of Babylon.
Long live Sativa Studio Cafe!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spencerheney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing veggie tamales, the BEST salads, and the BEST coffee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

First we were attracted to the veggie burger, but seeing as how they are an obvious favorite and they had just sold the last of the fresh made veggie burgers, we opted for the next option, tamales. What a sweet surprise! The salad was fresh from the garden and one of the best salads I've ever had... by far the best I've had in all of Ecuador. We finished up with a 7 spices coffee that was very full of flavor and a nice change from the same old same. The service was very open and friendly (that other negative review guy is obviously an idiot) and we fully appreciated the recycled furniture, clay fireplace and plates, and obvious dedication to the planet! A passer-by tried to order a coffee to go and the owner kindly explained he doesn't support the sale of anything plastic, AWESOME!!! Anyone who cares about the Earth and wants a delicious, healthy, and totally affordable meal MUST go here. Gracias amigo! We will be back again!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JungleCoati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
263 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The organic salad bumps up the rating to very good...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Was here for lunch.. very very limited menu for food.. just vegetarian hamburger with salad or fries... the vegetarian patty was burnt!! everything else was great.. the toppings, the dressing and the accompanying salad was really delicious.. I wish I had ordered ONLY the salad...service a little slow...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travel2findoneself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roznava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cozy place with great healthy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We visited this place during Christmas time and it was definitely worth it. The place is peaceful, owned by a lovely couple who will be happy to chat with you about healthy foods, herbs and the life.
All the place is made of recycled materials and looks lovely.
It is a great place to rest and enjoy a nice cup of organic coffee and fresh healthy dishes. We had tamales,which were very tasty and freshly prepared.
If you care about what you eat and want the best for your body, Sativa is the place to go!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LifeAtractsLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sativa Studio Cafe also viewed

Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 

Been to Sativa Studio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing