We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal D' Mathias
Nearby Hotels
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Flor de Oriente(Banos)(Great Value!)
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
172
31
2
0
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
31
2
0
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorpool tablethe busthe kitchenprivate roomset upstayed here for nightsthe ownercheap pricefresh towelsfiltered waterbook toursrooms are greatcleaned dailya great place to stayfelt like homefew minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We spent 3 nights here and loved it. The family that run it are super friendly and their baby is super cute. Very clean rooms. We were on top floor and had great views up to the mountains. Free tea, coffee and hot chocolate was a great bonus. They have their own travel company as well but they never pushed us to do anything - they seem to leave guests to approach them if they like which is the way to do it. Good wifi and worked well even in the rooms (we were on 5th floor). Located right in the middle of town - this place ticks all the boxes for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I wish more hostels were like this one. First of all I would like to show lot of respect to the family who runs this place. They are doing brilliant job.
The hostel has awesome vibe, great location, super clean, hot water, the kitchen is fully equipped (you can even bake cakes), wifi in the whole building, two PC in the common area, great TV section with comfy sofa, outside patio to enjoy your food and most of all very kind and helpful owner.
We really liked the colourful interior and amazing kitchen.
Absolutely recommended to everyone.
Many thanks for everything and for the great job you are doing. Many hostellers should come and learn from you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeAtractsLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

This was the best set up hostal we have come across in 9 months in South America, and certainly the best value at $7 ea per night for a double room with private bathroom. The room had a comfortable bed and pillows, a great hot powerful shower and to our surprise a flat screen TV with cable. Everything was immaculately clean and shiny new. There was the best equipped kitchen I have seen with free coffee, teas, water filter, hot chocolate and even popcorn. The facilities were excellent and he staff super friendly and helpful with every interaction.
On another note... related to the very negative review i just read before this one. It just so happens that we were in Latacunga staying in a hostal the 23rd October. We overheard (it was a hostal where you could hear your neighbour breath) everything from a guy who went looking for his money in his pack. He couldn't find it and searched for a while getting cross suddenly realizing it was definitely missing. He kept saying how angry he was with himself. He had clearly only just discovered that the money was missing and then we heard him calling a hostal or somewhere he had been staying previously. It seems more than a coincidence and very likely this was the guy who left the bad review. All I can say is that if that is the case he discovered the loss in Latacunga when all sorts of people could have handled his bag on buses etc. In any case I think you shouldn't leave large amounts of money in an unlocked bag anywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aunty_minxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed in a triple room for 2 nights. There was a double bed and a set of bunk beds. The room was a bit cold and directly under the pool table on the roof so there was a bit of noise, but not at night. The beds were comfortable and there were nice thick blankets on the bed. Only reason I dropped a star is because our room stunk of sewage and we had problems settling our bill when we checked out, as the lady who was left there spoke no English at all and thought we'd been there 3 nights instead of 2. Free tea and coffee was a nice treat and it's within walking distance of good cafes and thermal baths.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nixxypies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at D'Mathias for a total of 10 days and absolutely loved it. The place is in pristine condition, and our double room on the fifth floor was super cozy with a wonderful bathroom and hot shower for only $7 a night per person!
The amenities available to you here are outstanding: free tea, free coffee, free hot chocolate, free popcorn, and lots of spices; board games, movies, wifi, and a pool table on the fifth floor as well as a station to handwash your own clothes on the roof.
The family who runs the place are all very friendly and helpful. For instance, we took a three-day trip to Cuenca and they let us store our large suitcases here until we returned free of charge!

I would recommend the D'Mathias to anyone traveling to Banos.

Room Tip: If your traveling with your partner, I'd highly recommend the top floor: rooms 9, 10, and 11 (Room 11 has an extra window in the room!). They are nice and quiet with a beautiful, covered balcony and pool table adjacent to them.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews