We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muy bueno. Very good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

El sitio es precioso y con una vista incomparable! Las habitaciones son cómodas pero algo pequeñas. Lo realmente malo, es que la piscina es al ambiente, en un sitio evidentemente frío.
The place it's beautiful and with a great view! The rooms are comfortable but too small. Wich is really bad is that the pool is at an ambient temperature, in an obviously cold place.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new spacious and beautiful rooms and suites with size specifications.

3 pools and jacuzzi are heated to 37°C and the swimming pool to 25°C. Baños has an average of 18°C spring climate all year round.

We look forward to attend you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

we stayed one night in this hotel. Although it was very expensive we chose it because we wanted to make something of our day, instead of Banos simply being a stop-over.
In that we were not disappointed, the view from the hotel and from the bath are really awesome. You do pay for something.
Among all the staff, we felt the manager was really trying hard to make our stay confortable. We had a minor problem with the front desk when we checked in, and he immediately upgraded us to a superb suite. It was almost too much, but we surely appreciated it. Everytime we met him, he enquired about our stay, if everything was allrigt etc...
The problem is he was the only one being so nice... All the others were at best ignoring us, at worst treating us like children in the local swimming pool: one of them was particularly rude, never a smile, always watching us to make sure we followed the rule like wearing a bathing cap... When I was done with bathing and back in my room, he went in front of my window and made signs to check if I had given back the bathing cap! it was intrusive, rude. Given the price I was expecting to be treated kindly and respectfully, not like a child.
To sum up, the place is really special and if you pay a lot it is for something. It is sad that this great place and the hard work of the manager is to some extent ruined by the poor service the rest of the staff is offering.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ggetmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA in Baños, Ecuador.

I apologize for the inconvenients. We will take your comments into consideration.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the view and the suite upgrade.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites.

We look forward to attend you in the future, Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and our new shop in the lobby with ecuadorian products such as clothes, chocolates and organic marmalades; are open to the public all year round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

To start, I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone. The setting is absolutely stunning, and when you take into account all that is included in the price it seems like a really good deal. Its a fantastic place to go for romantic a weekend with your partner. The place was highly recommended by everyone whenever I told people I was going to Ecuador. I was impressed with attention to some detail while the lack of attention to other details. Our room smelled moldy which I realize is hard to combat in a wet climate. Our shower-head should have been replaced and not rusty. The food is fine for one night but the menu never changes and is pretty boring. The spa has great messages but I was surprised that they don't do more with the natural ingredients in Ecuador - our masseuse used Lubriderm lotion. Also the pools were non functional or dirty during our stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a view of Banos, the rooms on the edge of the hotel compound are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hbrown91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun.

I apologize for the inconvenients.

In effect, there is a big difference between the old and new rooms, you are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites with fireplaces and eco heated floors that have eliminated the humidity.

We will take your comments about the spa and the food into consideration.

Thanks for your time to write.

We look forward to attend you in the future, Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and our new shop in the lobby with ecuadorian products are open to the public all year round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Wonderful experience for couples! The Spa and service is superb. Highly recommended for couples who are seeking quality time and fun!
The view of Baños from most of the rooms is great, specially from cafe del Cielo.

Room Tip: Make sure to book the massage for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladimir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por su gentil comentario.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel is really ok but if you take into account the cost, the Service is bad.
The breackfast that cost 11 dollars is really bad. No bufet and really smal portio. Only one kind of cheese and the fruit portion are samal and on top of that you get only one Bread per person and if you want more you get toaSt. Besides that the Service is incredible slow. And the last day they could not offer us mermelade considering that they sell this in the reseption.....
And the Tours they offer are crazy expensive if you go to the village (getting down there cost 5 dollars with public transport) you finde the same offers for have of the price.

So in conclussion for that money amd les baños has better offers

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mixChavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your comments.

You are right, we do have organic marmalades to sell in the shop at the reception. Those are offered to the clients in the breakfast, we fired the waitress, we do not tolerate negligences in our 20 years of prestigious operation.

Regarding the tours in Baños, yes, you can buy tours for $10... different service. The security is extremely important in adventure activities. All our tours includes private transportation, english speaking guide (with license from the Ministery of Tourism in Ecuador) and lunch, the quality is by far different from a cheap tour in Baños where you can find 80 tour operators...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We've stayed in Luna Runtun five times, every time we visit Ecuador this is our little secret place to escape. The view of the City of Banos is beautiful. The service is outstanding and the food is delicious. The thermal pools are wonderful but it is not volcano water so be advised they are heated not natural thermal springs. Before stoping in Luna Runtun we enjoy visiting Quisapincha which is a town where you find leather jackets, shoes, handbags all for a great price. I got a beautiful leather coat for $40.00 now you can't beat that. The Hotel is well kept, the rooms are spacious ask for city view. The spa packages are well priced. Definitely will continue to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms with the city view are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giovanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I would like to return soon!!! Don't miss 'El Cafe del Cielo' Restaurant. You will find many items at a reasonable price and a lovely view of the city of Baños. If possible go around 6pm as you will have a chance to see how the city comes to life at night. Make sure to bring a jacket and your camera.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.7 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 27 in Banos
236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#17 of 27 in Banos
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 27 in Banos
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA

Address: Via a Runtun Km 6, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Banos
Price Range: £66 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA is a Romantic Hotel for couples, family or friends. It is located in Banos, 170 km (2,5 hours drive) from Quito, the capital of Ecuador, 300 km (5 hours drive) from Guayaquil and 62 km (1 hour drive) from the Amazon rainforest. The setting is unique, surrounded by mountains, 70 waterfalls and thermal water. Spring weather, with an average temperature of 17 - 25°C all year round, and some rainy days. Luna Runtun's 310 acres of unspoilt Andean forest are located on the oriental flank of the active Tungurahua volcano (5.016M), 400m above the charming town of Banos, gateway to the Amazon rainforest, surrounded by Sangay and Llanganates National Parks. Enjoy 25 adventure activities: 11 hikes, rafting, canyoning, biking, horse backriding, travelling throughout the countryside, Amazon rainforest and birdwatching programs; 25 SPA treatments, 4 pools and jacuzzi with hot volcanic water, Runtun Restaurant with fusion food, Cafe del Cielo with 34 varieties of coffee, themed rooms and Romantic Suites decorated exquisitely. Spectacular views! With your loved one, family or friends; Luna Runtun has become the ideal place to celebrate special events: weekend getaways, vacations, relaxing, birthday, wedding anniversary, marriage proposal, honeymoon, reconciliations and romantic getaways. Our Adventure and SPA packages are the perfect combination for your trip to the Galapagos Islands. The volcano has been constantly active since 1999 and showers the sky with her spectacular show of fire and lava, allowing our visitors to partake in one of the world's most impressive natural fireworks displays from the safety of Luna Runtun and the charming town of Banos located in the secure area in the oriental flank of the volcano. Banos and Luna Runtun have not been affected by any type of material in the 16 eruptions in the last 400 years. The Basilica of Our Lady of Holy Water, built in 1944, is made of volcanic stones, as well as Banos City Hall. Adventure, rest, fun and a volcano in eruption. Welcome to the most complete destination in Ecuador! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Runtun Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing