We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top breakfasts of the trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada del Arte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Posada del Arte
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Benfleet, Essex
Level Contributor
82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Top breakfasts of the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Located in quiet area, ten minutes stroll from the town centre, near to one of the main baths and scenic waterfall, the Posada comprises a lovely building and adjacent annex, providing comfortable, decent-sized en-suite rooms at a reasonable price. Communal lounge area off of the restaurant if you require a dose of tv. Interesting and varied menu of well prepared dishes available for evening meal, but the highlight is the breakfast selection that is included in the price, both in terms of quality and quantity. Associated with the posada is a recently-opened brew-pub in town, that provides a welcome alternative to the ubiquitous pilsener!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prujim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    110
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
70
141
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed here for 1 night in July with another couple. We had the Canela 1 room in the Blue house. The room was great. Walls were freshly painted and in color and the bed in this room was a Queen size and there was also a big Jacuzzi tub. Our friends were in the other building and were happy with their room also. We paid $56 plus tax for the night which also, I just noticed on the web site, includes breakfast. We didn't remember that at the time and went somewhere else. The hotel is very nice, the owners are from Chicago and are friendly and helpful and know what they are doing. We used to live in Ecuador and we have stayed in Hiltons and Marriotts etc. and also some real dumps on the coast.
I recommend this place to any foreign tourist, you will be pleased.

Room Tip: The Canela 1 has a Queen size bed, but the view is not of the waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHNPETRIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

The food is fantastic, and good value. The room we had (7) has a lovely view of the waterfall and a balcony. Hot showers, very close to town and the hot springs but not noisy. Would recommend.

Not sure of value as was part of a package tour

Room Tip: Room 7 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoncamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

After reading some of the negative reviews posted here, I feel compelled to provide a review.

I found Posada del Arte to be quite clean and the service quite adequate. The rooms and beds were very comfortable, and unlike the negative reviews posted here, there was no sign of cockroaches.

After a week in the jungle, it was great to have a shower with lots of pressure and lots of hot water!

I was not greeted by the owners, who unbeknownst to me were in the lounge at the time of my arrival, but I do not expect to be greeted by the owner when I check into a hotel. The person at the desk greeted me professionally and to me, that is sufficient. Later that evening, I was in the lounge and the owner was there with other people. He did some chatting with me, but did not let on he was the owner. Frankly, I didn't care who the person was...he was just another friendly person I've met in my travels. Upon checking out, the same friendly gentleman that chatted with me in the lounge the night before was working the front desk. He checked me out and thanked me for visiting his establishment.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LenLangevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Posada del Arte was recommended to me by a friend and I was not disappointed. The rooms are great, with comfortable beds. It is close to town but on the edge next to the cliffs and a waterfall, which makes it very peaceful and quiet at night. The food was great, especially the breakfast, which I think makes the rooms a good deal. It was also nice to find the microbrew option with Ecuador's limited beer selection. The downstairs is very cozy and is a nice place to relax and get on the internet if need be. The staff has been very helpful on all occasions and helped us arrange a bike rental to go to Puyo. The owners are nice people who have made a really unique and comfortable place to stay in Banos.

Room Tip: Sound of the waterfall is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eukahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canoa, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

This quaint artsy little hotel offers a comfortable, homey feel with a fireplace, great cuisine and most importantly micro-brew on tap! All rooms are decorated with original Ecuadorian art, and have private baths with hot water priced at an average of $28 including breakfast. The owner Jim, from Chicago, is a laid back fella with an interesting 'coming to Ecuador' story.
http://www.posadadelarte.com/ambiance.php

Room Tip: The new blue house is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfYogaBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

LOVED our room. We thoroughly enjoyed the hammock right outside our window and the sound of the waterfall created a tranquil atmosphere. Our room was perfect for our stay in Banos. Being able to see and hear the waterfall is exactly what we wanted. Being able to sleep peacefully at night was also a pleasant surprise after 2 sleepless nights in Quito.

Convenient for walking everywhere in town. Can't get much closer to the hot baths than this either. Located on a quiet little side street, allows for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Use website photos to find what's best for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BallardTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
7.1 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.8 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#23 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Arte

Property: La Posada del Arte
Address: Calle Velasco Ibarra y Av. Montalvo, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Posada del Arte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Posada del Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Arte Hotel Banos
La Posada Del Arte Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing