We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Monte Selva
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gala Hotel(Banos)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
32
38
28
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
38
28
11
12
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2011

During our 3 night stay, my I Pod "disappeared" after the room had been cleaned for the day. When the front desk was informed, they pointed to a sign stating they were not responsible for lost or stolen items. I wrote an email to the hotel management explaining the situation but received no response. I would recommend you try one of the many other hotels in Banos.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LEP671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Hotel Monte Selva is as good as it gets in every way! Within walking distance to everything in Banos and close to the town center, you have a view of the city from high up the hill on this hotel property. Many tours will pick you up directly from the Hotel Monte Selva.

The grounds are filled with wild birds, avocado trees, mandarin orange trees and streams with great places to sit and relax on a swing or by the pools. You are welcome to eat as many fruits from the trees as you like throughout your stay. There are indoor and outdoor pools with slides and hot tubs including a natural hot spring with curative properties, so you have your exclusive hot spring without the public crowds.

The complimentary breakfast consisted of eggs, meats, fruits, granola, yogurts, 2 fruit juices, fresh fruit marmalades, coffee & tea. It's served in a large airy restaurant next to the pools and the main courtyard, where you watch the clouds roll in over the volcanoes and mountains into this valley.

The rooms were very clean with a private bath, phone, TV with remote, and all the basic amenities plus a fresh updated style making the stay comfortable in all aspects. I would highly recommend this hotel. While in the area, be sure to sign-up for a day-trip tour of Las Cascadas and a visit to Puyo to see the monkeys. This hotel is one of those special finds that you want to tell ALL your friends about.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler12324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

very good place, we stayed in rooms near the pool and spa in single and double rooms all very clean.
the restaurant very good, especially the "buffet" excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fienc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

I am really surprised at the not so good reviews of this hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the cabins (202) and it was soooo beautiful and romantic! We had the most amazing view of the city---I doubt there is a better view anywhere in Banos--and the room was spotless and spacious. The staff was super helpful. We used the spa facilities and those were great too. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventuregirlUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We stayed in this hotel on a tour - it was one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in. Drains in bathroom smelt awful, the toilet blocked, the room had a dirty, grubby feel, walls had chipped paint and dark and dingy, breakfast was mediocre. Would never recommend this hotel. The spa pools were mostly empty, those that were filled had freezing cold water and the sauna was luke warm.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kenzie133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews