We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME EXPERIENCE - TWO TUMBS UP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Ibarra
Certificate of Excellence
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AWESOME EXPERIENCE - TWO TUMBS UP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Staying at Chorlavi was great during our vacation. Lots of things to do with the children at an amazing old-fashin "hacienda".

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank flacalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    53
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
130
48
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Back to Chorlaví after many years, the peaceful atmosphere is still the same and service always warm and friendly.

Room Tip: Away form the central patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstebanArcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

As part of our trip to Ecuador in November we stayed at Hosteria Chorlavi.
The property was charming and very comfortable.
The staff was wonderful and especially accommodating with our two pre-teen children.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean.
We were looking for somewhere close to tourist attractions like Otavalo, Ibarra, Cotacachi and Cuicocha, and we were a short drive from all of them.
Chorlavi is a great value for the money. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I enjoyed spending part of our honeymoon at this wonderful property. This propety is an old Jesuit hacienda and the original buildings date to the 1600's. The candelight dinners were very romantic and the food was excellent. The chief talked with us each day and gave us his recommendations for dinner-always spot on. We were impressed by the grounds-- our room was very comfortable and well appointed. The property has been in the same family for six generations and is now run by two sisters in the same family who studied hotel/motel management in the United States. They are committed to quality service. As an example, they couriered documents we mistakenly left at the hotel to our hotel in Quito at no cost to us. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are renovated and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCHENAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

You cannot believe all the things that have changed at this beautiful Hacienda. The gardens, patios, restaurants, lounge bar, etc, all have new and redecorated features, including their famous menus. The new gourmet shop has an outstanding variety of products, and it's worth checking out! Inside the all-new rooms, everything has been redone as well. The bathrooms are amazing. All the blankets and linenware are completely renewed too...
And something you always find there is the hospitality and good service of the owners/managers...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillooet, BC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

This Hosteria just reaks of old world charm. It was built many years ago and shows the use but what charm it has. You are isolated from traffic noise and to sit back in the quiet of the courtyard and gardens is marvelous. Our room showed wear and tear but the furnitue would cost thousands in NA and there was tons of room.. We found the bed and pillows comfortable.

The back area is wonderful with a stream and giant tropical plants.

We had a wonderful breakfast served in the courtyard.

A graet value for $50 including breakfast. A little higher than the city hotels but great value.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seekersailor31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

This old hacienda may have seen better days. Although the gardens are pretty, the room was dark, dank and musty. The sheets were greyish had multiple mends and threadbare. The blankets greasy and the duvet had stains over it. These simple things could easily be fixed if the management bothered. All in all, the room had a bad feel to it.
I did have a lovely meal in the evening there. The breakfast was simple but the coffee probably the best I had in Ecuador.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marleemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibarra
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Natabuela
Hosteria Natabuela
#7 of 15 in Ibarra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
3.3 mi away
San Andres Lodge & Spa
San Andres Lodge & Spa
#9 of 15 in Ibarra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
13.1 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hosteria Cananvalle
Hosteria Cananvalle
#3 of 15 in Ibarra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hacienda Hosteria San Luis
8.2 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi

Property: Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Address: Panamericana km 4. 5, Ibarra 100150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Ibarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Ibarra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACCOMODATIONS: 50 Rooms with modern bathrooms, 13 of our rooms have chimneys, 23 of our rooms have DirecTV• RESTAURANT SERVICE: National & International Cuisine with ample wine selection • ENTRETAINMENTE every Saturday during lunch hours we have live music and folkloric dances, Indian choreographies with authentic and colorful costumes.• Movie and Karaoke lounge Pool table, darts and fusball, family roomReading areas with peaceful and beautiful scenes• INTERNET SERVICE: Wi-Fi available in all rooms and all areas of the Hacienda• BUSINESS CENTER • SPA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi Hotel Ibarra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing