We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge
Reviewed 5 November 2011

we live in quito and have done a lot of travel throughout ecuador. the area around the hacienda is very isolated and we hadn't found reason to travel up that far. hacienda primavera provided more than enough reason to make the bus journey from quito. pepe, the owner, took care of us from the moment he picked us up in a neighboring town. right away, he set up on horseback to go exploring the area. the food we were served was consistently great and falling asleep to the sound of the river was a treat. the next day we took a longer horseback ride, enjoyed the pool area, and found plenty of time to relax in beautiful surroundings. we will certainly be back and would recommend the experience highly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

I have been living in Ecuador for over a year now and I feel I have experienced a wonderful variety of what the country has to offer. I've enjoyed ever bit of the travel so far but Hacienda Primavera has definitely been my favourite! This hotel is so much more than just a hotel-- Although the rooms are immaculate and comfortable, the view is beyond compare and the food is it is nutritious, delicious, and available whenever you are hungry -- for me, what made this place so wonderful was the people. Pepe, and his amazing staff do everything in their power to ensure you have the best possible trip. Whether they are leading you on wonderful day excursions, ridding horses, teaching you to milk a cow, or simply serving you your dinner, they treat every guest with great care and genuine kindness, evening going out of their way to be helpful and make your experience memorable! They even surprised us with some fabulous evening entertainment (after working all day I might add!) The staff sat with us and sang the night away to a wonderful mix of traditional and modern Ecuadorian folk music.

This was an authentic snapshot of rural life in Ecuador and it is one that is not to be missed!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdventureBoundGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We were picked up at the airport in Quito and driven to the Lodge, arriving in the dark during a rainstorm. We were welcomed in, bags taken to our room and asked when we'd like dinner - and since we'd been traveling for 22 hours, asked for it soon wondering if that was possible...but we sat down to a delicious dinner in about 20 minutes. The next morning, we awoke to the wonderful sounds of birds singing and a rushing river below. The vista from our porch included the verdant river valley surrounded by tall, steep, green hills. Our first breakfast on the veranda was delicious and included blackberry juice, french toast, jam, eggs and wonderful coffee. Following breakfast we were asked if we'd like to go on a horseback ride and were then taken on an amazing three hour ride into one of the nearby canyons - and the rest of our stay was just as wonderful as the first day. We had booked a five day stay and were sorry to have to leave. The staff are wonderful, we were well cared for, the food was delicious and the lodge is kept in excellent condition. The staff, including the chef, the server, the driver and the farm manager were very attentive and wonderful people. Knee boots are provided for all the hikes and the horseback riding. When we visited (October) it rained at some point nearly every day and trails tend to be muddy. Since the Hacienda is near the bottom of the valley, most hikes require walking uphill. We were taken, at our requests on wonderful hikes up the steep hills, on horseback rides, and were even able to pick coffee one morning. Best thing about the Hacienda was breakfast and birding on the front porch in the morning. A wonderful place - quiet, remote and a great place to start a vacation or to just decompress and relax. We were the only guests during our five day stay.

Room Tip: The east corner rooms are a treat - with views across and up or down the valley and includes the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I actually stayed here back in 2008 before I was ever a member on TripAdvisor, but came across Hacienda online the other day and thought I should contribute to the good online vibes for this place.

It really is a special place to stay and it is far away from everything, so that you really feel that primal beauty of mother nature as you take in the surroundings. The hacienda is really like a big family home, which definitely contributes to the experience. Run by very very nice people who feed you very good, fresh, home made food, guide you through banana plantations and dirt roads on horse back rides, take you on AMAZING AMAZING hikes through the cloud forest where you end up swimming in the streams and rivers, and taking "showers" under waterfalls, and then in the evening the people of hacienda get together with the guests in the family room and play guitars and sing. The atmosphere is absolutely amazing. Note that it does take about 4-5 hours to get here by car from Quito, but the trip is fun and you see so much local life on the way, in my opinion the road tip is actually a bonus, despite the sometimes-crazy road conditions and police check stops near the border with Colombia.

The only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 is that there were some issues with insects, as really should be expected perhaps in such a remote and close to nature setting. These issues were due perhaps to the age of the building and and having quite large gaps under the doors and in the window frames (the windows have glass, but no nets and there are also no mosquito nets above the beds - or at least there were none in 2008). That said, mosquitoes were NOT the problem, it's the other type of bugs that would get into the room, especially if the light was on (which we avoided doing after our first night, because we literally got freaked out by what was going on outside our window when we turned our light on). The names of all these bugs I do not know, but between them, a variety of small and large moths, and several giant spiders we found in the room one morning - I would rather take mosquitoes any day. Two particularly memorable occasions were when my husband found a spider in his shoe one morning and both of us jumped back onto the bed screaming bloody murder while the huge spider hurried across the room, and another when there was a baby tarantula underneath our breakfast table (on both of these occasions the staff promptly came to our help). But if you don't mid the insects, then this place is absolutely a 5 star. And even I who cannot think about spiders without shuddering, would go back here - the place was THAT enchanting otherwise!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

From the moment we were picked up at the airport, late at night, we were well looked after. We were driven the 3 and half hours or so through the night to the hacienda and although the last part of the journey was a bit hair-raising (for us Health and Safety conscious Brits!) we arrived safely and were made to feel very welcome.

We were struck by the wonderful peace and quiet all round the hacienda and we stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The room was spacious with wonderful views over the hills and the bed was comfy, although for midday naps we preferred the hammocks just outside!

The owner (Pepe) speaks English very well and after speaking with us about what we wanted to do with our time, organised our days out and we explored the surrounding countryside on horseback (I'd never done that before) and on foot. We also went to the nearby town to watch the regular Sunday volleyball match and mix with the locals. The two cowboys (Jose and Byron) who accompanied us were lovely and always went at our pace. Each day was a delight and to round it off a quick dip in the pool was very refreshing.

As vegetarians we were very well catered for and the food just kept on coming. The service was brilliant and although the rest of the staff spoke very little English, it didn't matter, we were always able to make ourselves understood and everyone was so relaxed.

We'd heard that the chef was a talented musician so we asked him to play for us on our last night which he did, accompanied beautifully by our lovely waiter.

We forgot to bring our camera re-charger and Pepe actually lent us his own for the rest of our 3 week trip and was happy for us to leave it for him in our last hotel in Quito. What a nice man and so trusting!

So.........if you want a little retreat, far off the beaten track but with lots of lovely food, horseriding, trecking, swimming and relaxing - we would definately recommend this place and we'd love to go back one day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkCurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Words can’t describe the incredible views. The setting is magnificent, surrounded by a cloud forest and lush green mountains that look as if they were a quilted patchwork of farms.

Every day was filled with a new adventure, horseback riding, hiking through the forest to discover beautiful waterfalls, white water rafting and more. Upon returning from each days activity, we were always greeted with a smile and a cold drink.

It was also nice to just relax by the pool or in one of the many hammocks on the porch. I’ve never felt so relaxed while on vacation.

The chef and his staff provided delicious food every day. Breakfast is whenever you wake up. Make sure you ask for the "Ecuadorian breakfast", my kid’s favorite. Lunch and diner times are planned around your schedule. One day my kids caught fish at a local trout farm. The chef cooked it that evening for dinner!

The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. They really made you feel at home, providing very personal service.

We highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave70051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

If you want to experience nature, while enjoying all your comforts, then you found it with Hacienda Primavera. I travelled with my wife, two young daughters (ages 8 and 14), mother in law (70+) and friends who were traveling with their 3 young children. All of us were overwhelmed by the beauty of the hacienda and the surrounding territory. The Hacienda has horses for all riders. We trekked by horse or hiked to beautiful waterfalls and villages. Exhausted from a day of adventure, we relaxed by pool and enjoyed drinks on the porch. We picked and ate fruit of all varieties which grow naturally on its property. The kids most of all enjoyed our time at the hacienda. They were free to roam and explore the hills on their own. And finally, the owners Pepe and Julie are simply the best. They make you feel like guests in their home.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnpdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibarra
30.6 mi away
Hosteria Cananvalle
Hosteria Cananvalle
#3 of 15 in Ibarra
63 reviews
30.3 mi away
San Andres Lodge & Spa
San Andres Lodge & Spa
#9 of 15 in Ibarra
39 reviews
17.5 mi away
Polylepis Lodge
Polylepis Lodge
#1 of 1 in El Angel
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 mi away
Hostel Fevilamir
Hostel Fevilamir
#14 of 15 in Ibarra
31 reviews
32.2 mi away
La Estelita
La Estelita
#1 of 15 in Ibarra
197 reviews
31.7 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge

Address: Caserio Primavera, Ibarra 59362, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Ibarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Ibarra
Price Range: £146 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hacienda is located three hours Northwest of Quito and one and a half hours Northwest of Otavalo and Ibarra The same family has owned the hacienda for over 90 years. Renovated luxury suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge Hotel Imbabura Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing