We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful hotel, close to the town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada del Arte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Posada del Arte
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Peaceful hotel, close to the town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Close to the main square (10 minutes walk) and all of the bars and restaurants, but far enough away to feel like you are in the countryside. A really nice location, close to hot springs and a huge waterfall.
We had room 10 up on the second floor, because of its location at the top of the house we had excellent peaceful nights sleep here, something which is not easy to find in Hostals and budget Hotels in Ecuador.
Room in good order, Bathroom excellent (With locally made artisan soap and decent shampoo provided) WiFi in all areas, nice lounge area, garden with seating
Great value, and the rate quoted included a fantastic breakfast. Highly recommended.
If you do stay here give Simon the Whippet from Chicago a stroke, he's the least ferocious guard dog I ever met!

Room Tip: Room 10, on the second floor was very quiet, nice bathroom and WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonOkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    110
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
70
142
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Fantastic hostel in Banos with a great location. The hostel is a couple of blocks from the main strips which is good if you want to sleep! Our room looked over to the waterfall which was beautiful. The room was large with a good size bathroom, with hot and cold water. The breakfast is absolutely brilliant too! Me and my partner ate there in the evening as well and the food was fantastic. The rooms are rustic in fashion but I thought it was fab. The owners are happy, chatty and good when giving advice. I wouldn't have stayed anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katieanderson19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

After reading all the good reviews we stayed here for two days we were disappointed. It is not a bad place but it feels neglected and one does not feel welcome.

In our room the paint was fading and falling from the walls, one electric outlet was broken, some ceiling lamps looked shabby and old, the shower head was broken and needed replacement, and the bathroom smelled really bad.

While the local staff is friendly and helpful there are two owners around that makes you feel awkward. They did not introduce themselves or welcome us when we checked in despite standing right next to the local staff at reception. They did not offer any advice or start a conversation or asked about our days. When we asked them for something we got a big sigh or a snippy comment.

There seem to be tension between them and somehow they projected that onto their guests and stopped caring about the place.








Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Moreyoucando1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

You can't beat this place. I've been here 3 or 4 times now and the rooms are consistently clean, there's hot water, it's quiet and the breakfast is terrific. Get this. All this for about $35 which includes breakfast. Also, the location is perfect as it's on a quiet side street but it's only a five minute walk from the main plaza. Stay here. It's a wonderful place and a great value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbanAnkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renkum, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
343 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights in room Canela2 during New Year 2014. The location is fine, our room with waterfall view excellent, the patio/garden relaxing and a nice spot to enjoy breakfast if the weather is okay, the restaurant serves nice dinners with original dishes, the toilet was quickly repaired the same night, when we arrived at it turned out to be broken, but....if breakfast-time is busy,the waiting times may be a bit long (understaffed?) and my main critic is that if you run a place like this your guests must feel at home. But the landlady was not willing to start the day with a simple "good morning", even when she shared the patio with us as guests at breakfasttime in a swimsuit, I wished her a happy New Year when at midnight, when she was sitting out on the street to watch fireworks an bonfires, but a single nice word next day was evidently too much. That's not the way I like to be encountered as a guest.... Loudly being present in the restaurant room discussing issues with some, mostly American, guests while other guests want their own intimite dinner is not a professional management-style, if you run such a beautiful hostal. It is a sharp contrast: behaviour of the host and the potential of the best posada in Baños. And I don't like dogs in a restaurant.
Separate your private living from that of your guests or be gentle and polite to everyone. And leave the dog in your own house.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klaas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. We really enjoyed that it was in a quiet part of town. Our room had a great view of the waterfall and was only a few steps away from the famous hot springs. The room was nice, clean, quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. For breakfast, you can choose anything on the breakfast menu. I tried the pancake (delicious) and my husband had Huevos Rancheros (delicious). The portions were huge and the coffee and juice were great as well. The seating areas outside made it feel like you were in paradise. The owners were very nice and accommodating. We felt like this was a pretty good deal for the location and great breakfast included. My only complaint is that the wifi didn't reach into our room, but, hey, we are sort of addicted. We only had to step outside of our door for full wifi signal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

What a great little place! My family and I stayed here for two nights over our Christmas holiday. For the location, the incredibly generous (included) breakfast, and the general ambiance, the price cannot be beat. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue House, and really enjoyed the little courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte4of4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
7.1 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Arte

Property: La Posada del Arte
Address: Calle Velasco Ibarra y Av. Montalvo, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Posada del Arte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Posada del Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Arte Hotel Banos
La Posada Del Arte Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing