We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We have recently returned from the Hacienda after a memorable week. It is in a beautiful cloud forest area in northern Ecuador.
There is so much to or so little to do. Horse back riding, rafting, walking along the banks of the the Rio Blanco, venturing into the coffee plantation, milk some cows, visit the local villages, or some of the larger towns within easy distance. (these are for the shoppers; markets, leather and much more)
Or you can just laze around the pool, relaxing with a cool drink and freinds.
The rooms are all very comfortable and roomy (not that you need the space) and all with views of the Andes or surrounding forests. All the amenities you need are supplied.
And if food is what you are looking, all meals are included. And damn good meals that. Lunch is the main meal of the day, and one could be excused for an afternoon nap and a three course meal.
Breakfast and dinner are also substantial, which is great if you have had a physical day on horseback. If you can, have fresh local trout from the trout farm a few kilometers away.
All in all we had a great week, and hope to return one day in the not too distant future,
Our thanks to Pepe, Julie, Alex, Jose, Pedro (the Chef) and all the other staff, it would not have been the same without you all.

Room Tip: The three rooms on the corners 4,5, & 8 Broader views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

We visited with friends, and the whole weekend was magical. It was an inspiring place to unwind and get away from the hectic life pace of the city. Nature as far as the eye can see. We trekked uphill, halfway on horseback, the rest on foot. At the end we were rewarded with an amazing waterfall where the kids splashed and jumped. On the way down we went a bit off the trail, picking oranges, tangerines, bananas whenever the kids got hungry. The food was delicious, everything was perfect. I truly would not change a thing. From the always attentive staff, to the rooms with the best views, the pool; absolutely perfect. I'd definitely go there again. We had a blast!!

Room Tip: Rumor has it there's a room where every couple who've stayed there get pregnant....Be warned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The entire time we were at Hacienda Primavera, my family and I couldn't stop saying "This place is incredible." The location is stunning, the activities are fun, the food is DELICIOUS and seemingly never-ending, and the rooms are clean & comfortable. But what really makes the place special is the staff. Alex, Jose, Pedro, and all the other people there were so genuinely kind and helpful that we all felt like they really enjoyed having us. We honestly can't wait to go back. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

Room Tip: The corner rooms are especially spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjsharp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We visited the Hacienda in early January. We felt like we were staying at the home of a very gracious relative. Toys were found for my daughter to play with and our every need was catered to. There was even a litter of new puppies to delight my daughter for hours on end. I horseback riding and hiking was fantastic as was the food. If you are looking for a wonderful place tucked away in a quiet spot in the Andes mountains, look no further.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deirdre o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

From the moment we pulled through the hacienda style entry gate, heard the waterfall into the swimming pool, windchimes, saw the rainbow of flowers and butterflies with the cloud forest in the backround, we knew this place would be special, it completely then exceeded our wildest dreams. We were seated overlooking the cloud forest with a fabulous 3 course lunch and fresh squeezed lemonade, then offered a welcome horseback ride, which was perfect! Our room was a corner room with a wrap around balcony, views of the cloud forest, wow!! All of the meals at the Hacienda were amazing, fresh bananas, coffee, eggs, etc from the plantation, masterfully prepared by the chef, Pedro. Pedro's skills do not stop with cooking, after dinner he and his assistant Jose serenade the guests with guitar and singing, such fun!

I have been riding horses my entire life, Keith is learning, and very quickly. The rides were absolutely amazing, every ride was different. We rode to the edge of the jungle and heard howler monkeys, saw the Morpho butterflies and were in the clouds! The following day, we rode along the Rio Blanco into the jungle, and on another, we climbed into the clouds and spotted a group of Cock of the Rock birds! We saw waterfalls, vultures, owls, toucans, all kinds of wildlife. The horses are fabulous, and were great on some of the tricky trails, steep climbs, etc. Our horseguides, Alex, Jose and Fernando pointed out the wildlife and took the best care of us, making sure our rides were always fun and adventurous. We chose when we wanted to ride, when to enjoy our meals, the flexibility of the schedules at the Hacienda made it all that much more relaxing! After our rides, we loved cooling off in the beautiful pool, best views from a pool in our lives. The pool is large enough for some laps, too.

We also loved harvesting coffee, milking cows, and even feeding the pigs at the plantation. Hacienda is an active plantation, not just a "hotel", which we loved. Pepe, the owner, gave us the grand tour and filled us in on the day to day operation of the Hacienda, and otherwise treated us like royalty and family. He took us to a spot on top of a nearby mountain where he hopes to start camping trips with guests, in the jungle along a river at the source of the Rio Blance, we would love to do that next time we visit. We have never been treated more warmly when guests on holiday, we miss everyone there! In fact, we love it so much we booked for the holidays while we were there, cannot wait to return!

Alex took us both ways from Quito to the remote Hacienda. He is awesome, stopped along the way for us to see sights and shop, told us the history of the areas we were passing through. One of the first things he said to us, "it is his pleasure to serve us", and he meant it, everyone at the Hacienda does! We cannot recomment this place more highly if you love nature, horses, being treated with real warmth, and want to get away to completely rejuvenate yourself. We are completely counting down the days til we get to return!! Pepe, Alex, both Jose's, Pedro, Fernando, you are all the best, we love Hacienda Primavera!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BritCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Spent three nights at Hacienda Primavera in April and had a wonderful time. The rooms were comfortable and elegant, the views were gorgeous and the hospitality was impeccable. Pepe, Henry and Jose took great care of us and our kids (8 and 10). We went horseback riding, coffee harvesting and fishing and still had plenty of time for relaxing at the hacienda and reading our books.

It's a bit of a haul from Quito, but we were coming from the Galapagos and wanted to stay somewhere at a lower elevation. With limited time, we didn't want to spend two days with headaches trying to acclimate. Hacienda Primavera fit the bill and exceeded all of our expectations. We recommend it highly!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victualist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife and I spend two great nights at Hacienda Primavera at the end of March 2012. If you want a beautiful, comfortable and remote lodge in the rainforest, this is the place. We were picked up in Quito by Henry for the long drive north to the Hacienda. He was an excellent guide, stopping at a small place for local pasteries and taking us to the indigenous market in Otavalo. We knew we were getting close when we left the pavement for the last miles on dirt roads. Hard to believe that such a beautiful, well designed and comfortable lodge could be built in such a remote valley. As it turned out, we were the only two guests staying those nights, so the staff of four were all ours. They were great--fine food, excellent service, very nice "matrimonial" room with balconies on two sides overlooking the river and valley below. Aside from birds and the river, we were far enough away from roads and other people to have nearly complete silence at night. We took a fairly long and steep hike (for which they supplied Wellington boots) to a waterfall and over the next ridgeline on day one, with a pickup in a nearby village after a few hours. The landscapes are fantastic, with steep hills alternately covered in grassy meadows and dense woods along trails you sometimes share with cattle. Birds and butterflys (whose names I don't recall) were everywhere and our guide Jose pointed them all out for us. The next day, we did another longish hike, but this was mostly on horseback. We took a dirt road which I am told would get you to the provincial capital if you had 12-14 hours to spare (and is not on any maps I saw), then diverted into the woods, meadows and various creek-beds. When the route became too steep for the horses, we dismounted and hiked up higher into the clouds. At the top we were in a jungle of trees and vines where we found the rare breed of parrots which was our goal. Since they are best seen at dawn or dusk (we chose the latter), we came back down in twilight and rode our horses back mostly after dark. What we first thought were eyes looking at us from the forest turned out to be thousands of fireflys lighting our way back to the dirst road. That was an adventure. On aoother walk, Jose took us up a hillside, following a stream bed which led to a waterfall that even he had not seen before. His machete was a necessity, since apparently no one else had come that way for years. The hitherto nameless waterfalll is now, by the way, named for my wife: Susie's Cascada. We visited the hacienda's coffee and banana fields, played with the puppies that live at the stables and really enjoyed coming back to the very nice, cool pool at the front of the hacienda. The food was excellent, the drinks alway cold (try the guayabana juice) and were served with style. Actually, this was some of the best food we had in our two weeks in Ecuador. The owner Pepe dropped by as we were leaving and we wished we had more time to talk to him about his transition from being a doctor in New York City for 20 + years to his return to his home and his building of the hacienda. Next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank22611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibarra
31.7 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
0 mi away
Hosteria Natabuela
Hosteria Natabuela
#7 of 15 in Ibarra
20 reviews
30.3 mi away
San Andres Lodge & Spa
San Andres Lodge & Spa
#9 of 15 in Ibarra
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.4 mi away
Hacienda Hosteria San Luis
30.6 mi away
Hosteria Cananvalle
Hosteria Cananvalle
#3 of 15 in Ibarra
62 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge

Address: Caserio Primavera, Ibarra 59362, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Ibarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Ibarra
Price Range: £147 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hacienda is located three hours Northwest of Quito and one and a half hours Northwest of Otavalo and Ibarra The same family has owned the hacienda for over 90 years. Renovated luxury suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge Hotel Imbabura Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing