We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA
Nearby Hotels
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Flor de Oriente(Banos)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Chimenea(Banos)(Great Value!)
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (769)
Filter reviews
769 results
Traveller rating
454
159
83
28
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
159
83
28
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsimperial suitehot poolsromantic suiteheated floorsoverlooking banosexquisite placeviews are breathtakingrestaurant staffcloud forestminute drivebreakfast and dinnerlarge bathroomgreat settinga bit overpricedlovely roomenjoy the viewcrepes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 769 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

was there several times ... this time with family + grand children .... this place is
definitively not for children as on a steep hill and quite dangerous for kids to play
outside .... the service was also medicocre ... one of the rooms we had was too
hot and it took several claims to get the problem fixed ... the dinner is now a
buffet and was nothing special (if you compare it to the relative high prices we paid)

Room Tip: try to get rooms with view to the town
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for your comments and for choosing Luna Runtun again as your hotel in Baños. It´s good to hear from you.

Baños has several activities for kids that our guests enjoy with them outdoors. Since the hotel is located in the flank of the mountain, I understand your concern about kids.
The problem with the new eco heated floor in your room was solved now. It has its temperature regulated. I apologize for the inconvenients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My husband and I have been here before, and they added a new area with a beautiful view of the city. Its a nice place to stay. The vistas are spectacular. And taking the side trip out to Puyo which is a must if you are in Banos. We will be back again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We chose this hotel because of the spa facilities, for me of course, and the location. After staying in hostels along the coast, I needed some pampering for a few days and boy did I get it. During the the cab ride to Luna Runtun, I knew immediately that I was on my way to a little bit of paradise. The 15 minute ride up a winding road into the clouds was my first introduction to this gem of a city and a hotel. When we arrived we were promptly greeted by someone who swooped up our luggage and escorted us to reception. Once there we were given an overview of the property and our room. We initially booked the romantic suite, which has a private balcony and jacuzzi tub. But because the hotel accidentally double booked this room, the following day we were upgraded to the yoga suite where we stayed another two nights. The yoga suite is located up the hill, with amazing mountain views, a private balcony with a jacuzzi. It was just the perfect room for us.

The spa was a delight. I booked a facial and a much needed pedicure. Both services were done simultaneously, which is different, but it worked out just fine. The facial was about 40 minutes and the pedicure was 45 minutes. The cost for both was $40 USD. Both women were gentle and took their time. If we had stayed longer I would have signed up for a massage.

One of the highlights of staying at Luna Runtun is that you have full access to all of their pools. There are three hot pools, one cold and one jacuzzi. All of the pools are situated overlooking the city and the views are amazing. You can sip a glass of wine while watching the clouds move over Baños, or on a clear day/evening watch the Tungurahua volcano spark. The pools are a truly relaxing experience, so enjoy them if you can.

The hotel also offers day tours and my husband and I took advantage of the Ruta de Cascasas tour. This tour was just beautiful. We were able to view several waterfalls that day, but the prize was visiting the Pailon del Diablo, Baños's largest and grand waterfall. You must walk across a suspension bridge and walk down a slippery slope of steps to view it's grandness and boy is it grand! The sound alone is breathtaking, words cannot describe how incredible it really is. So if you want to take advantage of the tours, I highly recommend this one. Our guide Rodrigo is not only a certified tour guide, he is also a naturalist and did an awesome job of pointing out and describing all of the flora and fauna during our walk.

As a guest you are provided with two meals, breakfast and dinner. Most meals are buffet style except for Friday night and Saturday mornings when they are plated. The food was just okay, and I say that because most buffets are only ok. The salads, fruits, fresh baked breads and jams are great, but when meat, fish and poultry sit in chafing dishes all night, it's not as good as it can be.

So, if you are looking for a romantic and private hotel where you can be pampered for a few days, with an option of some daily adventures (which are an added cost) then Luna Runtun is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed with children. Indeed a very beautifull spot, from our Imperial and Deluxe Suite the views are amazing. Loved the hot tubes as well and liked the spa. But ... Service. They advertise with Swiss Hotel Management, where are they except for the prices? People seem kind, bur when you ask for 'special request' they can't help you. Asked them to clean the chairs outside the restaurant after a rain shower, but non of the 5 waiters in the empty restaurant wanted to help! Also asked for two umbrella's, but they only had one per room and no other available! (Imperial Suite !!!). Later we got one extra, but these are only two examples. And one of the toilets didn't flush... Why don't they check before we enter? And where are the drinks in the refridgerator? Hope they will give this beautifull property the attention it deserves, maybe with other management?.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank BNIETRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for your comments. They help us to improve our standard of operation.

I apologize for the inconvenients. We have availables umbrellas in the front desk, all rooms, suites and public areas. Rooms division had a discoordination that day in your suite only putting 1, nevertheless, 1 extra umbrella was provided when you ask for it.
Drinks are available in the front desk and we also offer room service of them, specified in the information you received upon arrival.
Toilet problem was solved inmediatly when we read this comment.
The 20 years of prestigious swiss management works every day to satisfy all guests needs.
Thank you again for your time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a really cool place...it's not cheap, as many places are on trip advisor. The views and grounds however are just really cool. The only reason we went was on recommendation from the manager at budget car rental in Quito. Look this place up..hot water cool rooms. Nice people and meals are included. Hot pools, spa, adventure activities, art to look at and oh my gosh..THE VIEWS!!! Don't miss it in Banos.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews