We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hosteria Cananvalle
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ibarra
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Just getting around to the review, but had a wonderful stay in the spring. The property is beautiful, quiet and peaceful, but so full of plant and birdlife. I loved watching the hummingbirds in the morning and the vermillion flycatchers in the afternoon. My room was nice and comfortable, clean and spacious. Meals were delicious with garden fresh vegetables. Best of all were Doreen and Carlos. They are great hosts who are helpful, accommodating, welcoming and knowledgeable. They catered to my vegetarian diet, provided or arranged for rides to town and nearby attractions, and shared their knowledge and love for Ecuador's land and people. Loved my visit and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great place and fantastically nice owners! It's literally 5 minutes from traffic, noise, people, but you feel completely isolated. Breakfast was fine in the morning, great coffee. Comfortable room and a nice, rustic decoration overall. Really beautiful grounds with lots of birds, including hummingbirds. The only problem was the water temperature in the shower, but apparently that is fixable, just let the owners know. They are a really nice American-Ecuadorian couple.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisf29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We had been traveling throughout Peru and Ecuador for six weeks when we stumbled upon Hosteria Cananvalle. Carlos and Doreen have created a lovely and welcoming place where you can relax and recharge. Bungalows were clean and spacious, breakfasts were fresh and delicious and the hot tub, steam room and sauna were a nice way to end the day. We even ended up extending our stay.

Room Tip: Our family of 4 (two daughters ages 12 and 14) loved the Hobbit bungalow with its loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Doreen, Carlos and their sons made us very welcome at their hosteria. They were wonderfully helpful in arranging our stay and suggesting what we should do. We loved the beautiful grounds and the excellent food, much of which was grown on the property. The Sunday special lunch was especially memorable and included local and other Ecuadorian specialties that were really yummy and beautifully presented. I spent hours watching the birds in the gardens, while my daughter relaxed with the internet and the friendly dogs. We also enjoyed the hot tub, sauna and steam room in the evening. We were especially lucky because a new foal was born the night that we arrived. We were also lucky to be there on a night when Carlos' band was playing in town. I am sure that your trip will be a little different but I am also sure that it will be special because of something that the Salazars do for you.

Room Tip: The Hobbit cabin is especially cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 487kristinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We loved out stay at Hosteria Cananvalle. The owners are very attentive and make you feel at home. The breakfast was perfect- even with he made bread. The property is beautiful with walking paths and a great view.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xdana413x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The owners are wonderful and the place is perfectly located outside of town. The grounds are beautifully maintained and everything is eco-friendly. Doreen makes a fabulous meal with home grown vegetables. We look forward to going back in a year or two.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimjam61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The beautiful location, warm hospitality of Doreen and Carlos, and relaxing ambiance combine to create the perfect spot for a few days of enjoyable respite. The grounds are filled with fruit bushes, avocado trees, and vegetable crops and comfortable hammocks offer an inviting place to relax. Slow mornings allow time to enjoy spotting the diverse birds that visit the trees on the property. The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely decorated with tile floors and great views. Doreen and Carlos, as well as their two sons, are warm and welcoming and full of good conversation. Both know Ecuador extremely well and are full of good travel recommendations. Only a few minutes from the city of Ibarra, Hosteria Cananvalle provides a getaway spot with easy access to restaurants, museums, and other tourist sites. With all of this in mind, I highly recommend building a stay with Doreen and Carlos into anyone's itinerary.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ibarra hotels
1.4 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
2.0 mi away
San Andres Lodge & Spa
San Andres Lodge & Spa
#9 of 15 in Ibarra
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Natabuela
Hosteria Natabuela
#7 of 15 in Ibarra
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hostel Fevilamir
Hostel Fevilamir
#15 of 15 in Ibarra
30 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hacienda Hosteria San Luis
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ajavi
Hotel Ajavi
#4 of 15 in Ibarra
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Cananvalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Cananvalle

Address: Linea Ferrea Km 167, Ibarra, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Ibarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ibarra
Price Range: £58 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Cananvalle 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This agro-tourism ten-acre working farm and family–owned hotel, operated with social responsibility principles, overlooks a river canyon with views of two (and sometimes three) volcanoes. It is located ten minutes from the city of Ibarra, Imbabura. At an elevation of 2.192 m (7,200 ft), we have spring weather all year long, with temperatures ranging between 10-27oC (50- 80oF). Open as of December 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hosteria Cananvalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing