We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Banos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Volcano Hotel
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Laguna Niguel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Banos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

What a great hotel for a great little city. Had a great time in Banos and the Volcano Hotel was a great place to crash while we were there for 3 days.

We had a 3 person room. Great view, clean, great mattress. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The internet was not working properly when we were there but we could do with out if for a few days. A block away from the public bathes and waterfall. 3 blocks away from the down town area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    41
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
31
56
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

My wife, daughter, and I spent close to a week at this small pleasant hotel in Banos, Ecuador. We arrived as part of a wedding group, and stayed after the group left. The hotel is clean and the staff work very hard. The garden is pretty and there is a small swimming pool. There is a problem with room acoustics and when the hotel is full the sound travels loudly from room to room.

But my complaint is that when I got the bill the owner, just in from Quito, had increased the cost for the room without telling us. When i objected he implied that I was not telling the truth, and then said that we could have checked the rates on his web-site! What a joke. He refused to reduce the rate to the agreed on level that we had been paying as part of the wedding group. Just a small-time cheat. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joshhoytchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

This is the best hostal we stayed at in Ecuador. It is just outside of the central area (5 minutes walk). It is quiet for Ecuador (in other words you will still hear chickens and dogs so bring your ear plugs if you are sensitive). The bedding was incredible - nice big plush pillows. The breakfast was delicious with nice big croissants (2 per person). They also have tvs in the room.

I don't know how much English the staff speak because they preferred I speak in my broken Spanish.

If you are looking for value around the $50 mark (double), this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoName47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

We stayed at the Volcano Hotel for two days. The hotel is in a good location, next to the Thermal Baths and a waterfall. The hotel has a small pool and gardens. The room we had was big and very clean. The bathroom was a little small, but clean. The room has a large (shared) balcony with a fantastic view of the mountains and the waterfall. A good breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, breads and coffee was served in a pleasant dining room. We did not eat any other meals there, so can not comment on the food. Would definetly stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — The large room with the mountain view
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelgirls3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2008

We stayed in the volcano hotel for 4 days and just loved it. Banos is a really nice little town and the landscape is amazing.
The tours to the volcano Tungurahua and to the waterfalls "paillon del diablo" are definetely worth a visit.
The location of the hotel is very impressive and very calm - perfect to relax and do some nature sightseeing.
The rooms are pretty arranged and the service is outstanding. The restaurant is very nice and the breakfast is fine with lots of fresh fruits.

  • Liked — Calmness
  • Disliked — That we only could stay 4 days ;-)
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin-Wolfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2008

We stayed at the Volcano for 4 nights in early January. It was just a perfect little place to relax and as a starting point for a number of walking tours of Banos. We really enjoyed the scenery from the large windows in the room. The bed was comfortable and the room rate included breakfast. The showers work well and the television works too. The staff really worked hard at this hotel to make our stay comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends, it is well located off the main roads which contributes to it's restful atmosphere.

  • Liked — Amazing views and a comfortable room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nepean_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2007

We stayed at this property for one night after the hotel we had originally reserved overbooked, and did had have rooms for us.
The only negative to this hotel, was outside noise and no means of white noise ie: AC or ceiling fan. The owners were very pleasant and helpful. The property was clean and nicely decorated. The rate included a great morning breakfast. Would recommend as place to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogcabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
7.1 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.4 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Hotel

Property: Volcano Hotel
Address: Rafael Vieira s/n y AvMontalvo | Rafael Vieira s/n y AvMontalvo, Banos 180301, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, volcano, restaurant, pool, jacuzzi, is situated in the best place in the town of Baños, Tungurahua province, an hour of the Amazon rainforest. spacious, sunny and clear rooms , some with views of the city, others to Mount Runtun. Facilities for taking more than 12 tourist actidades, eg, canoping, bungee jumping, tours to the waterfalls, on horses, Buguis, vicicletas, or walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Volcano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing