We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”
Review of Sangay Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sangay Spa Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

So we booked to stay in the "Colonial" section of the Hotel, some people have complained about that section, and I understand, but it is the cheapest part and gives you access to the great location, pool, and spa. When we got there our room smelled musty and so we went and asked the front desk. The lovely woman at the desk was very helpful and not only said she would get on the problem but also got the manager to give us a free upgrade to the cabins. The cabins were lovely and our view of the waterfall was wonderful. The service was impeccable and they will make sure their guests are happy and are very helpful with any issue.

Room Tip: Colonial is old. It is cheap, but it is old, just know what you are buying before you buy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    56
    48
    17
    11
See reviews for
77
58
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Spent night here during unexpected side trip to Banos.

We stayed in the private "cabins" in the back. Room was smalla, abut fine. TV had international channels. Bed was semi-comfy. Shower was good. But felt a bit all a tad old and worn, plus room had the lingering smell of cigarettes - something rarely find in hotels these days.

Breakfast was good and more than adequate.

The rate felt a bit high though overall for the accomodations. This place is right across from Banos waterfalls and swimming area. It was quiet while we there, but seemed most trafficked by local families.

BAnos overall was fine if you were a 22 year old hippie backpacker. But we're past that point in our lives and the thought of high jumps and canyoneering with dreadlocked guides in a developing country not our cup of tea. Our day was nothing more than wandering around the town hoping for nice galleries or artensias - none to be had. All gift shops catered to nothing more than 22 year old poor backpackers from Europe, etc....

The basicila was a true highlight if one was to be had in the town. Otherwise, would recommend skipping this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sambieni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Most critics are accurate. Rooms small damp and cold. Carpet are badly fitted dirty with holes and need replacing, bathroom ridiculously small and separated from the bedroom by a plank of wood that does not reach the ceiling. Flies in the bedroom and restaurant lots of them. Spa staff are rude. Saying all this breakfast buffet was nice except the coffee which is awful everywhere. It is a bare able hotel but after we stayed in luna runtun which is a great standard it fell way below our expectations

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fedezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

this hotel is in the average, we were staying in the new building... no big deal, the sheets smelled to strong chlorine, the light in the bathroom was broken (like blinking) i have no opinion about the staff because we just saw them in the check in/out, nothing excepcional. i am sure Banos have better hotels than this. the good thing is walking distance to the downtown, cathedral and restaurants

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0renaMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

The best thing in Sangay spa hotel is its closeness to the hot springs next to the hotel, we woke up early and just crossed the road and we were there, in the hot water.
The room was clean and breakfast was quite good.
In comparison to other hotel in that area it's a wonderful hotel and I would go there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arikb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

A little over priced for the town, especially as it was a little run down. There was also dogs barking in the street most of the night, which was really irritating and really ruined my night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esray Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, WI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The Sangay Hotel and Spa was a perfect two-night getaway from the hustle and bustle of Quito. We felt like we were a world away, and couldn't have asked for a better location. We were 50 feet across from the waterfall and thermal baths, which we took advantage of both days. My three kids loved the pool, and my wife and I had the most decadent massage ever (one-hour massage only $30!) Our room faced the thermal baths, so it was a great view, and we also hung out on the second floor terrace next door. The rooms were nothing special - they actually reminded me of a musty cabin in northwoods Wisconsin, and the beds weren't that comfortable. But what it lacked in comfort, the Sangay made up for in ambience, setting, and a fantastic breakfast buffet (included in the room rate). We live 3,100 miles away, but when we make it back to Ecuador, we'll book another stay at the Sangay, and hopefully the same room. Oh, and a massage, too (numerous after-benefits, let me tell you!)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the thermal baths across the street are noisier, but it's a beautiful setting and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.9 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.4 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#16 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sangay Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangay Spa Hotel

Property: Sangay Spa Hotel
Address: Plaza Isidro Ayora 100 | across the street from the Virgin Waterfall, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sangay Spa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sangay Spa Hotel in 'Banos' Tungurahua Ecuador, British run family hotel, a thermal bath destination which offers peace and quiet during week days. It faces the waterfall which can be admired from its balcony rooms, some with baths. We offer two Restaurants; Rumi Wuasi with Ecuadorian food and Chozon Bar & Grill with BBQ, Pizzas and good Mojitos. Ayurvedic Therapies from India and Massages facilities are our specialty. Nursery area for children and Tours & Activities are organized. Member of Cialcotel Hotel Chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sangay Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sangay Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing