We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights in Hostal d' Mathias”
Review of Hostal D' Mathias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal D' Mathias
Ranked #2 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
New Holland, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“2 nights in Hostal d' Mathias”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Didn't speak much english, but the place was awesome. Clean rooms, clean shower to each room, complimentary tea and popcorn, and great price. Sweet balcony and roof top with pool table and view of Banos. TV with complimentary Movies. I dont have a lot of experience with Hostals but I certainly was happy with my experience in this one and when I return to ecuador this year I plan to stay in this one again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mattm_nvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    27
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
72
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My favourite hostel in Ecuador so far. It literally feels like home, it is decorated so nicely and the kitchen and social areas are great (roof terrace very cool). Staff are especially helpful and bargain activities and
tours can be booked easily. The rooms are great, nice comfy beds and big private bathrooms with hot water always. Ended up staying here for 4 nights and absolutely loved it. Plus for the price you can't go wrong.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

we found the room in this hostal after going all over Banos, and it is definitely the best accommodation you can find for 7$ a night, probably for even more. its not in the center, which is a plus, and it only takes 2 minutes to get there, if you want. in the hotel you have everything you need, even more - bricks in the cosy rooms, clean bathrooms with hot water, wi-fi on every floor, pool table, amazing kitchen, clean towels every day, great hosts, etc.

would recommend this to everyone passing by this cute little town. we passed twice.

Room Tip: the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomislav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We spent 3 nights here and loved it. The family that run it are super friendly and their baby is super cute. Very clean rooms. We were on top floor and had great views up to the mountains. Free tea, coffee and hot chocolate was a great bonus. They have their own travel company as well but they never pushed us to do anything - they seem to leave guests to approach them if they like which is the way to do it. Good wifi and worked well even in the rooms (we were on 5th floor). Located right in the middle of town - this place ticks all the boxes for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roznava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I wish more hostels were like this one. First of all I would like to show lot of respect to the family who runs this place. They are doing brilliant job.
The hostel has awesome vibe, great location, super clean, hot water, the kitchen is fully equipped (you can even bake cakes), wifi in the whole building, two PC in the common area, great TV section with comfy sofa, outside patio to enjoy your food and most of all very kind and helpful owner.
We really liked the colourful interior and amazing kitchen.
Absolutely recommended to everyone.
Many thanks for everything and for the great job you are doing. Many hostellers should come and learn from you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeAtractsLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

This was the best set up hostal we have come across in 9 months in South America, and certainly the best value at $7 ea per night for a double room with private bathroom. The room had a comfortable bed and pillows, a great hot powerful shower and to our surprise a flat screen TV with cable. Everything was immaculately clean and shiny new. There was the best equipped kitchen I have seen with free coffee, teas, water filter, hot chocolate and even popcorn. The facilities were excellent and he staff super friendly and helpful with every interaction.
On another note... related to the very negative review i just read before this one. It just so happens that we were in Latacunga staying in a hostal the 23rd October. We overheard (it was a hostal where you could hear your neighbour breath) everything from a guy who went looking for his money in his pack. He couldn't find it and searched for a while getting cross suddenly realizing it was definitely missing. He kept saying how angry he was with himself. He had clearly only just discovered that the money was missing and then we heard him calling a hostal or somewhere he had been staying previously. It seems more than a coincidence and very likely this was the guy who left the bad review. All I can say is that if that is the case he discovered the loss in Latacunga when all sorts of people could have handled his bag on buses etc. In any case I think you shouldn't leave large amounts of money in an unlocked bag anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aunty_minxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed in a triple room for 2 nights. There was a double bed and a set of bunk beds. The room was a bit cold and directly under the pool table on the roof so there was a bit of noise, but not at night. The beds were comfortable and there were nice thick blankets on the bed. Only reason I dropped a star is because our room stunk of sewage and we had problems settling our bill when we checked out, as the lady who was left there spoke no English at all and thought we'd been there 3 nights instead of 2. Free tea and coffee was a nice treat and it's within walking distance of good cafes and thermal baths.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixxypies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
371 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
0.3 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.1 mi away
Hostel Erupcion
Hostel Erupcion
#2 of 48 in Banos
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal D' Mathias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal D' Mathias

Property: Hostal D' Mathias
Address: Espejo y Maldonado, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D'Mathias is ideal for families and travelers on Ecuador. Dmathias is not just a hostel, we are people dedicated to providing the best service in Banos. You will feel at home . We offer services such as : Communal Kitchen ( coffee, tea, chocolate powder, sugar, salt, water, free ) Laundry ( extra service) lockers Hot water 24 Hs . Internet - WI-FI Many movies Terrace and pool table, garden Books Area recreation We promote a friendly environment , safety and comfort. Ideal to be with friends or family. We wait for you! Hostal D'Mathias . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal D' Mathias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing