We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly management”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hosteria y Spa Isla de Banos
Ranked #7 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unfriendly management”
Reviewed 4 April 2008

This hotel is certainly bright and attractive and with lovely gardens. Our room was new and clean but the shower overflowed and we were told that it was no problem, just let the water drain away through the bathroom floor outlet! Although this part of the hotel was new the approach to our bedroom was up a death-defying staircase of uneven treads and a quarter landing with strips of wood that you could get your toes caught in. Certainly this design wouldn't be allowed in England, but one must remember that this is Ecuador.
Our gripe with this hotel is with the management. Although there were various trips advertised in the reception area, the staff could not give us any details and said that only Christian could and he would be in some time during the evening. When we did eventually speak to Christian he was most unfriendly and unhelpful. In fact he was the rudest hotel proprietor we have ever met! It wasn't just us either as we had dinner with a Swiss girl who spoke excellent German, English and Spanish and she told us that she had been asking for details of a trip to Quilitoa for the next day. She had, like us, been told that only Christian could help her and the following morning she again enquired only to be told that Christian had left just five minutes before - to Quilitoa with two customers. She was most upset.
This hotel is undoubtedly a very nice place but Christian definitely needs to take a course in customer relations.

  • Liked — NIce room, great view
  • Disliked — unfriendly management
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyclonesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    44
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
42
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2008

Truly one of the best places in Banos to stay, and perhaps Ecuador. I've stayed at the hotel nearly every other week for more than a year. They gave me a great deal, excellent facilities and a superb staff. Always a pleasure, with hot water constantly, and a short walk to everything you'd wish to do in Banos. I will always stay here, and always recommend it to every traveler I meet.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidtraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2007

We (two couples) actually never got to stay here. The hotel confirmed that we had reservations when we arrived, but they told us they had overbooked so we ended up having to stay next door. The owner did provide us with a complimentary breakfast the next morning, and the grounds looked attractive.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank dogcabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

We checked out a three places when we arrived. We first looked at the Hotel Palace, but it looked a little old and was too expensive for what it was ($60-$90/night for a double). We then looked at the Sangray, and while it was very new looking, it felt too sterile (no charm). We then found the Hostel Isla Banos and thought it was great. The place is charming, the owner is friendly, the rooms spacious (we have a balcony one…try to get that!) and comparatively cheap ($25). Forget the price, we liked it more than the others even at the same price.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SEANinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2007

Watch out for the fruit juice they serve with breakfast.!!!! Both my boyfriend and I got very sick from it even though the menu said everything was done with boiled water. You had to pay extra if you wanted anything for breakfast aside from fruit juice and rolls. The owner was not there when we were so we couldn't communicate with the staff due to the language barrier. the spa was not included like the hostal boasted. rooms were nice but due to the sickness it was a bad experience overall.

  • Liked — comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — inaccurate description from the hostal
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank viddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2006

Isla de Banos hotel offers unique accommodation with scenic views of the rich volcanic countryside. Away from the nightclubs in the centre of town the rooms are quiet and offer a welcomed sanctuary. Christian who owns the property has infused his ecclectic taste of culture and design throught the 15 roomed establishment making Isla de Banos memorable with its collection of local ceramics, masks and paintings.
The rooms are excellent and only $22US per night (as of Dec06). The steam baths are also worth trying.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FatFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2006

My girlfriend and I were in Banos in mid August when the volcano errupted at about 1:30 AM. Christian, the owner of the hotel told us to evacuate the hotel and attempted to usher his other guests to his horse stable claiming "we leave together, we come back together." While volcanic rock and ash was falling everywhere, my girlfirend and I left (scared for our lives) the hotel and Banos. Upon our frantic departure, we left some items in Christian's safety deposit box including travellers checks, our debit cards and my ipod. When we got back to America, I was able to get in contact with Christian and he sent all of my belongings back to me in a very timely manner and I was able to pay my bill. Christian could have very well kept our belonings, sold them and charged the bill on one of our cards. Aside from attempting to usher us to a horse stable (that was even closer to the volcano then the hotel) Christian was very accomidating and the hotel was excellent. The rooms are clean cute, there is hot water and there is a beautiful garden that over looks the hotel. perfect for couples.
That being said, I would recomend to all people that go to Banos even if you do not stay at this hotel to be weary of the volcano...although it is wonderous and exotic, it is still very dangerous!!!

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Msmith46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.4 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 27 in Banos
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#15 of 27 in Banos
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 27 in Banos
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 27 in Banos
378 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
1.1 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria y Spa Isla de Banos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria y Spa Isla de Banos

Property: Hosteria y Spa Isla de Banos
Address: Thomas Halflants 1-31 | Montalvo, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hosteria y Spa Isla de Banos" is nestled among a beautiful tropical garden, with a lovely arranged waterfall and pavilion, which attracts a wealth of animals such as hummingbirds. We provide tastefully furnished rooms, each with private bath, hot water, cable television ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Isla De Banos Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing