We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Manteles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Manteles
Ranked #1 of 42 Banos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, Canada
1 review
“Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Recently, on a Gate 1 tour, we spent one night at this lovely hacienda.We received a warm welcome from the five dogs and the host, Fernandez, of the hacienda. After settling in our room we had a tour of the vegetable garden which increased our anticipation of our upcoming dinner, which included a delicious swiss chard soup and warm chocolate molten cake. Yum Yum!! The location is perched high on a hill overlooking the valley and a still active volcano. The scenery was breathtaking. The hacienda has a comfortable living room which makes guests feel at home. We highly recommend this venue and hopefully will have an opportunity to return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which looks down the valley or a room in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaciendaManteles, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

We are pleased to hear that you where happy with the food served and amenities. Also we are happy to know you enjoyed your visit to our garden. All of our meals are cooked with fresh organic vegetables and fruits.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Gabriela López
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    47
    18
    13
    3
See reviews for
67
101
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

This Hacienda is absolutely beautiful and in a beautiful location. We just returned home and the Hacienda Manteles is one of the highlights of our trip to Ecuador. The owner and staff are so welcoming and the food is wonderful. It is away from the typical tourist resorts and provided a grand end to our 8 days in Ecuador. We highly recommend this Hacienda to anyone traveling in this area. We traveled with Gate 1 and can see why they put their clients in this place...just can't say enough positive about it!

Room Tip: There are some beautiful casitas away from the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heyyogagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaciendaManteles, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Ecotourism is surelly a passion to us and we are really happy to know that the message of our vision is getting to our dear guests.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Gabriela López
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The property and hacienda are warm, welcoming and peaceful. The family owners and staff make you feel at home and well cared for. Ecotourism is their passion, fresh food, fresh air, and lovely views of the entire region plus Tungurahua !!! A cannot miss spot. Away from the super tourist area but close enough to visit, shop, and eat. Lots of outdoor activities in the region. Their website is very thorough.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcs7071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We are living in Lima and wanted to get away from the city. We had painstakingly, over several months, planned a trip to the Arequipa region of Peru and had to cancel and change plans at the last minute. We decided on the Tungurahua region of Ecuador and hastily planned a trip, not knowing what to expect. The whole trip turned out wonderfully and our time at Manteles was no small part of the overall success. The surrounding area is breathtaking (with trails for hiking), the staff courteous and attentive and the management went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed (information, transportation, some children's Tylenol when my son got a mild fever, and engaging conversation). Even the owner visited with us and made us feel at ease. In terms of the facilities, I again have nothing but praise. The interior of the main house has a warm and cozy feel (even my wife, who incessantly redecorates every space she encounters, said she felt her eye could rest and the space was "finished"), and the suite we stayed in was spacious, lovely and comfortable. The food was good and fresh with a nice variety of fresh juices from the Hacienda's orchards; they were even able to accommodate dietary restrictions and did so with a much appreciated attention to detail. In a sentence: it was a lovely experience in beautiful surroundings and we were made to feel at ease by personalized and flexible attention from detail-oriented staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 259SB_DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I took a tour in July 2013. One of the places we stayed was Hacienda Manteles. From the minute we walked into the door we were made to feel like family. The manager Fernando was wonderful and had a great sense of humor, the food was fabulous, the rooms where gorgeous and the atmosphere was fantastic. The view from the hacienda is amazing. If I ever go back to Ecuador I would definitely go back to Hacienda Manteles!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaSuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

What words are there to describe such a beautiful experience as Hacienda Manteles?
For years in my mind's eye I have imagined the perfect place to retire. Hacienda Manteles is my imaginings come to life.

This working hacienda redefines the meaning of "farm to table" as I can to experience first-hand.This off-the-beaten-path respite from city chaos and noise will change your outlook online. Nestled between 2(3?) extinct volcanos and at Angels-in-the-Heavens altitudes (sorry about all the hyphens), HM offers vistas that quiet the spirit, renew one's faith (or at least reintroduces the question) and redefines simplistic beauty.

The long and winding road (and for me a little altitude sickness) to reach HM only adds to the excitement of arriving there. The attentive staff come out the door to personally welcome you and immediately hustle you luggage off to your room.

The rooms consist a small number of bungalows set off from the main house which also sleeps guests. The food and wine are 5-star and exceptionally priced. World class retreat for those who wish to be closer to earth and nature.

Be sure to play with the chocolate lab and the golden retriever whose names escape me but who refuse to be ignored. I WILL be back to replenish at HM early next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wldcatjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We visited Manteles with Gate One in June 2013 and after an amazing bus journey from the bottom of the valley through clouds and haze, we arrived at this lovely property with an amazing view in all directions. We stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite and it is one of the most beautiful rooms we have ever enjoyed. Fernando and his staff were very pleasant and our group enjoyed our evening there altogether in the common room. I would love to go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
12.6 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
6.8 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hosteria Finca Chamanapamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
6.5 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
7.0 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Manteles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Manteles

Property: Hacienda Manteles
Address: Ecological Route Banos - Patate km. 18.5 (Via Las Antenas), Banos 0000, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Manteles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Manteles, a hotel near Banos, awaits your visit, offering you a homely and welcoming atmosphere in one of the most beautiful haciendas in Ecuador. Manteles, built in 1965 was transformed into a hotel in 1992. Little by little, the property has been remodelled and refurbished to include all the home comforts and services that our guests deserve. Located 18km from the town of Banos and offering stunning views of the active Tungurahua Volcano, the hacienda has become a 'must see' during any trip to Ecuador.The natural environment and ecotourism come together in Hacienda Manteles. Along with the wonderful gardens surrounding the main house, the hacienda encompasses a 200 hectare area of protected primary and secondary cloud forest, through which one can reach the entrance to the mystical Llanganates National Park. This forest, among other wonders, is home to an abundance of wild orchids and animals. For those who love mountain biking, horseback riding, hiking and trekking Hacienda Manteles offers the perfect setting, with a whole network of natural trails to really enjoy these activities. The surrounding peaks of the Andes provide the perfect back drop for an unforgettable visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Manteles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Manteles Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing