We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda Manteles
Nearby Hotels
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Flor de Oriente(Banos)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Chimenea(Banos)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$20
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
208
55
19
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
55
19
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housegate tourtungurahua volcanofriendly dogscheese and crackerstilapiagolden retrieverpatateactive volcanoliving roomsmall woodmountain roadcrepestour groupbeautiful propertynearby volcanoone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2012

In two visits to Ecuador this is the nicest place I have stayed. The location is beautiful and peaceful, the welcome warm and friendly. Our room was excellent, comfortable and clean. The public rooms are interesting and pleasant, the food excellent. If you want to relax in peace and tranquility you won't do better than this.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I agree with everyone else, getting there is a little scary, as the road is made for one vehicle, but it was worth the effort. Fernando definitely makes everyone feel at home and the dogs are so cute. The food was excellent, and the beds were so comfy and cozy.

Room Tip: The new rooms, #21 and #19 were by far the largest and had a jacuzzi tub with a view of the volcano. We were in room #10 which has Lucy and Ricky beds, but they were very comfy and we were only there one night, so it was fine.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The ride up was a harrrowing experience, but well worth the trip. The one lane road had us inching around several large trucks. Fernando was so welcoming as were the dogs even though Blue grabbed one of the ladies' lunch bags and gained a leftover chicken sandwich and an apple. We all got a big laugh out of that. We were in room three and were very happy with it. By the end of our 17 day Gate 1 trip, we were glad to have a room without T.V. and no view. We just wanted to sleep. Take earplugs for the main house as our Puerto Rican friend sang and sang when we wanted to sleep. We were given a great tour or the vegetable garden and were in awe of Fernando's efforts to provide wonderful fresh vegetables. The owner gave us a history of the property and we would have loved to stay longer. The filet mignon was tough that night but tasty. Their home made wine was wonderful and we could have toasted to the wonderful trip all night, which some of us did! We would definitely return and recommend this Hacienda.

Room Tip: If you are not into antiques or historical rooms, ask for the newer rooms with a view. take earplugs for main house.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Hard to get too, but once there it is breathtaking. The staff is so friendly they made it feel like you were at home. The view to the volcano is outstanding. The dogs on the premise are so friendly would def go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The Hacienda Mantales is unique. It is completely surrounded by nature and beauty. The staff is warm and welcoming.

Our room was in the main building and looked to be very old and we loved it. Great bed and very nice linens.

The food was delicious and the service great.

We were on a Gate One tour, so had to leave in the morning, but we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We did not have a view from our window, but the room was nice and quiet and there were lovely views outside. Besides, Gate One Tours are busy enough that one just wants to sleep.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacKayAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews