We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, nice rooms”
Review of Hostal el Eden

Hostal el Eden
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal el Eden
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Has a couple of parking spots, is quiet as it's off the main street, and had nice clean rooms with hot water. Great value - $7/person

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kmbkmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2009

i felt i had to write this once I saw the comments made by the person above... I had a total different experience at Hostal "El Eden". I think the staff was very helpful! I traveled with my nephews/nieces and they loved it too. I even met the owners of the hotel (which doesnt happen often) and they pointed me to the greatest distractions in Banos. The atmosphere was great and the rooms were very clean. In my opinion $7 for a room with TV, hot water (some places in Ecuador dont have hot water for the shower..), clean space, free parking, great location was definitely a bargain.
They dont include breakfast, but they have a restaurant there. I was able to work out $1 breakfasts for my whole family and they were great!
I would strongly recommend this place and I would definetely ask for Carmen (one of the owners) or Cesar (her husband). The guy speaks english and can be very helpful and the lady is sooo nice!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dancingatalltimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2007

I traveled to Banos with a group of friends in March of 2004. I remember Hostal el Eden as a good deal. I may be mistaken, but I think they might have charged $7 per head. Or maybe it was $7 total, but it's still a great deal in either case. Nothing fancy, but clean, and they had hot water.

I heard from a few people that, while Banos is a popular resort town among all Ecuadorians, it's particularly popular among young adults who are looking for a romantic getaway away from their parents in the city. I'm not sure how true that is, but the walls are pretty thin, and the night before I arrived, my friends were complaining of the evening noises coming from a nearby room. For this reason, this hostal may not be for you if you want a quieter stay (or are bringing children)--or if you want more privacy for yourself.

There's a shared walkway from room to room. We stayed on the second floor, and the walkway is nice to hang out on if you want to look out over the town and surrounding mountains. Also, the showers have VERY hot water (no need to worry about freezing), but they don't have any type of racks inside, so you have to put your toiletries on the floor. The room I stayed in had a small night table, as well as a TV affixed to the wall somewhere up near the cieling. A decent value for an overnight stay, but I would probably look for another place if I were going to stay longer than that.

  • Stayed: March 2004, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lalabelle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2006

The Hostal El Eden is listed as a mid-price place by the Lonely Planet Ecuador guidebook, and I stayed there one night in Feb 2006. I had room 10 (up one flight) from ground floor . . . small room w/double bed, tv, bath w/fair shower. Rate: $7 inc. taxes.

Two problems . . . when I asked about the nearest laundry, they said they would do it . . . they returned my clothes still damp and with brown spots all over them that were not there originally. And, that night, a pipe under my sink started leaking. They were not concerned and said, "Manaña." Not only did I have a VERY wet floor but I had to listen to drip, drip, drip all night.

So, the next morning, I decided to spend some extra bucks and move "up town" . . . to the Hostal La Flor de Oriente . . . $10/night and that inc. taxes AND breakfast! Got to love Baños!

El Eden is in a good location (but so is everyplace . . . Baños is s-m-a-l-l)! I might stay there again but I would want a better shower and a dry floor . . . have to admit, though, the price was right!

Sandy (in Denton)

9  Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Josan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laetitiacornelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TatFarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flor de Oriente
Hotel Flor de Oriente
#23 of 27 in Banos
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Petite Auberge
La Petite Auberge
#12 of 27 in Banos
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.2 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#5 of 27 in Banos
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Donde Ivan
Hotel Donde Ivan
#17 of 27 in Banos
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal el Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal el Eden

Address: De Noviembre y Montalvo 12, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing