We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding experience in a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Ibarra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

On Wednesday June 18th I had the pleasure of staying at the Hacienda Chorlavi, in Ibarra, Ecuador. I was leading a group of seven people and had selected the Chorlavi as a place to stop to break up the journey from San Lorenzo, on the very northeastern coast of Ecuador.. What a truly remarkable example of a Hacienda that has been operating since 1972, and the main house was a Jesuit convent in 1620. It is now operated by two sisters, Carolina and Andrea Tobar. Everything about the Chorlavi is special and unique and one feels like you are going back in time to see what Hacienda life was like for centuries. The Chorlavi combines old and new in a way that retains many aspects of Hacienda life, with the amenties of an outstanding Inn. The gardens which are cared for by the grandmother of the Tobar sisters are absolutely beautiful and spacious. One can sit outside and enjoy the views of the nearby mountains and the wonderful climate of Ibarra.

In terms of food, you will find an excellent combination of outstanding food, and numerous tables that allow for small gatherings. You feel as if you have a private dining room given the way that seating is arranged throughout the dining area. A breakfast buffet, with excellent local fruit drinks and local cheese and fresh fruit are plentiful, and sitting outside in the courtyard us unique experience. Artifacts from the Tobar family are located throughout the Hacienda and just walking around the grounds makes you feel as if you are in a living museum. Our dinner was superb. There is a great selection of some typical Ecuadorean soups, some of which are unique to the Hacienda. The difficulty is in choosing what to eat. I had the garlic shrimp which is very very good and other members of our group had fresh fish and pasta. The one regret all of us in our group had was that we should have planned to stay for two nights, and this is what I will definitely do the next time. I also think the Hacienda is an ideal place to consider hosting a meeting as it is quiet, outside of the city, and a very good place to bring a group of colleagues together. Everyone would be very pleased with a weekday meeting of a few days, followed by a weekend of visiting the nearby markets in both Otavalo and Ibarra itself. Both of the Tobar sisters, who speak fluent English, are great hosts, as are their competent and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sicuani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina197610, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guests:
We really appreciate your kind comments, It was a real pleasure to have you and your group in Chorlavi.
We hope you will visit us again,
sincerely,

Hacienda Chorlavi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

I really enjoy my couple days stay in Hacienda. Very good food, great service, nice and clean room. Service staff was very friendly. I really like the old style of Hacienda and its climat, as well as all the photos and things associated with the history of Hacienda and owner Family. The view on the surrounding mountains in the morning was great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartlomiej J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina197610, Director Comercial at Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your kind review about Hacienda Chorlavi, we are very happy you enjoy your stay.
We hope your would return soon to our beautiful country and to Chorlavi.
Sincerely,
Hacienda Chorlavi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay here overall. Couldn't fault the friendly welcome, rooms, grounds, food in the restaurant. Our only reservation was that the hotel seems to be catering mainly for groups. For example, the pool wasn't open until the group arrived, we ate dinner surrounded by a group (which happened to be of a religious nature and prayers were conducted around us during our main course!). Don't like to grumble when there were so many positives, but felt it needs saying.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina197610, Director Comercial at Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your kind comment about Hacienda Chorlavi.
We hope you visit us again,
Sincerely
Hacienda Chorlavi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My parents were visiting from the united states, and we wanted a clean, safe, beautiful place for them to stay. Chorlavi fit that description perfectly. Amidst a garden paradise of colonial, casual elegance, we were pampered by attentive staff, who gave my parents lots of personal attention and were very helpful with any special needs they had. Bring a sweater, the nights are chilly and as is the case with all of ecuador, there is no central heating. This is normal and not a complaint. The spa facilities were pristine and lovely, the restaurant was very nice and delicious, breakfast was very good. This is a special place, run by a family who obviously care about what they're doing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina197610, Director Comercial at Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for such a kind comment about our Hacienda. It was a pleasure to have you at Chorlavi, and we hope you can visit us again.
Sincerely,
Hacienda Chorlavi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Its rooms are clean and comfortable but since it is a ranch over 100 years old, it’s beautiful. Since it is so far away from the city, it is a really calm and silent place perfect to relax. People are really nice but the waiters and cooks are the nicest ones. This doesn’t mean their food tastes good, the variety of dishes we ordered tasted pretty bad. In conclusion, it’s a good place to stay and relax but it has hideous food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvaro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

sadly we stayed with our group only one night, but wat a magnificent this was, very beautiful rooms with historical connection to be read on the wall of the room, the bathroom very nicely equipped, the breakfast and diner fantastic, beautiful garden to stroll

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gooreind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina197610, Director General at Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for you kind words!! We hope you can visit us again and stay longer...
We are constantly investing in our property to satisfy our guest needs.
best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I recently had a wonderful time at Hosteria Chorlavi! Last time I visit this charming destination was ten years ago, the changes they have made have improved the place in a very nice way. The beds and bathrooms are really comfy! The food and service is very good and the whole atmosphere is totally magic! Is a great place to go in any plan, relaxing, family or with friends!

Room Tip: I like the rooms at the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapa2011_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibarra
3.3 mi away
San Andres Lodge & Spa
San Andres Lodge & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ibarra
39 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hosteria Cananvalle
Hosteria Cananvalle
#3 of 15 in Ibarra
61 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hacienda Hosteria San Luis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Ajavi
Hotel Ajavi
#4 of 15 in Ibarra
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Natabuela
Hosteria Natabuela
#7 of 15 in Ibarra
20 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi

Address: Panamericana km 4. 5, Ibarra 100150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Ibarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Ibarra
Price Range: £96 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACCOMODATIONS: 50 Rooms with modern bathrooms, 13 of our rooms have chimneys, 23 of our rooms have DirecTV• RESTAURANT SERVICE: National & International Cuisine with ample wine selection • ENTRETAINMENTE every Saturday during lunch hours we have live music and folkloric dances, Indian choreographies with authentic and colorful costumes.• Movie and Karaoke lounge Pool table, darts and fusball, family roomReading areas with peaceful and beautiful scenes• INTERNET SERVICE: Wi-Fi available in all rooms and all areas of the Hacienda• BUSINESS CENTER • SPA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi Hotel Ibarra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing