We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hostel, hotel quality rooms.”
Review of Hostal D' Mathias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal D' Mathias
Ranked #2 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

This was the best set up hostal we have come across in 9 months in South America, and certainly the best value at $7 ea per night for a double room with private bathroom. The room had a comfortable bed and pillows, a great hot powerful shower and to our surprise a flat screen TV with cable. Everything was immaculately clean and shiny new. There was the best equipped kitchen I have seen with free coffee, teas, water filter, hot chocolate and even popcorn. The facilities were excellent and he staff super friendly and helpful with every interaction.
On another note... related to the very negative review i just read before this one. It just so happens that we were in Latacunga staying in a hostal the 23rd October. We overheard (it was a hostal where you could hear your neighbour breath) everything from a guy who went looking for his money in his pack. He couldn't find it and searched for a while getting cross suddenly realizing it was definitely missing. He kept saying how angry he was with himself. He had clearly only just discovered that the money was missing and then we heard him calling a hostal or somewhere he had been staying previously. It seems more than a coincidence and very likely this was the guy who left the bad review. All I can say is that if that is the case he discovered the loss in Latacunga when all sorts of people could have handled his bag on buses etc. In any case I think you shouldn't leave large amounts of money in an unlocked bag anywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aunty_minxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed in a triple room for 2 nights. There was a double bed and a set of bunk beds. The room was a bit cold and directly under the pool table on the roof so there was a bit of noise, but not at night. The beds were comfortable and there were nice thick blankets on the bed. Only reason I dropped a star is because our room stunk of sewage and we had problems settling our bill when we checked out, as the lady who was left there spoke no English at all and thought we'd been there 3 nights instead of 2. Free tea and coffee was a nice treat and it's within walking distance of good cafes and thermal baths.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nixxypies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at D'Mathias for a total of 10 days and absolutely loved it. The place is in pristine condition, and our double room on the fifth floor was super cozy with a wonderful bathroom and hot shower for only $7 a night per person!
The amenities available to you here are outstanding: free tea, free coffee, free hot chocolate, free popcorn, and lots of spices; board games, movies, wifi, and a pool table on the fifth floor as well as a station to handwash your own clothes on the roof.
The family who runs the place are all very friendly and helpful. For instance, we took a three-day trip to Cuenca and they let us store our large suitcases here until we returned free of charge!

I would recommend the D'Mathias to anyone traveling to Banos.

Room Tip: If your traveling with your partner, I'd highly recommend the top floor: rooms 9, 10, and 11 (Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hostel is spotless, well stocked with great kitchenware, free coffee, tea, hot chocolate and popcorn and a set of friendly staff ready to help at any time. There is also a games area, a nice roof area where you can do cleaning/drying of clothes and a DVD collection you could use.
There was always someone cleaning, which made the private and communal areas a pleasure to be in,
I wish all hostels could be this good - centrally located, comfortable, welcoming, accommodating and a great price too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

This fine, new hostel is very affordable (we had a private room). Spotless, with good facilities. WiFi, a computer, DVDs, patio and a. Great communal kitchen. The top floor (which is way up there) has nice views and a games area. The only possible criticism was that it was quiet, but the guests were social and the staff were nice.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

we stayed 2 night in a double room with private bathroom.

+ very clean and comfortable room with hot water and good pressure
+ friendly and helpful staff (e.g. they checked the current train information for us)
+ clean and excellent equipped kitchen (free coffee, tea, chocolate, spicies, water, popcorn machine)
+ free and reliable wifi at all places
+ cable tv in the room
+ made our room and provided fresh towels daily
+ well situated (1' walk to bus terminal, 2' to plaza central)
+ good laundry service

what could be improved in our view:
- nothing comes to our mind - keep this high level of service!

our conclusion: highly recommended, best value for money - we would for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisscouple1983-rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Me and my friends stayed here for a week in August and loved it. The rooms are spotless clean and modern and WIFI worked well. We was on the top floor by the Pool Table and even though guests used it, the 9:30pm curfew on it was always enforced. We had a couple of maintenance issues but they were resolved straight away. For $10 a night with free coffee and tea we would definitely recommend this hostel especially with its location near the coach station bonus.
PS. We booked horse riding with the hostel as they run an agency and it was such fun despite the rain

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitnessbec76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
382 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#20 of 27 in Banos
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hostal Princesa Maria
0.4 mi away
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
0 mi away
Hostal Nomada
Hostal Nomada
#5 of 76 in Banos
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal D' Mathias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal D' Mathias

Address: Espejo y Maldonado, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Price Range: £16 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D'Mathias is ideal for families and travelers on Ecuador. Dmathias is not just a hostel, we are people dedicated to providing the best service in Banos. You will feel at home . We offer services such as : Communal Kitchen ( coffee, tea, chocolate powder, sugar, salt, water, free ) Laundry ( extra service) lockers Hot water 24 Hs . Internet - WI-FI Many movies Terrace and pool table, garden Books Area recreation We promote a friendly environment , safety and comfort. Ideal to be with friends or family. We wait for you! Hostal D'Mathias . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostal D' Mathias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing