We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Riobamba, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Spent a night on top of the world. Arrived late and after dinner, went for a dip in the piscinas. I awoke to a stunning vista. The dinner was ok but breakfast was delicious. Helpful staff. Very luxurious room. I couldn't ask for more and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun.

We will have new rooms soon. Please follow our social networks and web page to have the latest info and special offers.

I look forward to see you soon.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    151
    73
    26
    35
See reviews for
139
413
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shell, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Others have written about the lovely garden settings, the good food in the restaurant, the massage services (very professional), the great views, and the spacious, romantic rooms, so I will only add that even though this place is expensive (by Ecuadorian standards), I wouldn't recommend staying here for less than two nights. It's worth it. If you just want a regular place to stay for a night, there are plenty of inexpensive hostals available down in Baños. Luna Runtun is for people to splurge a bit in order to relax, and to do that, you really need an entire day where you can just sleep in (they serve breakfast until 10 AM), lounge around, go for walks, swim in the pool, soak in a jacuzzi, have a massage, sip beverages in the Cafe del Cielo, sit on a chair in the back terrace to read, or check the internet in one of the lounges.

My wife and I stayed at Luna Runtun on a Friday to Sunday (one night in the Suite Romantica Astral and one in the Habitación Romántica Mi Tesoro, the former being larger, quieter & with fridge and jacuzzi, the latter having better views of the mountains) and loved it. It was wonderful.

Note, there are no TV's in the rooms (which I see as an advantage for relaxing), but there is wireless internet, so if you want to see movies, you can bring a laptop and use your own DVD's or else get videos online.

For a couple, this is a terrific experience, a great time to turn off the cell phone, escape to a place that is beautiful, offers to do all the cooking & cleaning, and allows you to unwind.

Room Tip: the more expensive suites (e.g., Corazon de Chocolate) are quieter and have jacuzzis, but the less e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGtravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA in Baños, Ecuador.

We are becoming a romantic hotel, thank you again for your recommendations for couples.

We look forward to attend you in the future, Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and our new shop in the lobby with ecuadorian products such as clothes, chocolates and organic marmalades; are open to the public all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A sprawling property with manicured gardens and a spa high above Banios surrounded by mountains. The views from everywhere are spectacular. We were upgraded from a twin room to a suite on arrival which was very luxurious with enormous picture windows hanging out over the valley - above the clouds in the mornings. The beds were divinely comfortable. The only reservations are that our tariff included breakfast and dinner and the food and service in the restaurant were very ordinary - so much so that we couldn't face dinner there on our third night and walked down to the village and bought a picnic which we ate out at Bella Vista facing the volcano. The meals are boringly repetitive and the three courses are served with rapid fire speed so you have hardly put the last spoonful of the starter in your mouth before the plate disappears and the next is waiting - they must be sitting congealing in the kitchen....

We also dod the waterfalls and 'trek/hike' billed as a 2-3 moderate hike. In fact we were driven from sight to sight and the 'trek' was a 20 minute walk at one of the waterfalls. Still enjoyable but absolutely not what was described.

Unless you can negotiate a breakfast only tariff so that you don't feel constrained to eat in the restaurant, I wouldn't stay more than 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deverard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun.

I´m very happy to read that you enjoyed the upgrade to the best suite of the hotel without extra cost. You are very lucky, most of the suites are highly ocuppied all year round.

I will follow up your concern about dinner, we have 7 differents menus every day cooked fresh from our organic garden to your table in the Runtun Restaurant; highly appreciated by our guests. For the service I apologize, some standards of operation regarding the "fire speed" in the Restaurant may be different in other countries.

We will add the information you gave us regarding our starred tour: Hike to Pailon del Diablo. Thank you again for the comment.

We invite you to come back soon, new rooms with unique themes are approaching to their inauguration, check our web page and follow our social networks to have the latest of Luna Runtun and Baños in your pocket.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

El sitio es precioso y con una vista incomparable! Las habitaciones son cómodas pero algo pequeñas. Lo realmente malo, es que la piscina es al ambiente, en un sitio evidentemente frío.
The place it's beautiful and with a great view! The rooms are comfortable but too small. Wich is really bad is that the pool is at an ambient temperature, in an obviously cold place.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new spacious and beautiful rooms and suites with size specifications.

3 pools and jacuzzi are heated to 37°C and the swimming pool to 25°C. Baños has an average of 18°C spring climate all year round.

We look forward to attend you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

we stayed one night in this hotel. Although it was very expensive we chose it because we wanted to make something of our day, instead of Banos simply being a stop-over.
In that we were not disappointed, the view from the hotel and from the bath are really awesome. You do pay for something.
Among all the staff, we felt the manager was really trying hard to make our stay confortable. We had a minor problem with the front desk when we checked in, and he immediately upgraded us to a superb suite. It was almost too much, but we surely appreciated it. Everytime we met him, he enquired about our stay, if everything was allrigt etc...
The problem is he was the only one being so nice... All the others were at best ignoring us, at worst treating us like children in the local swimming pool: one of them was particularly rude, never a smile, always watching us to make sure we followed the rule like wearing a bathing cap... When I was done with bathing and back in my room, he went in front of my window and made signs to check if I had given back the bathing cap! it was intrusive, rude. Given the price I was expecting to be treated kindly and respectfully, not like a child.
To sum up, the place is really special and if you pay a lot it is for something. It is sad that this great place and the hard work of the manager is to some extent ruined by the poor service the rest of the staff is offering.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggetmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA in Baños, Ecuador.

I apologize for the inconvenients. We will take your comments into consideration.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the view and the suite upgrade.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites.

We look forward to attend you in the future, Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and our new shop in the lobby with ecuadorian products such as clothes, chocolates and organic marmalades; are open to the public all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

To start, I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone. The setting is absolutely stunning, and when you take into account all that is included in the price it seems like a really good deal. Its a fantastic place to go for romantic a weekend with your partner. The place was highly recommended by everyone whenever I told people I was going to Ecuador. I was impressed with attention to some detail while the lack of attention to other details. Our room smelled moldy which I realize is hard to combat in a wet climate. Our shower-head should have been replaced and not rusty. The food is fine for one night but the menu never changes and is pretty boring. The spa has great messages but I was surprised that they don't do more with the natural ingredients in Ecuador - our masseuse used Lubriderm lotion. Also the pools were non functional or dirty during our stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a view of Banos, the rooms on the edge of the hotel compound are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbrown91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun.

I apologize for the inconvenients.

In effect, there is a big difference between the old and new rooms, you are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites with fireplaces and eco heated floors that have eliminated the humidity.

We will take your comments about the spa and the food into consideration.

Thanks for your time to write.

We look forward to attend you in the future, Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and our new shop in the lobby with ecuadorian products are open to the public all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Wonderful experience for couples! The Spa and service is superb. Highly recommended for couples who are seeking quality time and fun!
The view of Baños from most of the rooms is great, specially from cafe del Cielo.

Room Tip: Make sure to book the massage for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su gentil comentario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.4 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#10 of 28 in Banos
208 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 28 in Banos
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#14 of 28 in Banos
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA

Property: Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA
Address: Via a Runtun Km 6, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA is a Romantic Hotel for couples, family or friends. It is located in Banos, 170 km (2,5 hours drive) from Quito, the capital of Ecuador, 300 km (5 hours drive) from Guayaquil and 62 km (1 hour drive) from the Amazon rainforest. The setting is unique, surrounded by mountains, 70 waterfalls and thermal water. Spring weather, with an average temperature of 17 - 25°C all year round, and some rainy days. Luna Runtun's 310 acres of unspoilt Andean forest are located on the oriental flank of the active Tungurahua volcano (5.016M), 400m above the charming town of Banos, gateway to the Amazon rainforest, surrounded by Sangay and Llanganates National Parks. Enjoy 25 adventure activities: 11 hikes, rafting, canyoning, biking, horse backriding, travelling throughout the countryside, Amazon rainforest and birdwatching programs; 25 SPA treatments, 4 pools and jacuzzi with hot volcanic water, Runtun Restaurant with fusion food, Cafe del Cielo with 34 varieties of coffee, themed rooms and Romantic Suites decorated exquisitely. Spectacular views! With your loved one, family or friends; Luna Runtun has become the ideal place to celebrate special events: weekend getaways, vacations, relaxing, birthday, wedding anniversary, marriage proposal, honeymoon, reconciliations and romantic getaways. Our Adventure and SPA packages are the perfect combination for your trip to the Galapagos Islands. The volcano has been constantly active since 1999 and showers the sky with her spectacular show of fire and lava, allowing our visitors to partake in one of the world's most impressive natural fireworks displays from the safety of Luna Runtun and the charming town of Banos located in the secure area in the oriental flank of the volcano. Banos and Luna Runtun have not been affected by any type of material in the 16 eruptions in the last 400 years. The Basilica of Our Lady of Holy Water, built in 1944, is made of volcanic stones, as well as Banos City Hall. Adventure, rest, fun and a volcano in eruption. Welcome to the most complete destination in Ecuador! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Runtun Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing