We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Accomodating and Convienent with character”
Review of Hostal D' Mathias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal D' Mathias
Ranked #2 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap, Accomodating and Convienent with character”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

This fine, new hostel is very affordable (we had a private room). Spotless, with good facilities. WiFi, a computer, DVDs, patio and a. Great communal kitchen. The top floor (which is way up there) has nice views and a games area. The only possible criticism was that it was quiet, but the guests were social and the staff were nice.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    27
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
70
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

we stayed 2 night in a double room with private bathroom.

+ very clean and comfortable room with hot water and good pressure
+ friendly and helpful staff (e.g. they checked the current train information for us)
+ clean and excellent equipped kitchen (free coffee, tea, chocolate, spicies, water, popcorn machine)
+ free and reliable wifi at all places
+ cable tv in the room
+ made our room and provided fresh towels daily
+ well situated (1' walk to bus terminal, 2' to plaza central)
+ good laundry service

what could be improved in our view:
- nothing comes to our mind - keep this high level of service!

our conclusion: highly recommended, best value for money - we would for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisscouple1983-rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Me and my friends stayed here for a week in August and loved it. The rooms are spotless clean and modern and WIFI worked well. We was on the top floor by the Pool Table and even though guests used it, the 9:30pm curfew on it was always enforced. We had a couple of maintenance issues but they were resolved straight away. For $10 a night with free coffee and tea we would definitely recommend this hostel especially with its location near the coach station bonus.
PS. We booked horse riding with the hostel as they run an agency and it was such fun despite the rain

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitnessbec76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Clean, comfortable and cheap. My traveling company and I got a private room with a private bath for 14 bucks. It has a small balcony, clean sheets and towels, wifi throughout a beautiful rooftop terrace with a pool table. We haven't used the kitchen but it looks very nice. They provide free coffee, tea, h2o, and popcorn. The lady who checked us in, gave us a map, answered all our questions, gave us advice of what to do and see and was very sweet. They also have an inexpensive laundry service that we also took advantage of.
Banos is small so everything is nearby, no matter what hostel you choose you will be close to everything. D'Mathias is very near to the bus station, we literally stumbled upon it, liked it and reserved our room. And although in some places being close to the bus station is not a great thing in Banos it's a-ok. After having climbed Cotopaxi it was nice to just have a short walk with the backpack from the bus station to the hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This place is great, especially for the price. It is new and quite modern. The kitchen is very well equipped and they provide free tea, coffee, water and popcorn! There is good wifi throughout the hostel as well. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secretsquirreler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Excellent Location and service.
We visited Banos for 4 days this past May. This Hostel is exceptionally clean. Located right in the heart of Banos. Yet quiet at night.
The family that owns it also has a tour company located a few blocks away and they can arrange any tour you might be interested in. They were very helpful at ALL hours.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_Klic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banos, Ecuador
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I do not have much to add to all the other reviews of this hostal. New, clean, great kitchen, private and double rooms ensuite for dorm prices. Simply the best value for money of all the places I stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorNiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
366 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#24 of 28 in Banos
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.4 mi away
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
0.1 mi away
Hostel Erupcion
Hostel Erupcion
#3 of 45 in Banos
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal D' Mathias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal D' Mathias

Property: Hostal D' Mathias
Address: Espejo y Maldonado, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D'Mathias is ideal for families and travelers on Ecuador. Dmathias is not just a hostel, we are people dedicated to providing the best service in Banos. You will feel at home . We offer services such as : Communal Kitchen ( coffee, tea, chocolate powder, sugar, salt, water, free ) Laundry ( extra service) lockers Hot water 24 Hs . Internet - WI-FI Many movies Terrace and pool table, garden Books Area recreation We promote a friendly environment , safety and comfort. Ideal to be with friends or family. We wait for you! Hostal D'Mathias . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal D' Mathias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing