We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent price but fairly noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Santa Cruz Backpacker's
Ranked #16 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This place is a sociable and good-value hostel, but the open plan garden and firepit means that there was plenty of noise pretty much all the time. There were hammocks right outside bedroom doors meaning that you could easily hear conversations, and in the night we had to use earplugs.

That said, the owner and staff do try to make sure you have a good time, and their affiliate activity agency gives you a discount for staying there and also seems well organised. The shower was also good, if a bit noisy (shares a wall and high window with adjacent bathroom....and ALL that implies!)

Room Tip: Our room was pretty dark so check the lights before you say yes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

The hostel is divided in 2 courtyards, separated by a car park. We stayed at the one farer from reception. Both are arranged around a roofed common area.


Pros
- Hot shower, clean bathroom
- Free mineral water for guests
- Kitchen fairly well equipped (open 8 am-8 pm, fridge reachable 24 hr)
- Table computer ok, slow but works.
- Centric, although Baños is very small
- Common area is closed at 11pm, lights off. It helps to ensure people can sleep if so they wish, plenty of alternatives to party nearby.
- There is a coffee machine at the entrance, a few options available (capuccino,etc) for a fee

Cons:
- No towels provided.
- Semana Santa is a deafening party in Baños: loud music everywhere, cars with sound systems in the back, open trunk, so loud that car alarms are set off as they pass.. The hostel is right at the centre of where the noise is, windows are really bad, a nightmare to sleep in during Easter.
-Mattresses were soft and worn

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Thom_and_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Super friendly staff, wonderful kitchen, fireplace, computer with internet access and location. Great place to stay, hang out and cook a meal. Reception always very helpful. Would stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Santa Cruz Backpackers. We almost passed right by them until we realized that they had a second location several doors away with gated parking.

I felt that it was a really nice place to stay. We were charged $20 for a private that was more in the style of a motel, noting that there are also cheaper dorms here. The internet wasn't great but quite passable. Both the main wing and our overflow wing had nice fireplaces. The main side seemed more communal and backpacker oriented, and the our side had a larger seating area and very quiet and relaxed.

I don't really have anything bad to say about the place. I had commented one evening around the fire that this was one of my favourite hostels I have stayed in. I guess it has the best combinations of a motel and hostal and a nice ambiance.

Note that this place fills up on Saturday and becomes a little louder.

Room Tip: Choose the main side if you are more of a partier, or the overflow wing if you are into a bit more q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 460adamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stumbled upon the Santa Cruz Backpackers by chance. There are a lot of accommodations to choose from in Banos. At $10 per person, this place was one of the more affordable places in town, and offered 2 locations to choose from (just up the street from each other). We stayed in the 3-storey part of the hostel with parking out front. Our room was on the main floor, so we did have a bit of noise from late night arrivals. Large windows let in a lot of light and air. The rooms are comfortable and each have a private bath with hot, hot water in the showers. Cleaning staff do a great job of keeping the place tidy and clean. Fireplace chimney in each common area with plenty of tables and chairs. There are also kitchens in both locations. Close to all amenities, tour operators, and the main square. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lildrling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I have to say that my stay there was not that pleasant cuz I was not feeling well. Luckily the staff were very helpful, especially Monica, so Id like to thank her again!
For the other parts, perfect location, price .. U have a kitchen really great hostel !!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Santa Cruz is a cozy, affordable hostel in a great location. Santa Cruz is just a block from the main square and about 10 minutes from the start of many trails up into the mountains. After spending months in dorms, it was great to spend a week in a private room with private bath for $8/night. It was a bit cold in the evenings the week I was in Banos which made the nightly fires a treat and a perfect gathering place to share some beers with the other guests. The staff was also very friendly and helped me feel at home in Banos.

Room Tip: If it's possible, request a room away from the firepit/common area as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.0 mi away
Hostal Princesa Maria
0.2 mi away
Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Cruz Backpacker's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cruz Backpacker's

Address: Av 16 de Diciembre | Luis A. Martinez & Montalvo, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Banos
Price Range: £11 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Cruz Backpacker’s Hostal is one of the classic hostels in Banos, Ecuador. Created for a new generation of travelers, offering shared dorms and private rooms. A fun and colorful environment, with wall art that will energize you up to start your adventour day in Banos. 'Cause in this city, you're not aloud to miss the tours and extreme sports, with all the great discounts from the hostel! Our instalations count with free WIFI 24 hours, a well equiped community kitchen and many cozy lounges to relax and interact with other travelers.  Double rooms with a queen size bed  Twin rooms with two single beds  Triple rooms with a queen size bed and a single bed  Four-bed dorms with two bunk beds  Five-bed dorms with two bunk beds and a single bed Check in at 14:00 Check out before 12:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Santa Cruz Backpacker's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing