We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostal Nomada is great”
Review of Hostal Nomada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Nomada
Ranked #5 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hostal Nomada is very close to the bus station, so there is no need to walk far upon arrival. Just a few blocks from the main squares as well. Hot water, good wifi, very clean, very well equipped kitchen, and (pretty) comfortable beds. Friendly staff, quiet, and a computer to use if you need it. At just $6 for the dorm (with only 5 beds in my room and a private bath), it is a very good deal for Ecuador. One of the better places I've been in during my 7 month trip!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Nomada
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This a lovely new hostel, I stayed 1 week. Very cheap dorm room for $6.
Wifi was perfect, hot water all day. They clean the dorm and your bed sheets everyday.
Fully equipped kitchen free to use.

Absolutely nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shobi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

amazing! we spent 5 days here and we loved the place: clean room, a good shower, hot water and super friendly and helpful staff! This was the best place I stayed in more than 9 months of traveling. Very good value for money: highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank davide_2982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A private here is $7 pp per night and a dorm is $6. You can't go wrong really. The hostel is clean, the rooms are pretty good and the kitchen is very well equipped.

It was a really close walk to the bus terminal and also maybe 2 blocks from a super market and the fruit and veg market.
If I were to visit Baños again, I would most probably stay at Nomada.

Room Tip: If you can stay on level 2, it gets a bit noisy if people are having drinks down stairs in the kitch...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank perthlisa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were originally going to stay over the road at a different hostel but it was so busy we decided to find something different. I'm glad we did.
Nomada is a cute little hostel super close to the bus terminal, and maybe 2 blocks from the markets and super market. The kitchen is very well equipped which made it an incentive to cook every day.
The señora who was there was also a very patient (with our not so great Spanish) and lovely lady. If we were to return to Baños I'd probably stay here again. The rooms were comfy enough and the showers were hot most of the time.

Room Tip: Maybe try stay on the second level, where it isn't so loud if there are people having drinks in...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My friends and I are backpcking south america, we went into a hostel across the street and they asked for 8$ per person. Luckily we decided to shop around, we went into nomada and were offered a room with 5 beds, television, and private bathroom for 6$ each per night. The hostel was clean and tidy, very close to the center of town ( 1 minute walk to shops, discoteca, karaoke, surpermarcado and restaurants. Also very close to the bus terminal! The kitchen was always clean and the family who runs the hostal were very friendly and inviting! For 6$ a night we have no complaints and can reccomend this hostel to other backpackers and tourists. Also we had double size beds! beats the usual single beds we are used to :D

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Banos with nowhere to go in the pouring rain and headed into the town to find a place to stay. Located one block from the bus terminal, we quickly found Nomada and inquired about vacancy. The owner was friendly and there was a private double available for just $7 a night. The room is clean and the owners friendly, with laundry service provided. They were flexible with our hours and length of stay, and the room was great. Banos is small so any location is probably good, but there was a bit of noise early in the mornings which kept us up. I think you will be hard pressed to find a better value in Banos. We would 100% stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tighe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#24 of 27 in Banos
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal D' Mathias
Hostal D' Mathias
#2 of 71 in Banos
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.4 mi away
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Nomada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Nomada

Address: Espejo and Maldonado, Banos 2381, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Price Range: £15 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is a welcoming place with a family atmosphere is located one block from the bus terminal and two blocks from the main street. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, all have private bathrooms and hot water 24 hours, the kitchen is well equipped and wifi throughout the hostel, we give information about activities to do in Banos, attention is staff for their owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Nomada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing