We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Baños”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
Ranked #14 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Baños”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a beautiful hostel close to the main square with a great terrace area and cafeteria and very comfortable beds at great prices. Well maintained services and hot water are also a plus! There's also a tasty bakery just next door! Staff aren't the most friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie_Powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    76
    21
    13
    17
See reviews for
7
61
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I only stayed for one night and then left because i was bitten by bed bugs. Thank god i woke up at 2am, it could have been worse. I must say that were kind enough to give me a night free (after bargaining and also after consulting on the phone with the owners!!!). Also, the room I was in was very loud as it was a front room to the street.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank leelja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stay in the hostel for 3 nights. Excellent attention,clean rooms and great breakfasts in the rooftop! (with an incredible view of the mountains,waterfalls and church) Its in a great location in the center of the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saslescano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Plantas y Blanco. Our double room was clean, as well was the bathroom. Shower was perfect with hot water. The streets can be noisy, so bring your earplugs! Staff was friendly, especially the ladies running the rooftop cafetaria. Breakfasts were definitely worth the money. Loads of other services were available. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiel1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Had a great time staying here for 6 nights. The staff accomodated me whenever I asked for anything (even a shower and bag storage 2 days later when I hadn't even spent the night!). The dorms are clean and the terrance is the best view in the city. Awesome breakfast too. Good location, close to everything you want to check out in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayesjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

When I first read the reviews about theft, I was really nervous about staying in this hostel. During my first trip to Banos, I stayed in Hostal Chiminea and really enjoyed it, but there were no rooms available. Upon arrival, we were shown to our room. It was a really nice room that had a great view of the church and had vines growing on the ceiling. There was a hot shower and they provided towels and toilet paper to us for free. We paid $12 per person per night for a matrimonial room with a private bathroom and shower. I thought this was a very good price for what we had. It was a little noisy because it was centrally located, but this came in handy when coming back from day trips or the strip of bars at night. The rooftop terrace was beautiful and a great place to get some free wifi or soak up some sun in the lounge chairs. They also have breakfast up here in the mornings, which are tasty and relatively cheap. I had some of the best coffee in Banos here. We decided not to keep and valuables in the room and took them with us, due to the reviews about robbing, but we had a very positive experience here. I would definitely consider returning to this hostel or hostel chiminea in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bed room with private bathroom. The room was great - plants hanging from the ceiling, views of the waterfall too. Good shower - hot water and fairly powerful compared to some I've experienced in Ecuador! The rooftop terrace was a nice addition, the breakfast served there was pretty good for only $3.50 and hot and cold drinks were available throughout the day!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katrina-od03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#24 of 27 in Banos
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 27 in Banos
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Erupcion
Hostel Erupcion
#2 of 48 in Banos
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal D' Mathias
Hostal D' Mathias
#2 of 69 in Banos
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantas & Blanco's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantas & Blanco's Hostel

Property: Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
Address: 12 de Noviembre y Luis A Martinez, Banos, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantas & Blanco's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantas y Blanco has been one of the most popular hostels in Baños. That is because we really care in having a neat place that offers everything the traveller could need. Rooftop cafeteria with one of the best breakfasts and view in town, drinks, tea and coffee self service, table games, very recomended healthy steam bath, bakery, classic films available, book exchange, laundry, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Plantas & Blanco's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plants And White Hostel (Hostal Plantas y Blanco) Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing