We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Namua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Namua Island Resort
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

If you have time to spend just a night do it! the snorkelling is amazing as are the hosts!
Staff are lovely and want to help you and are happy to show you around! the island itself you can walk around which is just great! Fales are open but can shut incase of rain and its very comfortable! The dogs are friendly and no trouble at all. the facilities are of course basic and take some snacks with you as lunch is not provided! the outdoor shower is great... shower with a view!

go there!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Namu'a itself is a dream- an isolated off-the-grid island where you might just see sea turtles as you approach it by boat.

I've stayed here 3 times, and each time was absolutely wonderful- the family that runs this fale resort takes excellent care of its guests and are a delight to talk with. The food is always amazing- the third time we came they cooked a full traditional umu.

You can stay up late with music and have fun on the beach and a campfire, but just be respectful of the family. They are laid-back, but if you are coming to Namu'a to get wild and loud, just remember you are sharing the island with a hard-working family.

Hike around the island, play with the friendly dogs, or hike to the top for an amazing view. Or, just splash around in the warm turquoise waters with your friends.

Fale's are average, but the beds are comfy and very clean, mozzie nets don't have holes, and the fales protect from wind and rain really well!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mash19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Beautiful location - secluded and quiet. Hospitable staff and easy fun snorkelling right off the beach. Fales are standard but more comfortable than some others we stayed in later on our trip. Meals were very generous and well-done. Was great for our family as the kiddo had plenty of room to run but was contained by the geography. Would also highly recommend it for couples looking for a get-a-way.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disappointed397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murchison, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We arrived at the Mutiatele Wharf at the same time as another couple of guests and were concerned by the small aluminum dinghy and choppy water, but all turned out OK! The manager, Tai, welcomed us at the wharf and helpfully advised that there was no shop on the island and so we should buy what we might need for lunches before crossing over to our exclusive island stay.

The resort is charming, set on a sandy beach with fales close to the water, attractively designed shared facilities (toilets -male and female- and cold showers) while the grounds were meticulouly groomed each day. We were summoned for meals to the dining fale by a traditional drum roll and after dinner given a kerosene lantern to light the way to our fale - there is no electricity on the island and none is needed.

Our breakfasts were plentiful and our dinners were tasty and adequate. Whenever Tai was taking the boat across to the mainland he would offer to buy anything else we might need.

We tried to walk around the island at low tide which involved some wading which was fine, but regrettably gave up when we came to rocks that were treacherously slippery. We climbed to the top of the island which involved a steep scramble to get onto the ridge and then a rewarding walk through the forest to the final lookout across the lagoon to Lalomanu. On each of our excursions we were eagerly accompanied by the two resident dogs, who disappeared the moment we turned back.

Swimming was fine although there was a strong current. The water was clear for snorkelling but there was not much to be seen.

We arrived at Mutiatele Wharf by hitching from Tafatafa as there was no bus. After our stay we planned to take the local bus to Apia and Tai provided an early breakfast so we could catch a reliable departure. We were in Apia soon after 9am. We cannot praise Tai enough for the thoughtful way in which he and his staff looked after us.

We booked our stay in advance through Polynesian Xplorer, which proved a bit of a nightmare. To cut an involved story short, we paid them 95 tala each per night including the 2 meals and boat transfers which was fine. They insisted on charging an extra 17 tala to meet our flight and present us with leis and our accommodation vouchers. When I checked the vouchers I had to point out they had different dates for our stay than in their email confirmation. Fortunately I phoned Namu'a to check with them and found they had also been given the wrong dates and even when we arrived had received no correction from Polynesian Xplorer. Better to book directly by phone with Namua and you will likely save money too!

Room Tip: All pretty much equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger-Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Namu’a Island is a small, beautiful, uninhabited island about a ten minute boat ride from Mutiatele, a village about 3km north of Lalomanu. At Mutiatele there is a little shop with a sign for Namu’a Island Beach Fales. The best thing to do is make a booking direct with the family that runs this place, either by phone or in person. Do not rely on other accommodation in the area to help you make arrangements.

The cost was ST90 per person for bed, breakfast, dinner and boat to the island i.e. ST180 per double. The boat takes you to the lovely white sand beach with a ring of fales around the beach in the well maintained tropical garden. The fales are large oval platforms with traditional woven drop down sides which allow as much or as little privacy as you want but constant air-flow. Although in all honesty we never put ours down as we were the only guests on the night that we stayed.

The mattress was comfortable, cloth-covered foam with clean sheets and a good mosquito net with a big rectangular crown. Don’t worry about asking for a west facing fale as the direction of the breeze depends on the time of year and the family will no doubt give you the best one available. The cold water showers and toilet facilities were clean and attractive. There is a large fale where the meals are served. They were pleasant and plentiful.

There are two dogs who live on the island. They are both healthy and friendly. They never tried to come into our fale. Apart from occasionally trying to insinuate their heads under your hand or foot to receive a pat, they were no trouble and certainly not noisy.

The most important thing to know about this place is that there is absolutely nothing for sale on the island. The family are friendly but they will not join the dots. If you want to purchase your lunch you must order it when booking. You should take all your snacks and drinks with you including water. The good news is that they will chill your drinks for you.

The beach was lovely white sand close in so that, although it was shallow, you could see exactly what was on the bottom. There are crown of thorn starfish all through this area. I was pleasantly surprised with the snorkelling here, given the damage to the reef in the 2009 tsunami. From the island, on the left of the pipe to the mainland there was attractive coral and fish. When we were there the snorkelling felt really safe as it was very calm.

The weather was good when we were there and lying in our fale at night, the lights around the bay on the main island were like a necklace of stars. It was just gorgeous.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

The place was beautiful, meals were very filling and the owner was very helpful at getting me back to the main island in time for a transfer I booked. My one word of warning though is for young women especially those traveling alone, don't let the boys that work there know you are single and don't agree to have a drink with them. I made this mistake and ended up with a staff member from there trying to coax me into a far away fale to 'have a party' I said no that I was not feeling well and just wanted to be alone, he then followed me back to my fale at which point I had to be very firm that I did not want him any where near my fale and that I wanted to be left alone. He respected this but it shouldn't have got to that point.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank buffymossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naniset, Development Partner at Namua Island Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Talofa Lava,

We have read your review, and certainly take this complaint seriously. Safety of our guests, and particularly our single female travellers is very important. Since May 2012, Polynesian Xplorer have been working closely with Namu'a Island to undertake renovations on the island and improve our services to guests.

Because we believe that the island is a true and traditional escape, it is imperative that it is safe for all guests, whether staying alone or in a group. We have discussed your complaint with the managers on island and they have spoken with all male employees.

We assure you, and any guests in the future that Namu'a Island is indeed safe, and that this type of behaviour from our male staff is NOT TOLERATED, and is longer present at the Resort.

Thanks & Best Regards
Polynesian Xplorer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Vacationers beware, this place is only for those who do not expect much in the way of ameneties. Usually this can be a problem except this place is way to beautiful to matter. If you can stand sleeping in a simple fale, showering in an open concrete stall, and eating while the "waiter" waves a branch around your head while you eat, STAY HERE! No where else can you have a whole island to yourself. We spent two days snorkeling, hiking, and doing absolutely nothing on a beach with nobody else! In the evening, the help go home and you spend the night all alone if there are no other guests. This is a true experience, not fluffed up or faked, but the real deal! Heed our warning though, this is only for people who enjoy the beauty of Samoa without needing the luxuries.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank palliandrutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namua
0.0 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
0.0 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Taufua Beach Fales
Taufua Beach Fales
#1 of 2 in Lalomanu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sa'Moana Resort
Sa'Moana Resort
#10 of 30 in Apia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coconuts Beach Club
Coconuts Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Maninoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namua Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namua Island Resort

Property: Namua Island Resort
Address: Samoa
Region: Samoa > Aleipata Islands > Namua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Namua
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing