We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the money. ”
Review of Hostal D' Mathias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal D' Mathias
Ranked #2 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well worth the money. ”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Clean. Hot water and great service. At 7$ a person you can't go wrong. We had a family of 5. Very close to the terminal the only reason I didn't give them 5 stars is because the wifi was horrible. But in no way shape or form is that going to stop us from returning. There is a reason there is no bad reviews.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank flochis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    27
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
69
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banos, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a great hostel!! Colourful and cosy rooms, nice livingroom with tv, complete (!!) and big kitchen with 7 fires, all the cocking equipment you need, a fridge, seperate diner room,... they even have games to play, dvds you can watch and 2 computers to use, all without charge!! Always people around in hostel to hang out with. The hostel owners are really nice and helpful, have their own tour/adventure office for rafting etc. Youcan stay at this lovely place in dorms for only 6USdollars. Really enjoying my time here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JolienPas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I am a backpacker, 37yrs old, travelling with partner, 30+ countries visited.

ROOM: for $7 pp (14pn) we got nice, cozy, clean, decent size private room with 2 bank beds and 1 queen (the last available) with bathroom. Bathroom is tiny (you cannot reach toilet when the door is open) but nice and clean. There is TV in the room with plenty of channels including English movies which I did not expect for the price. Wi- fi overall is very slow. Shower in the evening is great, hot water and good pressure, unfortunately it's not the case in the morning. Also the walls and windows are very thin, and you can hear people on the corridor, and drunk tourists at night.

FACILITIES & SERVICE: The staff is very kind and helpful, at arrival I was provided with local map ; there is a common area with TV, dvds, games and 2 PCs. Kitchen is relatively small for the number of guests (often crowded), but very well managed, ie tea, coffe, dishes, pots, cutlery, salt, suger available, fridge, place for storage, cleaned frequently.Also smoking area, top roof terrace; loundry for $1 per kg.

LOCATION: its 2 mins from bus station, and basically 5 mins to bars, restaurants, supermarket, Central Market for local $2.5 meals. Banos is quite small town with hotels and hostels everywhere, next to each other.
It's 2 hrs drive from Latacunga, Riobamba, 1 hr to Ambato.

OVERALL: I got better quality room than expected so I score 4.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank frogANDpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

No problems at all with this place - unlimited towels, very safe. We stayed in a private room with private bath and it was very cheap for what we got. First hostel we stayed in with a tv in the room and a balcony. Wifi was pretty good even in the rooms. Hot water in showers.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burban91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunajska Streda, Slovakia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hostel is just perfect! The owner and the stuff are very nice. Lot of young travellers, clean, perfect location, they provide towels, soups, tee, caffe, chocolate, kitchen, computer, all this for 6 $ a night! I love it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodandfitnesstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Really a great hostel! Clean, friendly and comfortable.Five stars for sure.
I stayed in the dorm room (6 bucks a night) had a good quality comfortable bed and was very clean, like nice hotel clean.

The hostel has a full sized kitchen with free tea and coffee and everything you need to make whatever, which can be bought at the grocery store thats close by.

Theres

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rufmcgruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed three nights in this hostel and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is situated very centrally in Banos and right next to the bus station (no taxi required).

The room and bathroom were immaculate and well sized. The shower has hot water and the bed was very comfortable. Our room was on the top floor with a nice terrace (plus pool table) outside and a good view. At night it was nice and quiet.

The kitchen is well equipped, the wi-fi works everywhere and the staff are extremely helpful.

The hostel can help with activities and bike rentals as well.

The best part is that all this comes at an extremely good price. The value is amazing. We wouldn't hesitate to come back here.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are situated on a nice terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twohermitcrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#24 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#5 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Erupcion
Hostel Erupcion
#3 of 42 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal D' Mathias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal D' Mathias

Property: Hostal D' Mathias
Address: Espejo y Maldonado, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D'Mathias is ideal for families and travelers on Ecuador. Dmathias is not just a hostel, we are people dedicated to providing the best service in Banos. You will feel at home . We offer services such as : Communal Kitchen ( coffee, tea, chocolate powder, sugar, salt, water, free ) Laundry ( extra service) lockers Hot water 24 Hs . Internet - WI-FI Many movies Terrace and pool table, garden Books Area recreation We promote a friendly environment , safety and comfort. Ideal to be with friends or family. We wait for you! Hostal D'Mathias . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostal D' Mathias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing